We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #97 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for my husband's birthday & were almost scared to believe they hype.....but from the minute we had our welcome glass of prosecco, seated on the veranda looking at the stunning scenery, we knew we were going to love it.
Then we had the treat of being shown to our room, the Alfresco suite, which the hotel had upgraded us to. It was just stunning. It took our breath away (the ceiling alone is worth spending 10 minutes looking at)
The only slight downside, in our opinion, was the restaurant. It's downstairs, & once there it could have been anywhere, as there is no view & it lack atmosphere. We found the breakfasts good, but the evening meal was hugely overpriced for what it was. We had far better meals in Florence for half the price.
However, the room, the staff, the hotel, the views & the history seeping out of every crevice more than make up for this.
Would we go back? Yes please!

Room Tip: Eat in florence....there are so many amazing restaurants with a lot more character for a lot less mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    104
    27
    19
    11
See reviews for
106
487
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

On our honeymoon, we wanted to stay close to Florence, but not downtown. Il Salviatino fit the bill perfectly, only a $25 cab ride or, during the day, a free shuttle stopping right behind the Duomo. We stayed in two different rooms (we initially only booked one night and wanted to stay a second one); both rooms were both impeccably furnished and perfectly clean.

Do ask the staff for suggestions and to help you book reservations. We are more or less food snobs and our favorite meal in Italy was recommended by our guest ambassador. They were also helpful in organizing sightseeing for us.

Room Tip: Book a room with city views. Nothing beats throwing the shutters open in the morning to Florence und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We’ve stayed at Il Salvatino for 5 nights, and I honestly could say that this was our best experience in Italy. The hotel is very nice and comfortable and according to me it’s perfect that it’s situated on a quiet area with a really lovely gardens and view of Florence, and although it not in the central part there is a shuttle to the city so this is not a problem at all. The suites that we were at were spacious and comfortable, may be I’d recommend a different type of mirrors but it’s not such a big deal. But what is really amazing about this place is the staff, I couldn’t wish for more nice and polite people without intruding. Always there to assist you no matter what you need .Actually they could plan your whole trip and could give you the chance to feel Florence and Tuscany not as an ordinary tourist, but really discover the places worth seeing. I strongly recommend this hotel and definitely this would be my choice if I visit Florence once more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miroslava D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After the hustle and bustle of Rome, we were looking for an oasis of relaxation - boy did the fantastic staff of Il Salviatino make that happen!

Brilliant view, great spot above the city, some of the nicest and most accommodating staff we've had in our travels. That alone would have been enough to recommend, but the rooms are equally fantastic. Clean lines yet rustic, with a gigantic bathroom that held one of the best showers to be found in a hotel. Four different nozzles - rain shower, waterfall, horizontal massage jets, and a hand held. We stayed in a garden suite - incredibly peaceful and comfortable.

The only minor improvements we'd suggest were around the food - breakfast was good, dinner a bit forgettable (although the staff recommendations on outside restaurants were great) - and the spa. We were hit and miss there - one great massage, one that was the opposite.

Room Tip: Very much liked our room that was not in the actual main building - it was in the annex that faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenCondit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Il Salviatino for 3 nights in celebration of our 25th Wedding Anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Upon our late arrival due to flight delays and a missed train, we were warmly greeted and shown to our beautiful room. We booked the "stay longer" package which allowed us to have an upgraded room and it was spectacular. We were on the 4th floor with a view of Florence and the Duomo- breathtaking in the morning as well as at night.

The hotel staff was professional and very accommodating. We especially enjoyed our friendly waiter that took excellent care of us upon arrival suggesting a great wine and wonderful food. He continued to serve us at our following breakfasts and final lunch before departure. All of our meals were fantastic. The personal breakfast buffet included a delightful assortment of hot and cold foods, a great way to start the day.

The shuttle was a short trip into Florence in which we had no problems. The first day the shuttle was full upon departure with one couple remaining without seats. The hotel staff promptly offered a taxi into the city to those guests. We were impressed by this level of attention and desire on the staff's part to make sure the needs of the guests were met. We really loved being outside of the city and the peacefulness of the hotel after days filled with sightseeing, museums, and wine tours.

Staying at Il Salviatino was a wonderful way to begin our trip to Italy and celebration of our anniversary. We highly recommend the hotel and will return upon our next trip to Florence. It was just lovely!

Room Tip: Fourth floor, Duomo view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokary1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This beautiful Medici villa over looking Florence was everything that you would expect from a luxury five star hotel in Italy. The staff couldn't do enough for us when we were at the hotel and their recommendations for lunch/dinner and day trips took any hassle out of our stay.

The only disappointments were the gym, which was too small and far too hot. Also, the pool was on the small side and there was a lack of loungers at certain times of the day.

Overall, this was the romantic weekend in Florence I hoped it would be.

Check the temperature out during the summer months, as it was a little uncomfortable for us in August.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banzaireef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Felt welcome since the first minute by all the staff (in particular Nada and Lino). The staff was also very committed to ensure that our experiences outside the hotel were perfect, sharing some tips and tricks and booking us museum tickets.

We stayed at the Affresco suite which is just beyond words. The library and the pool are also very soothing places that allowed us to relax. Breakfasts and dinners were exquisite and a true experience.

This trip to Florence will be unforgettable and Il Salviatino took a great part in it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMourao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#60 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#92 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Preferred Hotels, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing