We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with glitches”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #83 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week with my entire family and friends for my wedding. We booked out 10 rooms in the hotel and spent a significant amount of money securing these rooms a year in advance. Hence why I was extemly concerned when there was 2 of our bookings missing when we checked in, this was rectified but after causing much stress! The hotel and rooms are beautiful, however they are not worth the extremely high price tag, for a 5 star hotel not to replace bath soaps and creams everyday is very unusual, this was replaced once and then never again. Breakfast is very inefficient the waiters bring a tray to the table which looks lovely but we waited 40 minutes for this tray which is ridiculous! We also booked the alfresco suite for our wedding night and was promised the room early in the morning by the managing director, on my wedding day we went to get the key to find out they had sold the room the day before a stress I didn't need on my wedding day when my 7 bridesmaids and 3 hair and make up artists arrived ready to set up. The hotel did however make up for this by giving us another suite but this was not the same as the alfresco. Overall this is a beautiful hotel but service is poor and the for the price it isn't worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emilyg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 772 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The service is impeccable, the room was fantastic and the food was great. The location is absolutely beautiful - just unbelievably gorgeous.

The hotel is situated about ~20 minutes outside of the city, so the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that runs every half hour. It's a perfect solution to staying outside the city center and it's fantastic. I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel, honestly. It was fantastic.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Amazing place. Great rooms. We were upgraded without even asking and had a private study on a SECOND FLOOR with views of the city and countryside and a bathtub in a loft. Delicious food. The complimentary breakfast could feed an army. Beautiful pool which is great for the hot days. Most accommodating staff you can imagine. You could barely finish your sentence before they were on it. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eriles2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at il salviatino on a trip through tuscany in June. The house itself, the nice rooms and of course the awesome service are great. As already mentioned in other reviews the hotel is not located in citycenter but the free shuttle brings you directly to piazza del duomo which is perfect. Also we want to mention the great breakfast and the nice pool which we also used one (very hot) afternoon. We didn't try the restaurant but relied on some nice recommendations from the receptionist in the village of Fiesole. From there you have a breathtaking view over Florence. Only drawback is of course the high price, however, in this respect we feel the overall package is simply worth the money.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank smofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and I found myself very well. The hotel is not in the city center but well connected to it thought a free shuttle service. My room was in the main building on the first floor. Room very nice, with arched windows typical of the Tuscany overlooked the garden and vegetation. Everything was very clean. the pool of the hotel, as well as the small spa in this hotel, it's nice but a little 'insignificant for the structure. The restaurant is very nice and also the splendid library with priceless works of literature. Ideal for relaxing outside the busy city! recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this fantastic hotel with stunning views, which was only matched by a stunning hotel, truly beautiful experience. Don't get me wrong we have stayed at better hotels and enjoyed better service and eaten at better hotels, however the overall experience and to be made to feel like a billionaire was hard to match.

Florence it self was OK, not what I expected, I had thought it would be grander and that usual Italian chic, which it simply missed, but I would return just to stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room, number 5 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent two nights in this excellent hotel which is in a 15th century renaissance villa on a hill outside Florence. The location is stunning with great views on the Tuscan countryside and the city. A free shuttle (that departs every hour) takes the guests to the center of the city.

The service at Il Salviatino is truly five start in every respect. As we were on our honeymoon we got upgraded to a large suite. The staff were very friendly and attentive.

The restaurant makes amazing Tuscan food - we ate there both nights. You should however be warned that the portions are really big and the food is rich. The first night we had three courses and it took us quite a while to recover from the sheer amount of food :)

Parking was very easy on site as was the access to the hotel by car. Driving in the Tuscan countryside is however not something that we would recommend if you have a large car as the roads can get really narrow. However if you have a small car you can really enjoy the breathtaking landscape.

All in all a very memorable stay and a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
863 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 409 in Florence
2,020 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#88 of 409 in Florence
783 reviews
Villa Cora
#4 of 409 in Florence
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $391 - $849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing