We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Experience at Il Salviatino; September 2012”
Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #86 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tremendous Experience at Il Salviatino; September 2012”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at Il Salviatino in September 2012. We can easily say it was the best hotel experience we have ever had. We travel extensively and we were so impressed with the facilities and staff. From the moment we arrived and throughout our trip we were treated like royalty. The food was fantastic, the views were breath taking and facility and its storied past made the whole visit magical. There is also such a great value in being in the Italian country side, yet so close to Florence.

Room Tip: Be sure to go to their website and view each room. They are all unique and have a story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    105
    27
    19
    11
See reviews for
107
491
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Paradise in Fiesole. Let's be honest we initially felt slightly overwhelmed at the magnificence of Il Salviatino. But within moments the staff had served us a Prosseco, offered us a seat on the terrace and invited us to relax whilst our bags were taken to our room and paperwork completed. The next three days were amongst our most relaxing anywhere in Europe. All the staff were very good but a special mention is offered to Lino and Samuele who offered us some wonderful bar service. Rooms from another era but with every luxury. This must be one of Italy's most thoughtful Villa restorations. The public spaces are magnificent. It's easy to lose a few hours reading in the library. As some guests have mentioned the Villa is dark, we found it set at atmosphere. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking Florence offers guests the quintessential Tuscan start to your day. It's so easy to imagine another era. Wonderful pool and my partner enjoyed her best ever massage. The shuttle service is absolutely brilliant. Don't touch your car. Enjoy Florence, then the peace and quiet found in the hills. Expensive, yes but somethings in life are simply worth it.

Room Tip: The more natural light the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpfrontAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A magnificent hotel located outside of Florence with a breathtaking view of this beautiful city! More magnificent is the staff. They perform their duties to perfection with warmth, kindness and
humor. Everything about this hotel is wonderful. The villa has been restored to it's original design of over 200 years ago. There is a pool and spa. After spending time in Florence it was a joy to return to the tranquility of this hotel. Complimentary shuttle service is provided to the Duomo every hour on the half hour with the last return at 8:00 p.m.
.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel was such a great surprise for us. From the moment you enter by car the property you feel this place is very special. It is located just outside the city (still very close to city centre, like 15min by car), on a hill, that offers great views of the city; it is an old palazzo remodelled and very luxurious furnished (they don't have usual hotel contract furniture, for instance the armchairs in the rooms are Poltrona Frau).
The service is exceptional, Four Seasons standard ( one evening we came to the hotel, than descended to the computer for half an hour; when we came back to the room we found the candles lighted).
Breakfast is very good, a la carte, but a good selection and best of all: the view on the terrace.
They don't have a typical reception, but you always find someone at the front desk; they were very helpful offering us reservations at the Uffizzi.
If you have a rented car, don't bother driving to city center, there are a lot of roads you are not allowed to entet and it is difficult to park; the hotel offers shuttles to city center every 60mins.
So, I highly recommend this hotel, I think it is the best one we stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We hired the complete venue from friday until sunday and got married in the beautiful garden of the villa. Not only the amazing location and the wonderful beauty of the villa made our dream come thru but also the perfect staff contributed to that! We, together with all of our 60 guests, couldn't be more happy. Also the performance of the kitchen is heavenly. How is it possible to prepare dinners and lunches for so many people and make it so perfect. Chapeau!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexHart66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We pulled up after a 1/2 day of travel from Rome and the staff met us at the beautiful entrance. A little like Downtown Abbey but better. We were taken to the patio and served a glass of Proseco (pink) while our luggage was taken upstairs. A really wonderful experience overall. Beautiful room, perfect view (see photo) and beautiful grounds. A very nice place to return to after a day on foot in Florence. We enjoyed the pool, spa and dining. The staff was wonderful. Their car will drop you in town so no problem getting to Florence. An easy cab ride back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DetroitMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A lovely hotel based around a fifteenth century building, set in its own parkland, in the hills of Fiesole above Florence. This hotel is excellently managed and staffed and my husband and I much preferred it to its well-established rival just up the hill behind it, primarily because here the staff extend the warmest of welcomes to all guests, not just to the celebrities. How wonderful it was to look down on the Duomo in the sunshine and then gaze at that view later in from the restaurant terrace by moonlight. The team of service ambassadors and others could not have tried harder to help us with all our needs - they were always smiling, ready and willing to assist. Delightful, long breakfasts on the terrace, days lounging by the pool(s), a very charming Italian garden in which to enjoy an aperitif, followed by a good dinner on that peaceful terrace. And if you want to see the city then take the regular quick and free shuttle bus into the centre and take in all the sights before escaping back to the fresher air of Fiesole.

Room Tip: I recommend that you discuss it with the people at the hotel - they will be able to help you decide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
884 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 422 in Florence
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
766 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#27 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing