We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Salviatino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Salviatino
Ranked #88 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We recently enjoyed the most amazing 3 night stay at Il Salviatino, the main reason being we chose to have our wedding reception held at the hotel. From the moment we travelled from Scotland to visit the hotel, we knew we had chosen the perfect location for our wedding.

We met with Events Coordinator Cristiano Brizzi, who was the most genuine, helpful and accommodating person you could meet. Nothing was ever too much trouble and he reassured us it was our special day and he would do everything within his powers to accommodate our requests. He even generously allowed us to stay within the Ojetti Suite, which is without doubt the most amazing room we have ever stayed in. Cristiano organised appointments for us to meet florists during our stay and also allowed us to try our wedding menu, which consisted of the most amazing 7 course banquet.

Whilst our reception was held within the hotel, we were officially married nearby within the Town Hall of Fiesole. The hotel offer the services of a wedding coordinator, who was fantastic! She took care of everything regarding the ceremony, all the legal documentation and was always available by phone/email to help with our endless questions. She was the consummate professional!!!!!
During the wedding day itself, she orchestrated the whole day, directing guests to and from locations, as well as acting as a translator during the ceremony.

During our 3 night wedding stay, we were given a beautiful Deluxe Room with a Dome view, which was perfect! And all the rooms we booked for our family were lovely. The service in the hotel was incredible, each member of staff (service ambassadors) were very polite, friendly and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. Running up to our actual wedding, Sara Orselli took charge of everything to make our day perfect, she met with us on numerous occasions to discuss the finer details of the day, organised all the transport for the wedding and was available at all times to help with any last minute issues. Sara was extremely genuine, kind and considerate and again a consummate professional.

During our reception we firstly enjoyed Aperitifs on the terrace and gardens of Il Salviatino, which was then followed by the most amazing 7 course dinner, overlooking Florence on the terrace of the hotel. The food and wine were both out of this world and the experience was made even more special by dining outside, by candle light on the terrace.

There is so much more we could say in praise of Il Salviatino, but we would be here forever!
This is truly the most amazing hotel and we are already planning our return next year.

Thank you everyone at Il Salviatino.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    104
    26
    18
    11
See reviews for
104
482
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have enjoyed the stay in the hotel Il Salviatino very much. The view from the hotel was wonderful, the gardens gave the place feel of calm and relaxedatmosphere, the whole building was very stylish and pleasant to explore with large library to spend evenings in. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff took excellent care of us at all times. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for that special treat during their travel.

Room Tip: Look for the room with the view or the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristyna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

It has been over a month from our wedding there and we still get people talking about it .....
The thing is, all we really did was choose this amazing place..!! all the rest is the hotel!!
It started when we were looking for a place to get married, seeing so many places was really really hard, but as soon as we arrived to Il Salviatino, there was a total change.
It was afternoon close to evening time, there was a kind of an "apretivio" that they had,just like they have every evening during this time, we were so welcome and so glad to meet the staff. You can see that the people that work there REALLY do LOVE theire job, you get to feel it in every little detail that you ask or that they notice with out you even asking.
The place is by fare amazing (had my share of luxury places, which is why i feel it matter to say this), and the food- the chef is so special and so opened minded and he cookes with insperation, The staff were sooooo great and helpfull they orginesed all that needed to be done, they have really the most welcoming staff i have got into contact with.
Every one of our guests felt special and as if he is getting a VIP treat, which was really cool.
In a word AMAZING, in two BOOK NOW :-), i will have some more pictures soon and i will upload some, so you can see what im talking about and even so.... when you are there you get to understand...;-) I wish you would be lucky to spend some time there.

Room Tip: wanna hear a funny thing: we had over 7 people come to us saying they got the best room..., if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I would define this luxury hotel Il Salviatino "The Jewel of Florence".
In the middle of May my sister and myself were pampered in this medieval villa for two days and two nights. We chose very carefully this hotel for last two days of our vacation and we were not disappointed at all !! We were travelling for many days through half Italy and we found the most beautiful hotel nowhere else but in the heart of Tuscany.
As soon as we arrived (passing with our car through the rose garden admiring the view of the villa) there was an ambassador welcoming us with two glasses of delicious sparkling wine served right tempreture and leading us through the different elegant rooms that, even if we were blind, could be destinguished easily by different divine perfumes.
There was a charming view of the whole city on the terrace and candles made very romantic atmosphear, we enjoyed all the beautiful sensations for a while, than the ambassador showed us (following our desire) some magic places of the hotel including the top floor Ojetti Suite with its own jacuzzi and private balcony from which you can "touch the sky" surrounded by green hills and, in the backgroung, Florence historical center.
In our room there were all the ammenities of the best quality and aroma, soft bathrobes, italian coffe machine, complimentary bar with different soft drinks, beer, water, snacks and fresh ice ... Beside our baggages we found also a bottle of the delicious sparkling wine and fresh strawberries covered with chocolate in the room.
Before going to sleep you find a night version of your room: slippers next to you bed just ready to be used, sweet surprise on your table together with bottle of fresh water and candle indicating the way to the bathroom (romantic and very useful for the night).
Big mirror become TV or computer screen as soon as you push the buttom on the control remote. You'll find also useful keyboard for computer in your night table.
There is a very nice spa center and two external pools. Unfortunately for us, it was too cold to get in. Next time we'll come back during the summer.
Breakfast was unforgettable. We stayed more than one hour. We felt relaxed and that's why we were postponing our decision to get up from the table full of the best delicacies. I suggest excellent pancakes with marple syrup and fresh berries. Obviously capuccino and pastery basket can not be missed. My sister admired more all the home made marmelades, especially strawbery, apricot and hazelnut cream ... and there is much more to be discovered on the breakfast table.
The hotel transfer took us, in about 10 minutes, to the city center and because the day seemed warm the driver offered us two bottles of chilled water. Having in mind all the special attentions you will get from Il Salviatino staff I would like to warn you. Do not get used to these, otherwise your life will never be that happy as before. There is one and the only solution. Come back every time you need to be treated as a queen.
I can not wait to come back !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was not sure what to expect at the boutique Il Salviatino, but in short it surpassed every measure of excellence. My husband and I are back from a wonderful, highly memorable stay at the Il Salviatino, May 22-25. I've been lucky to stay at some great 5-star properties, and I would recommend the Salviatino above even the Villa San Michele, thanks to the ultra-personal service and gorgeous environs maintained by the general manager. Given that the hotel is boutique, he and staff members Guiseppe M., and Lino personally assisted my family on a daily basis. I'd also like to note that Pier Angela is the manager of the spa; she is warm and wonderful.
We are not used to traveling with a baby (our first time in Europe with a 6-month-old), and Lino even carried our daughter to our car to help us pack up. When we arrived at 10pm at night form driving all day from Rome, they kept the restaurant open for us after hours. We were the only diners, and still the piano player stayed to play, and the kitchen and staff remained to create a memorable meal, all while making us feel welcome with our baby there. (N.B., I will not be surprised when the chef earns a Michelin star. The food and service (formal, yet warm) were remarkable. My only complaint is that on the beautiful, warm spring days in which we visited, the outdoor dining areas were never opened up. Open up an alfresco option for breakfast and lunch!)
The hotel's mantra seems to be that no request is too small, even if it's not the way things were usually done: we requested lunch on the beautiful terrace bar area (normally it's a spot for drinks only, we learned), and Lino quickly set out a place setting for us. Our dishes came promptly; all of the food is delicious.
Housekeeping had provided us a lovely crib and fine Italian linens for our baby, as well as a sweet set of baby toiletries (organic) for her. There was even a little bunny towel to make her feel cozy.
Guiseppe helped us arrange all of our plans during the day, from touring the lovely village of Fiesole (don't skip it! There are some wonderful cafes in the picturesque town square), to a private bike tour for my husband in the (grueling) surrounding Tuscan hills, to wonderful dinner reservations. I recommend Pier Luigi in Florence for great seafood in the outdoor garden; it's been a hot spot for many years and was recently renovated.
Finally, the hotel's environs and rooms were the best part: Our expansive room #8 had postcard-worthy views of Florence, a very comfortable king size bed (hard pillows though), and fresh water and cappuccinos provided on request. The home's library makes you feel like you're visiting the home of a (very grand) friend: every part of the hotel is meant to make you feel a guest in a fabulous home.
I look forward to visiting the Salviatino again. Complements to the general manager, he is running a show that even Tyler Brule would complement.

Room Tip: We loved our room, #8. It is deluxe, with some of the most amazing views of the property's form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpressly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Magnificent hotel. Magnificent staff. If you have a chance have chef Lino take you to the market in Florence to pick out the food that he will prepare for your dinner,and make sure you go to lunch at the market.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank redmanfloridapvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Il Salviatino far surpassed all my expectations in terms of beauty, luxury and service. The hotel itself is just gorgeous, set on a hill 10 minutes from Florence with breathtaking views over the city and the Tuscan countryside. The terrace was an especially lovely place to sip a glass of prosecco before dinner or have a caffe latte in the morning. During our spring visit, the gardens were lush and green and the outdoor pool, set in the grounds, was calm and a perfect spot for relaxing.

We were lucky enough to have the Affresco Suite - I have never stayed in such a beautiful room. The high arched ceiling has original fresco paintings and the bathroom comes complete with shower room and antique stone tub. The bed was divine and the extra decorative touches made it an indulgent and romantic experience.

We had lunch at the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious - all fresh and authentic Italian dishes.

What makes this hotel a truly fantastic place, however, are the staff. All of them made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble - elegant and efficient room service, tickets to the Palazzo Strozzi exhibition, cocktails and hors d'oeuvre on the terrace were all perfect touches. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service into the very centre of Florence so it is very easy to spend a few hours walking around the city - although we found it very hard to leave the hotel!

Overall, it was a fantastic experience and it would be imposslbe to stay anywhere else in Florence after discovering this beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Salviatino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Salviatino

Property: Il Salviatino
Address: Via del Salviatino, 21, 50137, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#92 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Salviatino 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning luxury hotel, located on the rolling hills of Fiesole, offers the most spectacular views of Florence. Accommodations range from the Villa Rooms, the Green House Suites and our Signature Suites. Each offer a very different experience but all have inspiring views of either our private park, the Tuscan landscape or the famous Duomo view of Florence. Guests will enjoy a la carte breakfast, wi-fi, parking, in room movies, in room coffee and tea making facilities and hourly shuttle service (15 minutes) to the center of Florence, all complimentary. Our service philosophy is all about creating unforgettable experiences for our guests in an informal setting. Our guests consider the Hotel, the Villa, their home away from home, a tranquil haven after a day of exploring Florence or the Tuscan countryside. The Spa offers four treatment rooms, each with its own steam shower, and a dedicated team of therapists specializing in aroma therapeutic relaxation and anti-aging treatments, a fitness center with the latest in Technogym equipment and our pools overlooking the Tuscan countryside. Our kitchen is dedicated to locally sourced Italian cuisine and can be enjoyed in either the library or on our terrace overlooking Florence. Innovative, creative and unpretentious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Salviatino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Salviatino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing