We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giglio d'Oro
Ranked #5 of 649 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

After taking an11 day cruise from Italy to Turkey and somewhat exhausted, we had the great pleasure of staying at Il Giglio d'Oro for three days in Florence. It's tough to beat the customer care of Celebrity Cruise Lines but Edo, the owner of the B &B, surpassed our expectations. He took us under his wing, explained the local layout of the neighborhood as well as the bus system, reviewed and recommended restaurants, and gave us quality personal care. A very friendly place, quiet and convenient location, and homey atmosphere. The room was quaint, clean, and a joy to come back to after hours of sightseeing. My wife and I highly recommend Il Giglio d'Oro! Edo and his family will "treat you like family!"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    36
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
102
445
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a great stay, but the location of this B&B is a little out of the way - a bus journey away from Florence town centre. Not a problem in itself during the day as there is a regular and cheap bus service to get you where you need to be, but at night the number of places to go are extremely restricted (restaurants and take-aways only - no bars).

That said, our hosts were extremely accommodating and amenable; they did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutleysyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at Il Giglio d'Oro B & B for 3 days in July 2014; the welcome we received from Edo, Celia and daughter Jennifer was simply amazing, they made us feel welcome from our arrival time, assisted us whenever possible, ensuring our stay went smoothly. We stayed there with my daughter, a mate and his daughter, and can't thank enough Edo & Celia for everything they did for us, making our stay there very enjoyable. I can't wait to go back to Florence with my entire family, and we'll stay there for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junghwatkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I have used Trip Advisor on many, many occasions but never felt so compelled to write a review as I am now. My daughter and I and two friends chose Il Giglio d'Oro based on Trip Advisor reviews. Little did we know that our stay would be the highlight of our month-long stay in France and Italy. Edo and his family were the most generous people we met on our trip. From arranging all sorts of transport, recommendations, to getting into fully-booked local restaurants, to arranging breakfasts at the most amazing restaurants to inviting us to share a meal with his family, his generosity is something we will never forget. Our friend’s daughter fell ill whilst in Florence and Edo and went out of his way to make her feel comfortable including sharing his meal with her. Our room and the facilities were perfect and I know I will return and Edo’s place will be my first choice again. Stay and you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMcK3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Trip Advisor reviews sold us on Il Giglio and they were spot on. Our room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfy, and as all the reviewers have noted, our hosts were as gracious as can be. Eduardo (but quickly your best friend Edo) made us feel very welcome. The price is very fair (and seemed downright cheap after the high prices of Venice). I could go on but not sure what I would add that other reviewers have not already said. Do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Recently passed through Florence with my wife on our way to a wedding and stayed at Il Giglio d'Oro B&B.

The owner, Edo, is a remarkably hospitable and friendly man. The kind of service and personal touch you just don't see anymore which makes a big difference when you are away from home. Room was clean and welcoming with free wifi and TV and the guest house has a nice garden to unwind in. We would definitely recommend staying here to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJBAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We only stayed here for one night but Edo (the host) was simply the best. My husband and I were staying in Venice and decided last minute to take a day trip down to Venice. Il Giglio was one of the few (and most reasonably priced) places available with only one room left. Since we didn't have a lot of options, we just went for it. Because it was last minute, I called him just to make sure that the place was available. Just from the short conversation I had with him on the phone, I got a good feeling and knew we had made a good choice. So after arriving in Florence and spending the day shopping, we finally arrived at Il Giglio in the evening. We were warmly greeted by Edo upon arrival and automatically we felt at ease. He started off by explaining to us the layout of the neighborhood, where we could eat, where to take the bus, to get gelato, etc. As he was giving us the run down, his wife and daughter arrived and he introduced us to them. It was really like being welcome into the home of a good friend. A good friend that's also quite the character, lol. In a good way though.

The room itself was quite charming and spacious. Edo even graciously provided a complimentary bottle of Chianti in our room. After we got settled, we went out to the back to sit on the patio and drink our wine. Edo came down and chit chatted with us for a while and his adorable daughter Jennifer came out. She was simply the cutest thing. We talked about everything under the sun - our lives, politics, travel, having children.. he even told us next time we come back he would make dinner for us!

The next morning when we were leaving, Edo had no issue giving us a little extra time to get ourselves together and let us leave our stuff in the hallway while we went to get breakfast and let us eat it on the back patio. There is a wonderful restaurant right across the street from Il Giglio and we decided we wanted to eat there before heading back into town. He walked us over and introduced us to the chef, etc. He gave us both hugs goodbye and kissed me on both cheeks lol. We were really sad to leave and wish we could have stayed longer. Staying here kind of made our trip because to be honest we found Venice a bit boring for our taste.

Anyone reading this review, listen to me - do not hesitate on staying here. You will not regret it!!!

Thanks again Edo!!!! We're coming back for that BBQ!!!! -Alexis and Ralph

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKSweetheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,196 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 649 in Florence
808 reviews
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 649 in Florence
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 649 in Florence
648 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 649 in Florence
925 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#4 of 649 in Florence
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio d'Oro

Property: Il Giglio d'Oro
Address: Via Antonio Pacinotti 11, 50131, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 649 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A CHARMING GUESTHOUSE WITH GARDEN IN THE CENTRE OF FLORENCE, HAVE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES AND SEND US A E MAIL TO CHECK THE AVAILABILITY!!!!Edo and Celia are delighted to welcome you in their typical tuscan home recenlty renovated and is situated close to the historical center of florence. This brend new guest house typical italian style, offers its guests warm and elegant hospitality at very advantageous prices, just few steps away from the town center. The building has been completely renovated strictly following the rules of tuscan old craft's style and Its charme can be recognized in the red tuscan tiles, the pietra serena staircase, and the intimate walled garden. The bedrooms, furnished in delicate pastel colours, terracotta tilling, and the original doors, are all euqipped with en-suite bathrooms, Colour Tv, Wi-fi internet acces, and full bath & bedlinen's set. Edo and celia will be glad to inform guests about monuments, sites of interest and florence surroundings, as well as on the schedule of all events exhibitons, shows and concerts. "Giglio d'oro" as your own private home in florence, gives you the freedom of come and go 24 hours a day. Please inform us on your arrival time and will be glad to welcome you and leave you both the room and the front door key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Giglio d`Oro Bed And Breakfast
Il Giglio d`Oro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing