We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giglio d'Oro
Ranked #5 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What was so impressive about this B&B was Edoardo and his family's care and attention . When we arrived Edo was waiting for us and gave us a tour, helping us buy bus tickets, introducing us to the restaurants and local shopkeepers. We stayed in a lovely garden room with absolutely nothing was too much trouble. The local area was, for us, ideal with lovely places to eat at all times of the day and easy access to the city - 10 minutes on the bus. We would really highly recommend this as a base for your visit-hope you enjoyed the German beer we left you Edo! With many thanks to you all for all your kindness.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank true_jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Il Giglio d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 720 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for four nights and felt like we had returned home from overseas. Edo is very hospitable offering us lots of good suggestions. This neighbourhood has many good quality restaurants. Edo took the effort to introduce us to the chefs who are his good friends. We therefore received very good services at these restaurants. Edo put in extra effort to offer us a bottle of Chianti wine, apples grew by his father, apple pie baked by Celia.. We patronized a very good pastry shop near by every morning. When you choose this B&B, you are guaranteed to be under good care and surrounded with many kind and helpful friends..

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kongan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Florence was the second stop on out Italian itinerary. In Rome, we stayed in a B&B right in the center of Rome. So it was great to stay a bit away from the centre of the city in Florence. It felt more homely and less touristy.

Edo was a great host. He and Celia manage the place themselves, so it was more like staying with friends than in a B&B.

On one of our days in Florence, we just wanted to sleep in late to counter the exhaustion of sightseeing in Rome and Florence. We had a very restful and quiet sleep, even though we woke up quite late.

Edo introduced us to a lovely bakery/pattiserie nearby that served the most awesome breakfasts we had in Italy. And for a change the cappuccino there was served steaming hot.

The balcony attached to our room was excellent. We would come back after a long day and just sit in the balcony enjoying the quiet and the clear skies. The bathroom was nice and large and clean.

While we did have to take a bus to get into town. The buses were frequent during the day. The bus on the return journey stops right in front of Giglio D'Oro.

The only drawback was that given that this is a residential and non-tourist area, the supermarkets and restaurants/trattorias/ osterias etc, all close quite early (around 10). So if you plan on returning late, then pick up water and have dinner in the center of the town itself.

Room Tip: We loved the large room with the attached balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karishma-Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great stay in the 'Romantic Room' Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for three nights in mid September and it did not disappoint. Edo gave us a tour of the streets around the b&b and helped us book trips etc, he is sooo friendly and cant do enough for you. Our room was very spacious and really nicely decorated with themes from the Tuscany countryside. WIFI was not available in our room which was disappointing but we could access it from the communal garden. Also at the end of the stay Edo handed us a card and told us to rate on trip advisor as 5 stars 'he did his best' which almost made the service we had received feel disingenuous , I would have rated you 5 stars anyway Edo with out being told to do so!!!! Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriandJames57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

After reading the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor for Il GIglio, I decided to spend my 5 day Florence vacation there. There's not much more i can add to what's been said already except that I was very happy that the experience was as great as I hoped.
Edo and Celia run the house converted into a B&B practically single handedly, and the personal care they put in make the trip seem like you are staying at a relatives house.
They are a friendly and wonderful couple and were even kind enough to share a nice bottle of champagne with me for my birthday.
The location of the Il Giglio was something i was looking for: an authentic FLorentine house away from the droves of tourists that pack the duomo area. The hotel is 5 bus stops away from Duomo and the main tourist attractions, with trips every 10 minutes so you will not feel like you're away from the action.
The only down side to my four night stay in Il Giglio was that it is hard to hail taxis, but Edo can easily call for one to come over if you plan ahead/schedule well. Taxi takes 2-3 minutes tops to arrive and Il Giglio seemed near enough all the places i needed to go.

A well deserved 5 stars to Il GIglio and the friendliest Hotel/B&B operator you will ever meet!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miguelbitanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in Il Giglio d’Oro in August so we only met Edo. The rest of the family was somewhere cool for a little rest from the intense August heat. Despite this, we still had a wonderful time. We ended up in the big room because someone else had a late cancellation which meant we had a lovely balcony in our room. The building was a little older, but extremely charming and very nice. Lovely bathroom, air conditioning and the balcony made it a great place to stay. Edo was very helpful – he showed us the bus stops (because no one wanted to walk the whole way to the city center in that heat) and where to eat around. He had maps where he marked good places in the city center too – we never had to wonder where to eat. There was a small little place right next door with 1euro espresso which perfect in the morning, or a really good bakery down the road about 4 blocks with amazing pastries and gelato. It was a great trip and I recommend this hotel when you are Florence – easy to get to but not crowded and in the middle of the tourists. A calm and quiet neighborhood – a beautiful introduction to Florence!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We messed up our booking and had to find somewhere quick for our last night in Florence, so after checking TripAdvisor I decided I'd try Gigllo d-Oro B&B. It was a great decision, Edo and his family go above and beyond expectations, it is quite apparent he loves to meet people and make them feel comfortable; our room was a delight, a private room in the back garden en suite etc, really lovely. TV was challenging to operate and we added our own speech to the dubbed American Westerns. Only breakfast would have made it perfect but I guess that's not an Italian thing like it is in UK, ie, 'Bed and Breakfast'. Edo welcomed us with ice cold sparkling water, red wine, and gave us home made orange juice in the morning. It was a perfect ending for our last night in Florence and very helpful to stay where there is such a great command of English as my Italian sucks.

Room Tip: ask for the private room in the garden, own entrance, en suite, own private patio.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peaceandjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,251 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 656 in Florence
814 reviews
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 656 in Florence
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Grillo di Firenze
#13 of 656 in Florence
480 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 656 in Florence
655 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 656 in Florence
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio d'Oro

Address: Via Antonio Pacinotti 11, 50131, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $65 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A CHARMING GUESTHOUSE WITH GARDEN IN THE CENTRE OF FLORENCE, HAVE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES AND SEND US A E MAIL TO CHECK THE AVAILABILITY!!!!Edo and Celia are delighted to welcome you in their typical tuscan home recenlty renovated and is situated close to the historical center of florence. This brend new guest house typical italian style, offers its guests warm and elegant hospitality at very advantageous prices, just few steps away from the town center. The building has been completely renovated strictly following the rules of tuscan old craft's style and Its charme can be recognized in the red tuscan tiles, the pietra serena staircase, and the intimate walled garden. The bedrooms, furnished in delicate pastel colours, terracotta tilling, and the original doors, are all euqipped with en-suite bathrooms, Colour Tv, Wi-fi internet acces, and full bath & bedlinen's set. Edo and celia will be glad to inform guests about monuments, sites of interest and florence surroundings, as well as on the schedule of all events exhibitons, shows and concerts. "Giglio d'oro" as your own private home in florence, gives you the freedom of come and go 24 hours a day. Please inform us on your arrival time and will be glad to welcome you and leave you both the room and the front door key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Giglio d`Oro Bed And Breakfast
Il Giglio d`Oro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing