We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience-couldn't be happier”
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giglio d'Oro
Ranked #5 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have never felt compelled to write a review before-positive or negative. But Edo Celia and Jennifer gave us such an amazing stay that I wanted to share it. This stay was the highlight of our honeymoon.

First of all, the location is perfect. Just a couple of kilometers from the train station do getting into and out of town couldn't be easier. And it's less than a 10 minute bus ride or a 8 euro taxi ride to the historic district, so it's especially convenient to sight see.

But what made staying here so special were the hosts. When we arrived, Edo (who opened early for us because we arrived very early) immediately walked us around the neighborhood introducing us to shop owners and local businesses. Listen to all of his recommendations! What a wonderful personal touch. He then wrote down on a map the way to get around and the places/things to see and do. It was invaluable as we explored the city. As a native florentine He really knows the city.

Edo and his wife wouldn't rest unless we had everything we needed. On our first day he brought us homemade antipasti. Every morning they offered us fresh squeezed juice. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Il Giglio d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 720 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

I spent 4 days in Florence traveling, eating, and drinking wine. Eduardo and his family were absolutely amazing. The moment I got there, Edo offered me a larger room then gave me a personal tour of his neighborhood. The B&B is located about 5-10 mins by bus to the center of Florence and the house itself has some very good stores and restaurants nearby. It was a great place to come back to after a full day of traveling and eating. I will def. be coming back to Florence with my girlfriend and will make sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesseN13970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The really great thing about this B&B is the host, Edo. He is extremely knowledgeable about the area and a genuinely nice guy. He definitely goes out of his way to make you feel welcome in his home. We had a slight issue with our reservation (our fault) but Edo took care of it like a gentlemen and always with a smile. The B&B is located outside of walking distance to the center (you can walk it but you won't be left with much energy once you reach the center) so its a short bus ride. I actually preferred the location of the B&B to the center as it had some authentic character unlike the disneyland that is Florence. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Highly recommended if visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013.
No wonder this is rated one of the top B and Bs in Florence.
The host, Edo and Celia, made you feel so welcomed and at home.
The room was clean and beautifully decorated. Welcome gifts including a bottle of wine. Edo went out of his way to give us orientation walk in the neighbourhood. His recommendation and guide for touring and dining were so perfect that we enjoyed every minute of our visit of this wonderful city.

Thank you Edo and Celia. In our mind, you do make Florence proud.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

No frills but ever so warm and inviting - Edo, Celia, and the cute Jennifer are the perfect hosts! Edo is a fountain of Florence-related knowledge and is eager to make your stay the best possible. The location was perfect. We walked everywhere or took the bus on occasion. Our party occupied 2 rooms, both spacious and clean. Even though it was the holidays, Edo made sure we arrived to a spotless home and we really could not have asked for anything more.

We left with a promise to return. It was a really great experience to stay with this wonderful family!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniellaEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Edo, Celia and Jennifer (their daughter) are warm, accommodating and wonderful hosts. The location is great, only a 10 minute walk from the historical center. The house is warm and homey, with large bathrooms and cute bedrooms. Upon arriving, Edo gave us a more than thorough introduction to the neighborhood, the transport and food options, and circled key points of interest on the map for us. We shared wine and food, and sat out talking on the back patio (even in the cold). All in all, we would highly recommend for a couple, a family, friend, or a solo traveler.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Migrant101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arriving at Il Gilgio d'Oro was just a combination of all my expectations: the beautiful house, the rooms, romantically arranged, just as you dream about Florence...near everything, but giving you a space to enjoy the privilege of being in that beautiful environment.
Edo was always making us feel his own family, preparing mediterranean dinners at the nice courtyard, just to make guests meet each other and share the conversation with wine and laughs.
The cafes near the house are great, also the market.
This is absolutely the place I will recommend to all my friends.
Thank you Edo, Celia and Jennifer!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Liliy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,249 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 656 in Florence
814 reviews
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 656 in Florence
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Grillo di Firenze
#12 of 656 in Florence
479 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 656 in Florence
928 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 656 in Florence
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio d'Oro

Address: Via Antonio Pacinotti 11, 50131, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $71 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A CHARMING GUESTHOUSE WITH GARDEN IN THE CENTRE OF FLORENCE, HAVE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES AND SEND US A E MAIL TO CHECK THE AVAILABILITY!!!!Edo and Celia are delighted to welcome you in their typical tuscan home recenlty renovated and is situated close to the historical center of florence. This brend new guest house typical italian style, offers its guests warm and elegant hospitality at very advantageous prices, just few steps away from the town center. The building has been completely renovated strictly following the rules of tuscan old craft's style and Its charme can be recognized in the red tuscan tiles, the pietra serena staircase, and the intimate walled garden. The bedrooms, furnished in delicate pastel colours, terracotta tilling, and the original doors, are all euqipped with en-suite bathrooms, Colour Tv, Wi-fi internet acces, and full bath & bedlinen's set. Edo and celia will be glad to inform guests about monuments, sites of interest and florence surroundings, as well as on the schedule of all events exhibitons, shows and concerts. "Giglio d'oro" as your own private home in florence, gives you the freedom of come and go 24 hours a day. Please inform us on your arrival time and will be glad to welcome you and leave you both the room and the front door key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Giglio d`Oro Bed And Breakfast
Il Giglio d`Oro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing