We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ! Home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Giglio d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giglio d'Oro
Ranked #3 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent ! Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013.
No wonder this is rated one of the top B and Bs in Florence.
The host, Edo and Celia, made you feel so welcomed and at home.
The room was clean and beautifully decorated. Welcome gifts including a bottle of wine. Edo went out of his way to give us orientation walk in the neighbourhood. His recommendation and guide for touring and dining were so perfect that we enjoyed every minute of our visit of this wonderful city.

Thank you Edo and Celia. In our mind, you do make Florence proud.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    36
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
430
41
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

No frills but ever so warm and inviting - Edo, Celia, and the cute Jennifer are the perfect hosts! Edo is a fountain of Florence-related knowledge and is eager to make your stay the best possible. The location was perfect. We walked everywhere or took the bus on occasion. Our party occupied 2 rooms, both spacious and clean. Even though it was the holidays, Edo made sure we arrived to a spotless home and we really could not have asked for anything more.

We left with a promise to return. It was a really great experience to stay with this wonderful family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniellaEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Edo, Celia and Jennifer (their daughter) are warm, accommodating and wonderful hosts. The location is great, only a 10 minute walk from the historical center. The house is warm and homey, with large bathrooms and cute bedrooms. Upon arriving, Edo gave us a more than thorough introduction to the neighborhood, the transport and food options, and circled key points of interest on the map for us. We shared wine and food, and sat out talking on the back patio (even in the cold). All in all, we would highly recommend for a couple, a family, friend, or a solo traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Migrant101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arriving at Il Gilgio d'Oro was just a combination of all my expectations: the beautiful house, the rooms, romantically arranged, just as you dream about Florence...near everything, but giving you a space to enjoy the privilege of being in that beautiful environment.
Edo was always making us feel his own family, preparing mediterranean dinners at the nice courtyard, just to make guests meet each other and share the conversation with wine and laughs.
The cafes near the house are great, also the market.
This is absolutely the place I will recommend to all my friends.
Thank you Edo, Celia and Jennifer!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Liliy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Giglio d'Oro , had a fantastic time.
Great location, just a few minutes from the centre of Florence, Edo and his Wife are lovely people, very welcoming, very helpful,felt like i was at a family home.
Edo helped us find our way around Florence, was great.
The room was awesome, very spacious,clean ,quite, with the beautiful view of the backyard.
We even had dinner with Edo,Celia and litle Jennifer on the last night at one of their friends restaurant. (one of the highlights of my 2 weeks in Italy)
Amazing spot, strongly sugest to anyone visiting Florence.
Ciao

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Food_Wine_Lover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lisa and I went to Florence for my 30th birthday and were greeted by Edo, Celia and baby Jennifer late due to a silly train strike in Rome. We arrived to a bottle of Prosecco and smiling faces. Edo gave us a tour of the surrounding area, as well as showing us where the locals eat. We stayed in the garden room out back and it was beautiful. Anything we needed Edo would have provided; it was absolutely over the top and outstanding. We wish we were there longer and would recommended in a heartbeat staying at this incredible bed and breakfast. The epitome of Florence hospitality!
We would go back there each and every time.

Room Tip: The garden room out back had a double bed and its own bathroom. It was very secluded, quiet and pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Edo is a perfect host. Warm Welcoming and Helpful. He guided us to a great restaurant on our first evening out. Booked our tours and helped us with our transport needs. We enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shapex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
B&B Monte Oliveto
#12 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#2 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio d'Oro

Property: Il Giglio d'Oro
Address: Via Antonio Pacinotti 11, 50131, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A CHARMING GUESTHOUSE WITH GARDEN IN THE CENTRE OF FLORENCE, HAVE A LOOK AT THE PICTURES AND SEND US A E MAIL TO CHECK THE AVAILABILITY!!!!Edo and Celia are delighted to welcome you in their typical tuscan home recenlty renovated and is situated close to the historical center of florence. This brend new guest house typical italian style, offers its guests warm and elegant hospitality at very advantageous prices, just few steps away from the town center. The building has been completely renovated strictly following the rules of tuscan old craft's style and Its charme can be recognized in the red tuscan tiles, the pietra serena staircase, and the intimate walled garden. The bedrooms, furnished in delicate pastel colours, terracotta tilling, and the original doors, are all euqipped with en-suite bathrooms, Colour Tv, Wi-fi internet acces, and full bath & bedlinen's set. Edo and celia will be glad to inform guests about monuments, sites of interest and florence surroundings, as well as on the schedule of all events exhibitons, shows and concerts. "Giglio d'oro" as your own private home in florence, gives you the freedom of come and go 24 hours a day. Please inform us on your arrival time and will be glad to welcome you and leave you both the room and the front door key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Giglio d`Oro Hotel Florence
Il Giglio d`Oro Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing