We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Giglio d'Oro
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)(Great Value!)
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$241
$200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$975
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$320
$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$860
$794
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rapallo(Florence)
$396
$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
$513
$395
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$350
$301
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$348
$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveler rating
682
36
13
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
36
13
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housedaughter jenniferrecommend ilb baround the cornera short bus ridebuy bus ticketswonderful hostsgelatolocal pizzeriapastry shopplace to stayyellow roomour honeymoongarden roomshort stay in florencewonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 733 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I know when I'm reading reviews when trying to find a place to stay I scan for the amenities first. As I think you can't find any better B&B or Guest House than Il Giglio D'Oro I'll make it easy for you and cover those first but please continue reading about the hosts - they are just brilliant.

A beautiful, extremely comfortable Guest House in Florence.

About 2kms from the historical centre - very easy to get there (5 short bus stops on the bus or a 20 minute walk).

Excellent restaurants and shops surrounding the Guest House.

The bed was the most comfortable we had in our 6 week stay in Italy.

The bathroom was spacious, modern and exceptionally clean. The shower was excellent.

The free Wi-Fi works perfectly.

We stayed in what was called "The Red Room" and had our own private balcony that overlooked the back leafy courtyard.

Edo had tonnes of information on all different tours and walks you could do in Florence and booked them for us at no extra charge.

The little touches took this Guest House from great to excellent - a bottle of Chianti wine on arrival; large, fluffy white towels wrapped with a ribbon; strong, fast Wi-Fi, tea & coffee facilities in the room, digital TV, lots of natural light, air-conditioner; homely, gorgeous décor that made you feel you'd just walked into the home of an old friend plus a leafy back courtyard to rest your weary bones in and have a drink at the outdoor setting after a long day of sightseeing.

Now for the hosts - Edo & Celia and their baby daughter Jennifer. These people are among the coolest people we have met. Edo is exceptionally warm and vivacious - when we arrived he greeted us with such warmth and friendliness I felt like I already knew him. Like all previous guests, he took us on a short walk and described all the shops and restaurants surrounding us (and was very refreshingly honest in his opinions of the various places he pointed out).

Edo clearly has a passion for people and hospitality that is surpassed by no-one. Anything we needed, Edo would provide (within reason). He has a fantastic sense of humour which is infectious and we found ourselves seeking his company - which, fortunately, he was more than happy about!

He's not intrusive though - if you want your own space he will leave you to your privacy.

Celia, his wife, is very busy looking after their beautiful and spunky young daughter Jennifer (as is Edo too) and with her other job as a physio teacher, however she still made the time to have a chat with us and she too, has a wonderful sense of humour.

I can't really put into words how much we loved this place and the family who run it. It saddens me we live so far away that we can't just pop in to have a glass of wine or espresso with Edo & Celia.

I 100% recommend this place. It is a home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Red Room" and it was exceptionally quiet with its own private balcony. Definitely recommended!! Also, be aware this is a Guest House not a Bed & Breakfast - so no breakfast is served. Edo would love to but the licensing won't allow him to. Great places to eat in the surrounding cafes though!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic_Goodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights with friends from Australia and it was wonderful. It isn't in the main part of Florence so there aren't so many tourists and it is more like a neighborhood. Edo, Celia and Jennifer were so much fun. Edo met our taxi before we even got out of the car. He went way beyond our expectations. He even walked us around the neighborhood and introduced us to restaurant owners. When we ate in those restaurants we were greeted like family. The guest house has a lovely patio in the back and after a day of site seeing we could sit and relax there. Whatever we needed whether it was an ATM or adapter plugs, he made sure we got it. When we left he asked for constructive criticism and was very anxious to do anything that would make someone's visit more pleasant. T&Q from Texas

Room Tip: There are only three rooms plus a honeymoon room in the back garden so all are find. All are a little noisy with street noise but there are shutters that make it quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Edo, Celia and Jennifer made our stay at Il Giglio d'Oro a truly memorable experience. Their warmth and kindness immediately made us feel at home and the hospitality is unparallelled. Edo also does an excellent job in giving you a quick tour of the area and letting you know where to eat, shop, etc.

They are located a short bus ride (or walk) from downtown Florence giving you quick access to the city but also making it easy to find parking should you choose to rent a car. Also, be sure to take the quick bus ride to Fiesole if you stay here as it is a beautiful area overlooking the city.

It is my pleasure to recommend Il Giglio d'Oro as the place to stay when you visit Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Edo, Celia and little Jennifer are the best hosts you can ever ask for. Upon arrival, Edo gave us a very warm, personal and useful orientation of the city, 2 glasses of very delicious home-made vegetable /fruit juice, and helped us with our luggage. One very late night, we brought home some takeaway food. Without having to ask, Edo heated the food for us, Celia set the table in the courtyard...candles and tableware...we had a very romantic night!

The location of the place is just about right if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the historic center or train station, yet close to them (10 minutes away by bus, bus station is just around the corner). Try to get a room not facing the street as it could be a little noisy for sleep for some people. But for us, it was just fine.

Highly recommend a "travottaire" (more casual than a restaurant) around the corner (literally). It was called "nasone", or something similar meaning "big nose"? Edo will acquaint you with it. We dined in this little place 3 times in our short saty of 4 nights in florence. This place gave us a homely feel and yet food quality is just superb. Mr. Nasone himeself somehow left us the impression of a Michelin chef but be assured that he is very polite, patient (good english) and amiable.

Back to Edo, this place provides great value for money just for the spacious room, clean towel, nice decoration and convenient location. With the hospitality from Edo's family, the experience is just unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bebe_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked here because of the good reviews (and it still had availability!) and we were delighted with our choice. As just about everyone has mentioned - Edo greets you on arrival and gives you lots of friendly & useful info. We found this really helpful and it helped us get settled into our locale immediately.
The B&B is in central Florence but just outside the touristic heartland - something that we enjoyed as you get to see "real Florence" as it is a bit of a tourist trap (but a lovely one). The suburb has excellent, cheap, speedy & convenient links right into the tourist heart. You will be there in about 5 mins on the local bus - this really is a stress free journey (no language skills required!) so don't let that put you off. There are some excellent food options in the area & indeed the tiny local restaurant opposite the B&B is fantastic.
Although you are technically staying in Edo, Celia & Jennifer's house it is run as a professional B&B with 24 hour access and you are not left to feel as though you are intruding nor is it in any way awkward. Your lodgings are treated as your own & you wouldn't necessarily know that the owners were living "on-site".
The accommodation is clean & comfortable. One slight word of advice would be that there is a certain amount of traffic noise. We had a room right above the street and it is possible to hear the general rumblings that are normal in this situation. The noise wasn't anything that bothered us and did not affect how we slept at all but we do appreciate that some people are more sensitive to this and it is worth pointing out. I'm sure that there are some "off-street" rooms. If this could be a problem for you then I'm sure Edo would have a way of solving it for you anyway! Please don't view this as a negative - it really wasn't a problem for us.
In summary this was a fantastic choice of accommodation and we would definitely return if we go back to Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WimbledonWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews