We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very pleasant experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Modern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais Modern
Ranked #156 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

i stayed recently here for 5 days and i fully recommend this place. very good location, 10 min walk to the dome, in a quite area. nice, big rooms (especially for italy), very clean. the owner is very friendly and eager to help you. for the price of the room, you have a great return of investment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corina080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    73
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
121
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

I had a great stay at this hotel. The rooms are surprisingly HUGE for European standards. The best part of the room -- there is an amazing rainshower head in the shower. I happen to go to Florence just as they were having a cold spell, so after walking around all day, I was absolutely freezing! Getting into this shower was heavenly! The staff was very nice and accommodating and will even let you try to practice your italian with them. The location is great -- just about a 10 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio and all the other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngchgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

My mom and I traveled to Italy in May. Florence was the second stop on our trip and we stayed for 2 days. Having come from a 5 star hotel in Rome we didn't really expect to be wowed here. But boy were we. Customer service here is wonderful. I beleive Alberto checked us in, we got there early and it was not an issue. We had to wait a little for a room to be ready but it was not a problem as Alberto used this time to aquaint us with the hotel, the city, as well as made reservations for us to some of the museums. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. As previous posters have noted it is about a 15 walk to the Duomo but it is a straight shot, no way to get lost. The hotel offers just enough to make it is comfortable but the customer service is what makes it great. Breakfast can be served for you in room at no additional charge which we loved. Typical Italian breakfast, salami, cheese, pastry, etc. If you want a clean simple place, with a great location then this is it.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

I was afraid I made a mistake in changing the modern B&B for the traditionally decorated apartment at Via Toscanella (as an upgrade) and it turned out I was right. There is a sofa-bed, with the 'spirals' of the mattres almost sticking out. Besides it isn't suited for allergy-patients.The floor was dirty, the plates in the kitchen were dirty. The cafe owner said he would open for breakfast at 8:00, but he opened much later and we had to hurry with a take away coffeee to be in time for the museum for which we had reserved tickets. I must say the area where the apartment is located is great to stroll around! But the B&B is not far away from the old centre at all...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crnU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

After spending a long time researching suitable accommodation in Florence we were excited to find Relais Modern as it offered the clean cut, all mod cons comfort for some time away (that would also have to include a little bit of work). We booked our room in April this year for time away to coincide with our birthdays and first Wedding Anniversary.

A few days before our trip started we got in touch with the b&b and they admitted they had lost our booking. The place was completely booked but they say there was room in their apartment. This was not at all what we were looking forward to and really wasn't to our taste. Not only that, but currently undergoing back treatment the thought of having to sleep on a pull-out sofa bed was very worrying.

We couldn't find anything else at such short notice so ended up having to cancel our holiday losing our money for pre-booked trips, flights and insurance.

I appreciate the hotel did offer some alternative lodgings, but to assume this will be welcomed with open arms by their customers is very badly misjudged. Especially as it is worlds apart in style from their b&b! With just a standard apology for their hiccup I don't think Relais Modern quite realised how much they had ruined what should have been a special trip.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank poppetcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaismodern, General Manager at Relais Modern, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear Poppetcake,
we are sorry to hear that we caused you so many troubles because, as stated on our correspondance, we have never lost your booking but we just did the mistake to give you a double free upgrade to our suite apartments that, as you can check in our reviews on tripadvisor, are very highly appreciated.
We were thinking to give you a "present" for your anniversary and when we proposed it to you, you immediately cancelled the reservation without giving us any kind of possibility to solve this unexpected problem.
We hope to have the possibility in future to demostrate you that the style of our B&B suits us completely.

Sincerely yours,

Alberto Passini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were originally booked at this Bed & Breakfast but we ended up changing and staying at the apartments that are owned by the same people. It was awesome! The apartment is across the Arno River from the Ufizzi & Accademia but it is a very close walk across the bridge. It was very clean and in a good location. The best gelato we had was in the square below the apartment. The only thing I would suggest is to bring earplugs, which I never travel without anyway, because it's above a small square where there are a couple of restaurants and it could get a little noisy. Fulvio and Alberto were great to work with!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveItaly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed at these apartments in May 2010 while travelling through Italy. This apartment was one of our best accommodations. It's about a 10 minute walk from the Duomo but you see great things during the walk. The room are ultra modern, clean, and simple. Breakfast was a bit too simple (tea/coffee, croissants, cake) and could have been more full. We were also woken early in the mornings due to garbage collection and street noise. The hotel manager was helpful and helped us get reservations for the Academia and Uffizi galleries and recommended great places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillus1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Black 5 Florence
Black 5 Florence
#263 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
San Lorenzo
Le Camere dei Conti
Le Camere dei Conti
#85 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Pitti
Residenza d'Epoca Toscanelli
Residenza d'Epoca Toscanelli
#242 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quadra Key Residence
#86 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Soggiorno Oblivium
Soggiorno Oblivium
#54 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
#227 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Modern

Property: Relais Modern
Address: Via Alfonso La Marmora 22, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Modern 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open by young Florentine guys, the Relais Modern is ideally located in a residential and quiet area in the historical centre of Florence. Modern furnitures, comforts, technologies and warm hospitality will welcome you during your family holiday, business trip or any other cultural & leisure occasion to spend your time in the marvelous Florence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Modern Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing