We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and central place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Dimora del Centro
Ranked #354 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this bed and breakfast. It is difficult to find, look at the web site carefully and follow directions. It is a 10 minute walk from the train station. You will be in the absolute centre of the city. Make sure to get out and explore the side streets and the outer areas of Florence as the crowds can get a bit overwhelming. The price is very reasonable and as long as you are not looking for a five star experience you will enjoy this place. It does have a very handy tea room with a coffee machine and some light snacks as a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 229 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at this beautiful property in December 2010. I booked the B&B after spending hours on TA and was very happy with it.

It was my first trip overseas and this was my accommodations for the first night…aka jet lag. To top things off, I was stranded in Frankfurt Airport for hours, and had to contact the staff at La Dimora del Centro multiple time to update them with my ETA. In the end, I arrived at 1:30 am, 13 hours later than intended. Despite all that, the staff couldn’t have been nicer. They quickly showed me around, and said that we could deal with check-in in the morning, so I could get some sleep…and I slept like a log, despite the jet lag. The next morning, the staff allowed me a later checkout time so that I could rest. Once I was up, I had great shower in the lovely bathroom, a quick coffee and then walked less than 5 minutes to meet my friends at the Uffizi museum. I was able to leave my luggage at the B&B while I did some sightseeing and picked it up later in the day.

The next time I visit Florence, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEIgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

There is very much positive to say about La Dimora del Centro but I will knock off the 3 negatives that my group experienced first.

The individual who checked us in was the only rude person we met in a 16 day vacation to Italy ---all other hotel and restaurant staff throughout Italy were terrific. She checked us in and was obviously in a hurry to get rid of us. The check in is in at a different location than the B&B and one has to bring luggage there before going onto the actual B&B. She didn't even hold the doors open for us to get our luggage out (I swear) but raced down the street well ahead of us! When we got to the actual B&B, when one of asked a question, she wouldn't answer and said she already had explained this and her general tone was shocking, especially for what we were paying per night. Two of us had no idea how to actually open the door nor could we watch the news on TV. PLEASE, give this person some training!

The second negative was that areas of the stairwell had no lights at all and were dangerously pitch black even during the day. Other sections required you to feel for the switch to get some light. Finally, WIFI was not available which was a big issue for my group.

That being said, the location is terrific--right on the Piazza della Republica and the window glass controls the noise really well. The rooms and public spaces are beautifully decorated and the website pictures clearly show this. The property has obviously been recently renovated and it is very new and fresh. The air conditioning in the room is good (but the public areas have no air and are not too useful during the summer).

Breakfast is a 5-10 minute walk away at a cafe where one presents vouchers. This is a little inconvenient but the pastry was fine.

Room Tip: The website clearly and accurately describes the rooms. The less expensive do not have views and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJB1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This B&B is located perfectly with rooms looking over the Piazza Republica. The rooms are very nicely decorated and there is a great common room with tea/coffee making facilities and biscuits. A very nice breakfast was served at a nearby cafe - consisting of 2 pastries, juice and coffee. Staff were very helpful and friendly and we would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebnCraig76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I found this on TA and we couldn't have been more pleased. Lovely romantic room overlooking Piazza Repubblica. Perfect location and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Perfectly located overlooking the main piazza of Florence, the hotel is well appointed, clean comfortable and very quiet. The rooms are large with nice ensuite, and the beds comfortable. The hotel has a common room with tea/coffee making facilities, fruit juice and freshly made biscotti that is the best I have ever tasted! We were greeted by staff that are delightful and extremely helpful. Don't be put off by the breakfast coupons - the local bakery/restaurant that you use them at is awesome, and you have a choice on what you can have. The food and coffee is fantastic. We will return to Florence, and we will again stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JockPrivateGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This B&B was quite a surprise. It's located right on the main square of Florence and is decorated in such a pretty and comfy way. My wife just loved the purple room we had. The hotel staff was very nice and spoke great English. All the sights in Florence are less than a 10 minutes walk from the room. The breakfast coupons to the local shop were great. The food was really good and filled you up. I highly recommend getting a rate that includes the breakfast. There was also a common room in the hotel that had fruit, coffee and tea all day when you wanted it. All the rooms had a mini bar where you could keep items cold. When we return to Florence I will be staying here again as this was a great hotel.

Room Tip: Book the Purple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmonstrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#154 of 409 in Florence
2,039 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 325 in Florence
2,557 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
55 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dimora del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dimora del Centro

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $94 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of ancient Florence, with open windows up on most symbolic square of the city. It is here in the old market of Florence, nowadays known as Repubblica square, that I have decided to transform my vision of the city into Bed and Breakfast. We will waiting for you here to offer a new and enthusiastic way to enjoy Florence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Dimora Del Centro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing