We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Michelangelo Guesthouse
Ranked #306 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Koblenz, Germany
1 review
“We'll be coming back”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

A wonderful place to stay in Florence. The room was comfortable and the hosts were very informative and helpful. We very much enjoyed the sun on the balcony overlooking marvellous gardens before we left for a stroll through Florence by night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Estimated Guest,

thank you for Your kind review. Our rooms with the balcony let Guest enjoy sunny sunset before enjoying the San Niccolò neighbourhood nightlife.

Come back soon to the Michelagelo Guesthouse!

Ciao,

Niccolò Ricci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    72
    19
    3
    10
See reviews for
46
134
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We loved Florence and to come back to the Guest House every night was a pleasure. The room is spacious and has doors opening up to a balcony overlooking the houses of Florence. This is situated close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonelvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your kind words sound very sweet to my ears!! thank You very much for sharing Your opinion with us.

Come back soon at the Michelangelo.

Best,

Niccolò Ricci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Some mixed reviews on Tripadvisor left my wife and I very uncertain as to what to expect from the Michelangelo but we were very pleased with our stay. Tucked away in a side street that not even the Taxi driver knew existed we wondered if we had come to the right place! We had notified the owners prior to our arrival what time we should arrive and were greeted by Antonio. He is one of life's little gems, polite, knowledgeable and good with people. He is willing and able to speak very good English and as with everyone we spoke to during our stay he was very patient with us as we tried a bot of Italian!
The guesthouse is located up 3 flights of stairs and Antonio is more than willing to assist with luggage. The room we had was very large and overlooked the garden and the hill on which the Piazza Michelangelo sits. Antonio allowed us some time to unpack and settle in before giving us an extensive overview of the local area, Florence in general and Italy in general. We were surprised to have a TV in the room with 900 or so channels but none in English so we can now speak more Italian than we could before our visit! The TV can also get the internet on it but I could use my phone for the internet for free. The previous breakfast comments pretty well sum up the offering but it depends on your angle of thought as to whether it is a good or bad thing. We actually liked it, especially the toaster and as for the bar vending machine! Cheap prices compared to bars in Florence!
The location is excellent with several very good restaurants within 5 minutes walk. There are several buses (D, 12 and 13 amongst others) that take you into town or you can walk to the Uffizi in about 15 minutes. The buses cost 2 euro each for a 70 minute period if you buy them on the bus on the bus or 1.20 euro each if you buy them before. If you intend using the bus a lot the Carte Agile for 10, 20 or 30 euro is a must as the trips work out at 1 euro or less each! The bus routes are easily downloaded from the ATAF website.
The area around the guesthouse felt very safe, even at night. The town centre was far busier and therefore had the potential for more problems such as pick pockets but usual precautions help reduce the risks.
To sum up, we will return to the guesthouse as it was ideal for what we wanted. It was certainly worth the price. Yes you will be able to find other very good accommodation in Florence and yes you will find cheaper but this place has something special about it. we can't quite find the words but it feels like staying at a friend's place in a foreign town. Antonio and indeed all the staff we met are very friendly and helpful. They are more than willing to help out with any problems or queries. Do what we did on arrival and walk up the hill to the Piazza Michelangelo and enjoy the stunning view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aardvark66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Estimated Guest,

thank You very much for sharing with us Your kind opinion. Our position is indeed very special, safe at night, relaxing for a special stay in the historical centre of Florence. Just below the green Michelangelo hill...the path to the top is what we suggest more...not everybody walks up...we are pleased You enjoyed the view.
Come back visit us soon!

Kind Regards,

Niccolò Ricci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona beach,florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Guesthouse was comfortable & convenient to everything, including the historical area. Antonio was very infomative & helpful. He really knows his history. If you have time take a side trip to Lucca. Antonio can tell you all about it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peshelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dera Guest,

we try ourbest to better suggest city getaway for people staying many days...thanks forsharing Your kind opininowith us.

Hope to see You soon at the Michelangelo.

Best,

NIccolò Ricci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We can't say enough great things about the wonderful hospitality, friendliness and accommodations at the Michelangelo Guesthouse. As B&B owners we know the challenges of providing extraordinary service and Vanny excels in every way with this fabulous B&B located at the ideal spot in Florence.

Room Tip: Each room offers unique features so it is good to arrive early and be able to select your room from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tstimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

we try our best togive the best hospitality to allour Guests. I'm glad You've had a pleasent stay at the Michelangelo.

Come back soon!

Kind Regards,

NIccolò Ricci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have a very nice stay in the town of Firenze. Guesthouse Michelangelo was a excellent choice for us, it's location was perfect (a few hundred meters from the marathon start and finish lines). The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was nice and warm. Many thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C4Irunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Estimated Runner,

historically every year we host runners since we are very close to the start line up at the Piazzale Michelangelo. Finish line is just minutes away in Piazza Santa Croce. On Sunday after the Marathon we also allow runners to late check out to enjoy a hot shower after the race.

Come back running in Florence is great.

See You soon at the Michelangelo....and remember toreserve in advance since we get complete way before the race.

Kind Regards,

NIccolò Ricci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymno
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This guesthouse is a very good choice for those who dont want to saty in the busy historical center of Florence.
Trust the owner.Everything he told me about which places to visit and which not,where to eat,to drink and generally whatever he told me it was very good.And he told me WITHOUT asking him.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrinos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank You for all nice compliments. I'm sorry to see You haven't liked our location with the best possible score. The position is very quite and just off the mass tourism of Florence. Our rooms that face the green Michelangelo hill with olive trees beiing in the historical centre of a medieval city usually are a strong plus for all our Guests. All major attractions are within walking distance.

Hope to see You again at the Guesthouse.

Cordiali saluti,

Niccolò Ricci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais Firenze Stibbert
#90 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
Villa La Vedetta
Villa La Vedetta
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Belfiore B&B
Belfiore B&B
#236 of 675 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Guesthouse

Property: Michelangelo Guesthouse
Address: Via Ventura Ser Monachi 7, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Michelangelo Guesthouse è situato nello storico quartiere di San Niccolò in una strada che conserva ancora il sapore tipico della Firenze medievale, centro culturale di grande spessore e punto d'incontro di letterati, pittori e giovani artisti. A soli 15 minuti da Pontevecchio la location è il punto di partenza ideale per scoprire i segreti di Firenze, perfetta per ogni tipo di viaggiatore poichè la vicinanza al centro fanno, del Michelangelo Guesthouse, una sistemazione che predilige la privacy e la tranquillità. Nei dintorni sorgono caratteristici caffè, ristoranti, locali notturni e botteghe artigiane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Michelangelo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing