We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic area & knowledgable host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michelangelo Guesthouse
Ranked #329 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Guesthouse was comfortable & convenient to everything, including the historical area. Antonio was very infomative & helpful. He really knows his history. If you have time take a side trip to Lucca. Antonio can tell you all about it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peshelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dera Guest,

we try ourbest to better suggest city getaway for people staying many days...thanks forsharing Your kind opininowith us.

Hope to see You soon at the Michelangelo.

Best,

NIccolò Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 273 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

We can't say enough great things about the wonderful hospitality, friendliness and accommodations at the Michelangelo Guesthouse. As B&B owners we know the challenges of providing extraordinary service and Vanny excels in every way with this fabulous B&B located at the ideal spot in Florence.

Room Tip: Each room offers unique features so it is good to arrive early and be able to select your room from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tstimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

we try our best togive the best hospitality to allour Guests. I'm glad You've had a pleasent stay at the Michelangelo.

Come back soon!

Kind Regards,

NIccolò Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have a very nice stay in the town of Firenze. Guesthouse Michelangelo was a excellent choice for us, it's location was perfect (a few hundred meters from the marathon start and finish lines). The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was nice and warm. Many thanks!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C4Irunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Estimated Runner,

historically every year we host runners since we are very close to the start line up at the Piazzale Michelangelo. Finish line is just minutes away in Piazza Santa Croce. On Sunday after the Marathon we also allow runners to late check out to enjoy a hot shower after the race.

Come back running in Florence is great.

See You soon at the Michelangelo....and remember toreserve in advance since we get complete way before the race.

Kind Regards,

NIccolò Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This guesthouse is a very good choice for those who dont want to saty in the busy historical center of Florence.
Trust the owner.Everything he told me about which places to visit and which not,where to eat,to drink and generally whatever he told me it was very good.And he told me WITHOUT asking him.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrinos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank You for all nice compliments. I'm sorry to see You haven't liked our location with the best possible score. The position is very quite and just off the mass tourism of Florence. Our rooms that face the green Michelangelo hill with olive trees beiing in the historical centre of a medieval city usually are a strong plus for all our Guests. All major attractions are within walking distance.

Hope to see You again at the Guesthouse.

Cordiali saluti,

Niccolò Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Florence/Firenze was a welcome and much-anticipated mid-point in our journey across Italy on holiday, and we'd booked the Michelangelo for a couple of nights. As with all our stops we were looking for somewhere ideally within walking distance from the railway station. Initially though, as the location appeared somewhat towards the edge of the (misleading) tourist map we took a taxi to the smart and quiet suburb where our driver easily found the location. In fact, it's only a 15 minute saunter from town. The Michelangelo is a chic and quiet guesthouse with a very well-informed and welcoming proprietor, Niccolo, who went into great detail about the room, facilities and town itself.

The room itself was simply but tastefully decorated and had an air of sophistication, enhanced by the lack of a TV. Not to everyone's taste but if you've watched Italian TV you'll understand. Breakfast is provided in the room and there's tea and coffee making facilities. If you prefer a real coffee there's a cartridge-system machine in the lobby. There's also a vending machine which serves a wide variety of snacks, chilled beer and sparkling wine. The cleaners kept the room very clean and we'd definitely come back again. If you're up for a walk, there's a short but very worthwhile uphill walk to the Basilica di San Miniato al Monte where you'll be rewarded with breathtaking views of Florence.

Room Tip: Don't always believe the distances on free maps obtained from Tourist Information, especially wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank You for reviewing our Guesthouse. I'm sorry You haven't found our location pleasent: it is usually very appreciated since is in a little street away from the mass tourism.Our location is well specified on every booking site such as in our private web site with a map of the city pointing out our Guesthouse: on foot You may reach easily all the historical centre of Florence.

Come back soon.

Kind regards,

NIccolò Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We took a trip to Paris, Rome, Florence and Venice and this was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in.

Clean, spacious and really helpful staff. We were given lots of really useful information about local places to visit when we arrived which was great

Great location, quiet and comfy.

The only dissappointment was the bar (a vending machine); Restaurant (there isnt one); spa/gym (again there isnt one on site).

Breakfast was basc and self service but I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Proprietario at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Dear Guest,
I am really grateful for your kind words, being considered as the best accommodation compared to others you may find in great cities like Paris Rome and Venice makes me really proud. At the same time I am sorry about the disappointment you experienced, but we are not listed as an hotel and cannot boast the same type of facilities. We can recommend good restaurants nearby and can reserve treatments at the adjacent beauty center, next time we will have the pleasure to host you again you will be our guest!
Let me wish you all the best for your great adventure "down under"!
Kind Regards
Niccolò Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed a week in August at the Michelangelo guesthouse and we just loved the place. It is well situated, close enough to the center of town and right below the belvedere ( a nice walk up hill through a beautiful residential area). Very friendly welcome from the staff. Extremely Clean room.
I recommend this guesthouse to everyone who enjoys the feeling of being a host in a private home and not a customer in a big hotel.
I gived only 4 rating because the wifi is too slow if you really need it, and because there isn't a dedicated parking place. But we found these to be minor problems during our stay and the staff will tell you where to park for free.
We will definitely choose Michelangelo if we decide to visit Firenze again, that says it all!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberodivolare, Owner at Michelangelo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Dear Guest,

First of all we are extremely grateful for your kind words, you most certainly conveyed the spirit animating our Guesthouse, a cozy place where guests can feel like at home, in one of the most beautiful locations of the city. We look forward to hosting you again!
Just a few words about the problems you experienced, thank you for letting us know! With regard to the WiFi we really apologise for the poor performance of the prevoius system, now we have changed provider and the WiFi is now working excellently . Finally, we are aware that dedicated parking is a plus for customers but the city is small and free parking is extremely difficult, we are privileged to have one available only 200 yards away.

Best regards

Niccolò Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,288 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Hotel Ferrucci
#204 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais Firenze Stibbert
#83 of 657 in Florence
532 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Belfiore B&B
Belfiore B&B
#238 of 657 in Florence
243 reviews
Piazzale Michelangelo
Villa alle Rampe
Villa alle Rampe
#346 of 657 in Florence
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Guesthouse

Address: Via Ventura Ser Monachi 7, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $50 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Michelangelo Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Michelangelo Guesthouse è situato nello storico quartiere di San Niccolò in una strada che conserva ancora il sapore tipico della Firenze medievale, centro culturale di grande spessore e punto d'incontro di letterati, pittori e giovani artisti. A soli 15 minuti da Pontevecchio la location è il punto di partenza ideale per scoprire i segreti di Firenze, perfetta per ogni tipo di viaggiatore poichè la vicinanza al centro fanno, del Michelangelo Guesthouse, una sistemazione che predilige la privacy e la tranquillità. Nei dintorni sorgono caratteristici caffè, ristoranti, locali notturni e botteghe artigiane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Michelangelo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing