We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family restaurant”

La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi
Reserve with
La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #251 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $53
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pitti
Description: The restaurant, pizzeria, wine bar La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi it's a family run place, very close to Ponte Vecchio, with an original tuscan cousine. The Chef Mamma Rita, her husband Pino, their son Andrea, are waiting you for a nice experience in Florence.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Went to this restaurant after our hotel recommended it. Just a few steps from Ponte Vecchio. We ordered a huge plate of antipasti which was delicious. The rest of the meal, including pizza, was really good too, but we especially loved the people - looks like a family restaurant, with the father (and perhaps sons?) waiting on tables and taking food orders, chatting with people, etc... while the mother and other people worked in the kitchen. Probably the best value for our money in all the restaurants we visited in Florence (3 day visit).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tvling_annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    221
    62
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just loved this place
Spent 5 days in Florence and have tried numerous places - but this was my favorite - went back twice
Welcomed you with smile, explained all the menu and local specials, willing to make anything even what's not on the menu
The prices were just great and the server Vito was just amazing and very helpful
Even the owner had stopped by and chatted with us for while and by our second visit he welcomed us with a typical Italian greeting and a kiss
Just perfect local place with great meals will recommend to everyone

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delizioso”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ate here our second night in Florence last week. We stumbled upon it while walking the beautiful streets of Florence by moonlight. It's in a little alley, quiet and unassuming. Our meals were so fresh and delicious and our waiter, VITO, was Fantastic!!! He was friendly and charming and his service was beyond compare. We will definitely be back on our next trip, and hope Vito is working that night!! Julie and Chris J., Boston, MA

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliejyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best pizza in florence”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We found this place by accident for lunch just past Ponte Vecchio was so good we went back again for dinner. Was easily the best pizza we had in Florence and probably all of Italy. The crust was absolutely perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dw2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good food, service & value but nothing special”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here as it was only a few minutes walk from our hotel. The service was polite and friendly and we couldn't fault the food or the cost. So why not rate it 5? Well for our third night we went back to the restaurant (celestino) we ate on our first night which was just around the corner and where the service, food and overall value just pipped La Galleria. And it was marginally better the second time.
It might come down to the choice of dish or who served us but I can only report our experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Galleria Il Vino dei Guelfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing