We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good hospitality!”
Review of Al Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Duomo
Ranked #326 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 30, 2011

It’s an apartment that was divided into 3 rooms with individual bathrooms in the 4th floor of an old building with elevator. Great location, in October we arrived at SMN train station and walk about a 15 minute to arrive the B&B Al Duomo and Guido (the owner) is waiting for us to give all the information, you can walk to all major sights (Duomo,Piazza della Signoria, Pallazzo Vecchio, Galleria Uffizi, Galleria dell’Academia, Santa Croce Church, Palazzo Pitti, Ponte Vecchio, Mercato). We had stayed in a comfortable and clean room with a queen bed and two single beds for the children, with free wi fi internet and LCD TV, very good breakfast (prepared by Guido every morning) and a tiny bathroom. The bell of the Duomo (Giotto's tower) will wake up you at 7am. Price: 160€/day. Restaurant : Trattoria Birreria Centrale (very good), always full, not open on Sunday. We highly recommended this bed and breakfast (remember it’s not a hotel) and will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PailinSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Al Duomo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 182 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

Room was clean and comfortable, however bathroom was not satisfactory. Shower was very small, one could not bed to pick up shampoo, shower curtain stuck to ones body which made you feel unclean. Only way to shower was wet yourself down, hop out soap yourself and then back in and rinse off. Owner was friendly however was unable to converse with guests which made things difficult. Had trouble with car parking he booked - they were not friendly and our car was not there when we collected it one day to go to Tuscany, it turned up 3/4 hr later with no explanation as to where it was???? we were not happy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yanwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Our large room at Al Duomo was comfortable for the brief family stay (four adults). Morning started with friendly exchanges with Guido serving breakfast. The location is geat as it is within the centre of Florence making it very accesible to important sites and good restaurants.
Being in the centre however could mean that the night time sleep may be affected.
Guido and Mariagioconda made us feel welcome and their suggestions were most helpful.
Comfortable and clean room, good value, great location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKTraveller140911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at B&B AL Duomo! The location was great, only a block from the Duomo. You will hear the bells in the morning around 7:30 but I simply got up and closed the window and went back to sleep. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, even inviting us for breakfast on our first day in Florence when we arrived early in the morning. The rooms were clean and much more spacious than I expected. The bathroom was small (especially the corner shower) but clean. We would definitely recommend B&B Al Duomo and would stay there again if we returned to Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The location is perfect, especially when you're just in town for a few days. Just around the corner from the Duomo, the couple who runs the B&B are very welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast was perfect and their restaurant recommendations were great. The rooms were clean and comfortable (especially with the air conditioning). Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wootwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in al duomo for 2 nights. We were a family of four, two kids (twins age 8) and my husband and I and we all loved it there. We had the larger room with a queen size bed and a pull out sleeper sofa. The room was incredibly clean, comfortable with unit a/c that kept us cool during the hot month of June. The owner Guido was incredibly cordial and welcoming. He made us breakfast and cappuccinos every morning in his little kitchen. He had a variety if breakfast items and was very nice and accommodating to the kids. He only spoke Italian but we did not feel out of place at all because he was very very kind and nice. If you are looking for an inexpensive stay with breakfast included, clean linen and clean private bath with a/c in the room then this is the perfect stay in Florence! We would definitely go back there again if we are in Florence. Perfect place and location. In the heart of shops and restaurant. Truly a gem in Florence!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had an amazing time at Al Duomo and highly recommend it. It was very clean, spacious, warm and welcoming. My family of four stayed for two days and felt like we were staying with family. The location is perfect, the views are amazing of Il Duomo and the city, and the hospitality was above and beyond. Both husband and wife were flexiable, friendly and extremely helpful. They recommended the best restaurants and how to make the best of our two days. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Florence.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of Il Duomo, beautiful!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmazza86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Piccolo Principe B&B
#44 of 656 in Florence
313 reviews
B&B Porta San Frediano
#250 of 656 in Florence
114 reviews
San Marco
B&B Lady Florence
B&B Lady Florence
#284 of 656 in Florence
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#418 of 656 in Florence
65 reviews
Sognando Firenze
#43 of 656 in Florence
506 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Faceroom Bed and Breakfast
Faceroom Bed and Breakfast
#345 of 656 in Florence
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Duomo

Address: Via Roma 1 | Centro Storico, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $116 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AL DUOMO: This B&B is at 4st (with lift) in the heart of the Florence City. Via Roma, 1 (At the corner with Piazza Duomo). The bedrooms full of the light and all the comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing