We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Tuscan experience”

Bed and Breakfast Leonardo da Vinci
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Leonardo da Vinci
Ranked #478 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Carla and her family who own this B&B are delightful hosts. The property is a couple bus stops away from the train station and within walking distance to the city center without being located in a touristy or loud neighbourhood. Only one room has an attached bathroom and the other two rooms share a common bathroom. That being said, the thoughtful touches like bath-robes in the rooms and beautifully scented local farmacia produced soaps in the bathroom make the shared bath no hassle at all. If you have the time or the budget, treat yourself to a meal cooked by Carla. At 35 euros per head, it is worth every penny and was hands down the best meal I had in my recent trip to Italy (and I had some fantastic meals). Bear in mind though, that Carla and her husband lives on the property. This is a bed and breakfast in the real sense of the term. I would highly recommend this place if you would like to experience the incredible warmth that staying with a Tuscan family provides. Till next time, Mama Carla. :)

Room Tip: Try to book the one with the attached bathroom. She offers a cooking lesson which is fantastic if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnweshaBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Caola is wonderful host. She has great hospitality and is great cook. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The room was decorated with antique furniture. You can feel like being real local here. I was so happy to stay here. Definitely will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sooyoung K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Carla and family are amazing! Although we only stayed for one night (we had arrived a day early for a prebooked trip and needed a place for the night) we were made to feel like family as soon as we arrived and our hosts were incredibly warm, welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. We had the pleasure of joining the family for an authentic, home-made, Tuscan dinner which was outstanding due to the delicious food, terrific organic wine, and, of course, the fantastic company! Carla, daughter Elisabetta, and son Alberto are incredibly knowledgeable about Firenze, art and culture, and food and wine, and were happy to share it all with us. They were also equally interested in the countries and cultures of their guests so conversation was always flowing. After dinner, Alberto convinced us to indulge in some digestifs as he went over a map of the city with us, marking down points of interest and recommendations for food. These recommendations were very very helpful during our trip! Since we had a full day event planned early the next morning, Carla very graciously allowed us to leave our luggage there during the day. We were reluctant to leave B&B Leonardo da Vinci and wished that we had not prepaid for the remainder of our stay elsewhere so that we could stay with Mama Carla! Even as we were leaving, Carla and Elisabetta insisted that we call/e-mail them if we run into any issues in Firenze - again amazing us with their incredible hospitality!

Grazie to Carla and family for a wonderful introduction to Firenze!

All the best,

Angela and Jordan

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagourd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Leonardo DaVinci B&B with Carla, her husband and two children. I booked this B&B on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews, and feel so grateful that Carla had space for us. Every day she and/or her adult children (Elizasabetta and Alberto) helped us craft an itinerary geared to our family's interests. Their knowledge of museums, history, art, and culture was tremendous, and so we also looked forward to chatting with them each evening about our observations as we made our way around Florence. They also recommended good, moderately-priced restaurants for us. The breakfast was generous, with boiled eggs, different pastries each morning, several different kinds of jams, fresh fruit salad, juice and spectacular coffee, in endless quantities. We loved the B&B location. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the historic city center. We never even used the bus. The B&B offered the benefits of closeness to all sites, but without all of the tourist hubbub. A neighborhood restaurant one block from the B&B was a locals-only place with great food. We ate there several evenings, trying a variety of local specialties. Our favorite meal was the one that I helped prepare with Carla. I use the term "help" loosely, since, in fact -- while Carla was willing for me to pitch in as much as I wanted -- I spent many of those hours gabbing with Elisabetta who had come to help. Carla easily modified the menu to accommodate one of our daughter's who is a vegetarian. (We made tuscan soup, a baked fish pate, dead grilled rabbit. At the last minute, Carla ran back to the kitchen to whip us some special vegetarian crostini for my daughter. Dessert was several Italian cheeses, pears, biscotti with dessert wines. One thing that distinguishes Carla's tuscan meal (which you can order whether or not you do the cooking class) is that she and her children join you for the leisurely dinner. It was a wonderful way to relax with the family. Seeing my excitement with Italian coffee, Carla presented me with a pound of it as a gift upon our departure. She got up with us at 4:30 in the morning to make us coffee and to put our bags in the cab. We arrived home, homesick for Carla, Elisabetta and Alberto, our home-away-from-home in Florence.

Room Tip: The green room has a private bath. It is also the quieter of the guest rooms since it overlooks a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalindanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We booked through AirBnB.com. This is a TRUE Bed & Breakfast, not to be compared with others listed in this category which are hotels offering breakfast. Though we stayed only one night, we had a lifetime of experience with Carla, her daughter Elisabetta and her son Alberto. Carla communicated well before booking, has a good command of English and provided us with good directions to get to her place (which is an easy 10 minute bus ride from the main train station Santa Maria Novella). Her home is traditional Florentine and decorated with native furniture. We appreciated her spacious room with private full bath - it was very homey. She also provided us with a key to lock the room so we felt secure with our things. She provided good instructions for us to roam around town, our interests being shopping at the local markets which Florence is famous for. We were happy to be able to book a cooking class (advertised at 50 euros per person including the full meal) with her, which is authentic Tuscany home cooking and by far more reasonably priced than many you find online at more commercialized cooking schools. We prepared 'Dead Brilled Rabbit on the table', Chicken liver crustini, Papa col Pomodoro, anchovy/onion appetizer, and enjoyed red Tuscany wine and tasted various dessert liquors prepared by local monastaries, not found anywhere else. It's truly an experience you won't find in any hotels or cooking schools locally. As part of the B & B, she served a full breakfast with boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries and coffee. Her location is convenient to several bus lines, safe and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there, though short. A stay at Leonardo da Vinci B & B will enhance your Florence and Tuscany trip!

Room Tip: Great B&B with Tuscany Cooking class available at only 50 euros including your dinner meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuntgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast a little over a year and 1/2 ago (May 2010) while on our European tour. We had originally booked the "White Bedroom", however, she informed us that we were the only ones staying during that time, so she upgraded us to the "Green Bedroom" at no extra charge. We spent 4 days/3 nights in this wonderfully located b&b and on our last night, we asked if she could make us dinner. Superb!! There is nothing better than an authentic Italian meal by such a wonderful host. Also at dinner, she suggested that we take the bus to Fiesole to see an Etruscan town. (You can even see an old road that once lead to Rome) this is a must see at night! It overlooks the city of Florence and it's nice to get out of the hustle and bustle of Florence. While there, we stopped to have an Espresso at a wonderful place that overlooked the city. (I cannot remember the name). After, we decided to have a few drinks at the local bar, which felt more like an Irish Pub; warm and cozy on a cool evening.

While there, she also suggested that we eat at Perseus to have another authentic Florentine meal. If you love steak/beef this is the place to go. A little word of warning, the Steak Florentine is browned on the outside and RARE on the inside. They drizzle a little olive oil on top and salt and pepper and that's it. We were surprised by how rare it was, but it was actually quite delicious and we really felt like the locals.

Room: We had our own bathroom attached to the room and a large window that let in the warm sunlight in the morning. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but it suited our needs perfectly. We had our own set of keys so that we could come and go as we wanted.


Location: We walked and we used public transportation to get around and the b&b is centrally located to everything. We took a bus to Piazzale Michelangelo which is on the other side of the Arno river. Again, you can see Il Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio from this high vantage point. We walked down a ramp and were able to see La Spiaggia di San Niccolo (Torre San Niccolo) and there are some beautiful fountains there.


I should also mention that while we were there, they had a Gelato festival in Piazza del Duomo, which was refreshing on a hot day. If you plan to go in May, definitely try and do that.

Carla is an absolute delight and we have vowed to come back and stay in her home again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I spent three nights at this bed and breakfast in Florence. It is in a quiet neighborhood, a convenient bus ride or a healthy (20 minute) walk to the Duomo and other famous locations. The breakfast was great, the room was a good size with a comfortable bed. We cannot say enough good things about Carla and her family. Getting to know them may have been one of the most enjoyable things about our very enjoyable visit to Florence.
Note that there is no loft and you are sharing the bath, if either of those are important to you.

Room Tip: It is not a hotel so choice of rooms is not significant. You are staying in someone else's home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touring24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#153 of 411 in Florence
2,086 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,917 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 333 in Florence
2,602 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Leonardo da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Leonardo da Vinci

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 13, 50132, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #478 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing