We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ghiotta

La Ghiotta
Ranked #612 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

My family ate there on a Sunday at lunchtime. They had a buffet out when we walked in but we had no idea the price so we decided to order from the menu. While the food was priced well, I had a suspicion that everything was purchased and reheated except for maybe the bread. This suspicion was confirmed when they asked my daughter to move so that one of the staff could bring up a big package of pre-made tortellini to fulfill my other daughter's order. It was like the package of Buitoni that I buy at the market, but larger. The food was just ok. The service was not good. The servers seemed to be at odds with one another that day, as there was a lot of bickering and eye-rolling. We spent about 35E for a lunch for 4. Also? They don't make pizza until nighttime, just in case that's what you're in the mood for.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiPigFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    84
    25
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“La Ghiotta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Gee, what a gem. Great local fare, with a price that makes you feel like you are not paying enough. We found this place by chance, and i have to say was not disappointed. Local restaurant, not many tourists, manly locals, and why would they not go! 3 course meal, with wine, 16.50 Euro. Very good value in my book. Who cares if the waiter is not fussing over you, for this price what do you expect??? Just go

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank trotter101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We loved this place, it's menu and good wine at a good price. We tried various other restuarants (less and more expensive) that were also very good but, we kept coming back here. The menu is all in Italian but, with help from very friendly staff that speak English we managed to eat very good Italian food and experiment a little.

It's on a pedestrianised road with a great atmosphere. Nice bars and cafes nearby too. A littel antique market in a near by plaza made it an interesting place to visit and it felt a little off the tourist traps/track.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkxMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic, cheap, no frills!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is no fancy restaurant however it is, I assume, more representative of normal eating habits than many tourist oriented restaurants. It's a family oriented place (with babies being taken behind the bar to watch the pizza making process and pet dogs sitting on stools at the bar) that prides itself on pastas and pizzas (only at night). For anyone on a budget, two pizzas, two beers, one green salad and two big bottles of water cost us 20.50 € The two pizzas could have been stretched to feed 3! We ate simple but very tasty fresh food here and wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bcnfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Good food, bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

I decided to take my husband to this place despite the fact that a good friend warned me that the food was good, but the service is bad. After living in Italy or 2.5 years you get used to bad service but the service at the Ghiotta was ridiculous, they literally took away my husband plate after they serve it to give the dish to other client without even apologizing. If you are masochistic, and enjoyed being mistreated then this is the place for you.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rubicito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ghiotta also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Ghiotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing