We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunchbreak!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Santino

Il Santino
Ranked #437 of 2,676 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great lunchbreak!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Has only 5 tables and a bar. We could have a meal but we preferred to try everything from mozzarella, prosciutto, olives and great italian wines. The guy with the beard behind the bar was exceptional, very helpful and understood exactly what kind of wine we like! One of our best lunches in Florence!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ssylvia_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    109
    21
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Il santino”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great place. May be a little too tiny, only 4 (little) tables a couple of bar stools. No inscription, so be careful and don't miss the entrance :)))))))
Great place for different occasion (been there with friends and also for a romantic evening). Great wine and good food. The price is in a medium-high range, no reservations allowed and be ready to want a bit for a seat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadejda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
347 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“a little gem for a casual and delicious lunch”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Inconspicuous hole in the wall with a sticky door, once you force your way in you sit at one of the four small wooden tables or on an iron stool at the bar and take your pick from the daily specials (cooked next door and heated up here) or the numerous cured meats and cheeses on display. There are many wines to choose from and we liked ours so much (organic Trebbino) that we asked to buy a bottle, which the waitress fetched from next door.
The atmosphere is intimate and relaxed and we enjoyed the food very much (gooey onion soup bursting with flavour for starters, very tasty meatballs and baccalà for seconds, all under EUR10).
The decor is very rustic, service provided by one person but still efficient both waiting on tables and preparing take-out sandwiches for regulars, and we could have sat there for ages soaking it all in. I hope they never remodel or gentrify this place, it's perfect as it is.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Intimate and warm bar and restaurant”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

we walked by and had to stop to look into the restaurant. it is like you are having your wine and ham & cheese in your kitchen. Waiter and managers are very helpful by trying to recommend you. Good wine great ham. try it out!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanachart R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“An escape for gourmands”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Tiny little place in the heart of the city, few meters always from his elder brother, it is a real oasis where to sit for a delicious authentic local food and a glass of wine.
Everything from meat to cheese is so authentic and delicious...few seats just to make the place more "private" and more intimate, more familiar.
I do strongly recommend to everybody...me included...since I have a stop here every time I'm in town

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Santino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Santino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing