We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Cheap and Local” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria il Contadino

Trattoria il Contadino
Ranked #239 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good, Cheap and Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Two courses and a drink (bottled water or wine) for an extremely modest price. Sitting next to locals and tourists. It couldn't get better. Worth the search (a little out of the way). Highly recommended - don't expect a fancy environment but do expect a good and inexpensive meal. Food was very good.

Helpful?
Thank WNDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    586
    128
    57
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great experience and great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Closed weekends. Very busy when we arrived. Cheap, set menue of 2 courses and wine for ?13.5. Staff spoke good English and helped us through the options. Good sized portions. Great food which I guess you would say was like a home cooked meal.

Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This restaurant must be one of Florence's hidden gastronomic gems. The menu is fixed price (starter, main and a couple of tumblers of house wine) for 13.50 euro. Puds are extra approx. 3.50 euro.Menu selection is good. Quality of food and service excellent. By having a fixed price menu food is served quickly and there is no long hanging around for the bill afterwards.I had rabbit stew as a starter followed by calamari. My wife also had the rabbit followed by beef stew. We even had room for puds - we had the tiramisu (like a previous reviewer) and strawberries and lemon juice ( a brilliant combination). Everything was delicious. This restaurant is so popular and such good value that people were willing to queue for a table. However given the fast turn round you should not have to wait too long.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5leggedspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find - right near hotel/guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I started reading others reviews and my husband said just say "ditto"
We actually got the tiramisu for dessert after the 3 course meal.
It was well worth it. We did go early before they had everything available
but before the crowds.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Feast in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here on our first night in Florence. The whole experience was fantastic, we arrived with an overtired lively two year old. The staff were great, welcoming and friendly and very understanding with our lack of Italian. The fixed menu is great, and my rabbit was the best meal I had in a week in Italy. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scamp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria il Contadino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria il Contadino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing