We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Much to See” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piazza Santo Spirito

Piazza Santo Spirito
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.37*
and up
Florence Sunset Wine Tour
Ranked #43 of 425 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This unique Florentine piazza is the center of the artisan quarter. Dominated by the last masterpiece of Brunelleschi, the Basilica of Santo Spirito, the square is home to little local markets and antique fairs.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,462 reviews
3,088 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,057 helpful votes
“Not Much to See”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The only thing worth seeing at the plaza is the Church of Santo Spirito. This church has a wooden crucifix that Michelangelo made when he was only 18 years old. The figure of Christ is nude, which shocked many people when it was discovered in 1962.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    124
    45
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In the 'hood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you are visiting Florence for several days, be sure to make it across the Arno to this square. Lots of restaurant choices, a daily market of food, clothes, and other items.

While you are here see an original work by Michaelangelo at the Santo Spirito church.

It is a bit of a youthful hangout at night but also has a greater mix of local folks of all ages going about their daily lives.

Just a few blocks from the Ponte Vecchio but a world of difference from the more frequented historical district.

If you plan to stay in this vicinity, learn a few basic phrases in Italian. It will be much appreciated by the local shopkeepers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank illibuck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best spot to be if you want to avoid touristy areas..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had researched quite a bit before we took our first anniversary trip to Italy. The hubby and I wanted to stay in a more local area, where we could enjoy local food/wine/crowds and avoid the tourist traps. This was the best place to stay in Firenze. we are sooo glad we stayed in Santo Spirito, we were right around the corner from the square and it was just awesome. We hung out with locals, had amazing food and it was so lively everyday. During the days there were markets in the square and the evenings were packed with locals at the bars and restaurants, it was a wonderful experience and just what we wanted.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Reena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, N.Y.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Time for a drink!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This area is full of bars and small restaurants that are perfect for appertivo, the local version of happy hour. Take a seat at an outdoor table & watch people go by while drinking an Aperol Spritz. Great way to end the afternoon's sight seeing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveRBrooklyn_N_Y_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful leafy piazza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A wonderful rest spot on a warm day, with leafy trees and an airy space. Lovely coffee spots line the edges of the square, and interesting markets make it a very pleasant vista. Just a short stroll from Pont Vecchio.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank I_love_Drumnadrochit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Santo Spirito also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Piazza Santo Spirito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing