We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Deposit, Manager Deleted my Negative Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Aria della Ripa
Ranked #102 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I posted a negative review of this hotel/residence from my experience January 2012, and my previous posting was deleted.

I paid a deposit 6+ weeks prior to arrival for a 3 month stay in a specific shared apartment. These residences are advertised as housing for Polimoda, but in fact they are not associated with the school. My room became unavailable one week prior to arrival, and I was told I would be put temporarily into a room in a different building and then switched to a different apartment in another. I was not happy about moving twice, nor about losing the apartment for which I'd paid a deposit. When I asked for my deposit back or to choose my apartment for the whole period, I was denied, so I walked away losing my deposit.

I went to see both apartments, which were poorly maintained and badly furnished. I am happy I did not stay there, as there are much nicer and less expensive housing options in Florence.

I have had a horrible experience dealing with the manager, and have continuously received berating emails instead of a resolution.

Two stars because the location is unbeatable :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank jbkld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crisluzi, Proprietario at Palazzo Aria della Ripa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Jessica I remember you very well: you reserved one bedroom in a shared apartment, but in the realty you didnt want to stay with anybody else, you would live on yourself in an apartment, pretending to pay just for one bedroom! I understand you, but it is not possible, I'm sorry!
Nobody changed you the bedroom, because you pretended to cancell your reservation before coming and pretended to not loose even the deposit!
I had to find somebody else who could substitute you in the bedroom that you didnt want to rent anymore, and it was not easy and the property lost 2 months of rent. In addition you pretendet to have the deposit of reservation, back. Dont you think it is too much?
I have no words for this behaviour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We (2 couples) stayed at the apartment overlooking the Arno. The apartment is 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We found it to be very comfortable for the 4 of us and the terrace was wonderful. The location is great in that it is convenient to central Florence but enough out of the way to be quiet. Maria was very helpful and made the check in process easy.

There are a few items that were not supplied that would have made the stay better (toilet paper, dish soap, dishwasher soap, laundry soap, clean dish cloths and towels). Also, I feel the apartment was overpriced but I think one is paying for the view.

Still, overall, our stay was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Definitely do not recommend this place, because of the following facts:
1. We paid half of our trip via Internet with a credit card and landlord charged us for the commision that credit card operater took from her, and she did not mention that before (she charged my credit card for more money then I gave the approval!)
2. After we came to the apartment, she told us that half of the money paid througt the internet is a deposit - for the apartment - by the way which looks 5 times worse than on pictures!!
3. She charged us for city taxes (32 Euro) which she did not have to pay since she did not took our passports or any other information and we were not registered anywhere;
4. We payed 20 Euro daily for parking and she called us every day at least once to move the car so someone else could go out. On first of january when we came back in front of our doors somebody parked his car, so we couldn't park our car on 20 EUR parking;
5. She charged us 5 Euro daily for wi-fi (who else nowadays charges for the wi-fi??);
6. The apartment is ugly and very, very dirty!
7. Even though it is said tat the air conditioning is included - the lady came into our apartment while we were out and took us the remote control so we could not switch it on!
8. We were 8 and we got only 1/2 role of toilet paper, and when we asked for more she told us that it is not a hotel room but the apartment and that she does not have to provide us anything else and that all the shops were open so we can go and buy anything we need!

Do not go to that residence! Florence has so many beautiful places to stay, places that are worth your money!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lusi_mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crisluzi, Proprietario at Palazzo Aria della Ripa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Also in this case I think that the should is of the agencies and of the portals that publish false informations: the apartment is not an hotel and could not have hotel's services!
I never told this is an hotel, this is an apartment in self catering and each guest has to provide on his self reguarding the cleaning, the meals, the shopping in the stores, the toilet papers, etc.
May be the agency through whome this cleint reserved gave him completely false information, but he has to complaine everything with the agency and not with me.
Reguarding the payment of teh rent and of the extras, in thsi case the rent was payed by the agency and I dont know anything about what the agency debit or not. reguarding the extras, it is very well specifeited that: private parking costs E 20 per car per day, internet wireless costs E 5 per day and extra bedlinens and towels on request E 10 per person.
I dont understand the complaining, really.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Hi, my friends and I stayed at this apartment while in Florence and it was very disappointing. We were robbed and when we tried to get help from the Landlord Maria, she was very unhelpful and did not care. Our water tank also broke and she was upset with us for it, asking if we jumped on it :S At the end she didn't even try to refund us what we lost and instead charged us an extra $50.00 for arriving later than we told her (even though we emailed her twice letting her know our train was delayed). If anything good comes from my experience its helping other people not get robbed! DO NOT GO! It may be cheaper but trust me, it is not worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lisha_m26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crisluzi, Proprietario at Palazzo Aria della Ripa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

They are complaining because they were robbed.... I did not understand when and if it was the thruth. I suppose yes, but what could I do? I suggested them to go to the police here in the nighburn, but more than this, I could do anything else.
I rented them an apartment and I was not living with them! I suppose they invitated a lot of friends, because they were young and they were staying for a period.
But how could I know what did it happen?
Reguarding the brackage of furnishing, the demage deposit is requested right for this sort of problems!
I can understand they were disappointed for the bad experience, but it has nothing to do with me and with the apartment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggungoruggeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le Suites sui Lungarni sono veramente top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank viajargitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
Thank Paola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,958 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,110 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#38 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Aria della Ripa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Aria della Ripa

Address: Lungarno Amerigo Vespucci 30, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $216 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Branca Aria della Ripa Palace is an historic residence dating back to the second half of the nineteenth century. It is situated in one of the most prestigious districts of Florence in front of the Arno river. Only 10 minutes walk from the Duomo and the Old Bridge , 5 minutes walk from the main train station - Santa Maria Novella, and 15 minutes walk far from the Fortezza Da Basso, one the most well known locations for exhibitions held in the city.The Palace was a private owned residence until very recently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Aria della Ripa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing