We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay there again!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Veronique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Veronique
Ranked #367 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would not stay there again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was quite an unpleaseant stay. We travelled on a group of 5 people for 2 nights, we just needed a place to keep our bags during the day and to sleep in the evening.
The first night was awful: the matress was unbelievably soft (not on a good way), each bed had only ONE sheet to cover both your matress and yourself, can you imagine that? It was very cold, the heating system almost didn't work and they didn't give you any blankets, you only had a cover besides that one sheet.
It was incredibly noisy during all day. At night you could hear everything as the walls were literally paper thin: you could hear machines cleaning the streets, cars honking, people screaming and talking (and our room was on the forth floor!). Also, you should know that there is a bell on the street that does you the favor of waking you up every hour, so you can only sleep from midnight to 5.a.m, then the bell rings every hour (including 5a.m).

To go to our room, on the forth floor, we had to go up on a tiny elevator that only worked with a key and only 4 people could fit there. Also, we were only given one set of keys for all 5 people.

About the bathroom: they were 2 bathrooms on our floor, one of them was average, a bit small, the hair dryer worked poorly. The other bathroom was a problem because the hair dryer didn't work at all, there was no shower curtain so the floor was a mess after someone took a shower and the flush didn't work right. The water pressure was not good on either bathrooms. Also, I believe that they didn't cleaned the bathrooms during our stay there, because it was always somehow dirty.

They also tried to charge us 3€ for each bathing towel, when on the site clearly said that it was free, so don't let yourself be fooled, if on your booking site it says that is free, ask the reception guy to check it.
When we arrived there, we had to pay the whole stay and they only accepted cash, so we had to go to an ATM to withdraw money.
Keep in mind that the city tax (1€ per person per night) is not included on the total price.

The only advantage is the location. The hostel is located on the historical center of Florence, so you can get to the main train station of Florence (Santa Maria Novella) or Ponte Vecchio in less than 10min by foot.

Room Tip: Definitely do not stay on the first room turning right on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marianneA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    25
    26
    24
See reviews for
8
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

SO convenient to everything. Right in the bustle of it all. Very nice room and best bathrooms of our whole trip. Big towels, friendly receptionist who worked very hard to help us despite the language barrier. Funny entry way that looks dark and like it couldn't possibly be where your hostel is, but then beautiful space once you get to the rooms-which are just another apartment in the building. Loved it.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vermonter57282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We spent two nights in hostel Veronique. This place is really good choice for tight budget tour. That's not a typical hostel, it looks rather like a flat with private rooms rented. Veronique is situated really centrally, close to Piazza della Republica and Ponte Vechcio, next to all Florence's attractions! Via Porta Rossa, where hostel Veronique is, looks really pretty and adorable.

Another good point of this hostel is price. Only drawbacks are old and a little bit messy bathrooms and so poor decoration of rooms, but you can forgive that after sight seeing around Florence!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marceli_7665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

It was amazingly located, near to everything, though Florence is really small and you can walk to anywhere important to see, but still this location is absolutely the best the could be, 2 blocks away from anything you might wanna see.

The hotel is not that clean but resistible and the rooms are not comfortable, but it is nice for a short budget stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camipot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

It is true, there are mosquitoes on the walls. But for this price no other hostel/hotel made it close and from that point of view well worth the stay. Woalking distance from the Duomo and most other attractions of Florence.
Be advised to clearly state your time of arrival (if possible call ahead) as it is run by family with no extra help and they are not always available to let you in at the building entrance! Did see some poor souls face this on arrival...
Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellersimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Great location. That was about it. If you're looking for an adequate place to stay then this was fine. The room had dead mosquitoes all over the walls. We were out of the room most of the day but it was very hot when we tried to sleep. Definitely what I would call average.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smantha329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
poway CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

I mentioned to the gentlemen when we checked out that all four of us
were bit by bugs. We stayed in two separate rooms and my sons found
baby spiders in their sheets. I showed him that I was bit on my palm which
would be impossible for a mosquito but a flea perhaps. I had three bites
in a row on the palm of my hand. He said no one else complained but we stayed
three nights so it was obvious to us that the bites happened there.
The location is perfect but... if he won't take care of the bugs????

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poway17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Masaccio
#272 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#348 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#264 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#166 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Veronique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Veronique

Property: Hostel Veronique
Address: Via Porta Rossa 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Veronique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing