We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!!!”
Review of B&B Repubblica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Repubblica
Ranked #184 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When looking for a hotel, we were looking for a good location. 

Room: I believe we had room #6, it was at the end of the hallway. Very simple but clean with window, no view. Older building, there was a smell in the room at night time. We were guessing it must be from garbage bins or something below. Both the bathroom and room very clean. Wifi signal was weak. 
Location: the location could not get any better than this!!! 
Breakfast: there was a lot of variety which was nice. However, if you are getting up early, they may not have it ready to go. We experienced that when we had an early tour scheduled. 
Staff: was nice and helpful. They responded to my emails with any questions i had before we got there. Let me print out tour vouchers that we needed for the next day. 

Good value for location. Would stay again maybe in a different room. 

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 187 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at this B&B in October and we were not disappointed. Very centrally located to The Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and all the galleries and museums. We had a great view of the piazza from our balcony, the room was comfortable for a triple share, the bathroom was small but the shower cubicle was tiny. The continental breakfast was generous by European standards with a help yourself coffee machine. Chiara was most helpful with recommendations for restaurants, sightseeing and booking of train tickets. Thank you Chiara for sharing your personal favourites. We had a wonderful stay in Florence and will definitely be back...our favourite Italian city!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beltana01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our visit started really well with a delightful welcome from Chiara who also provided great advice on where to eat. Our room was spacious with a dear little balcony. Breakfast was simple and tasty and served by the lovely Anka.
The B&B is located on a busy piazza and despite the double-glazing, the street noise was a problem. So were the mosquitoes so make sure you bring some repellant.
There is a new owner, Rocco, who did not introduce himself nor enquire about our comfort or needs. He was put out when we asked if we could have a coffee during the day, although other staff advised there was no problem with this. Later that day we came back to find our room door wide open! Rocco said there were men working in the room but we saw no one. Rather off-putting!
The location is great - easy walking distance to the Duomo and Uffizi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Ours was Room 7, a quad (two singles downstairs and two on the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at this B&B earlier this month. I was very happy with the location and the actual triple share room we had. Nice decor and our teenage son had a loft bedroom above us which he loved. Also they had tv with english channels (which is great after a month in a non-english speaking country). Breakfast was average but adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the B&B for 2 nights, it was adorable, our room overlooked one of the main streets of florence, it was really comfortable and not at all noisy at night. Breakfast was small - cereal with croissants and coffee or yoghurt, however it was really good. The B&B was in a great location in one of the big Piazzas that was quite touristy but was in close proximity to Gallery Ufizzi, the Doumo and other nice areas. The staff deserve a special mention as the lady who helped us check -in was very helpful, warm, friendly and down to earth. She gave great advice on where to eat and places to see. Nothing was ever a problem.
The only down side was that we only stayed there for 2 nights. We cant wait to come and stay there again!

Room Tip: Stay in room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earthytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The rooms are exactly as shown on the internet site. The bathroom is very small - one person at a time. Towels are changed everyday. The room is well cleaned. The bed was very comfortable.There is a small balcony with a table & 2 chairs to sit outdoors. The Hosts have a charming breakfast room with a great coffee machine that you are allowed to help yourself to all day. Breakfast is of European standard. It was very hot when we visited and the fridge was useless.You literally walk out the building door and you are on a Piazza with several restaurants and surrounded by fashion shops. You can walk to everything. Located on the 2nd. floor there is a small lift to take you up and down. The hosts speak english and will help you all they can. As with all of Italy you are not offered any information, you need to know what you want to do and ask about it, nothing volunteered.

Room Tip: They all have double glazing and were pretty good for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed at B&B Repubblica for two nights whilst visiting Florence. The B&B has an excellent location with a 5 min walk to lots of sights such as the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio and San Lorenzo Leather Market. Also the perfect place for shopping addicts with high street and designer stores everywhere you look around the hotel.

The rooms are comfortable and even the smallest doesn't feel uncomfortable despite a large double bed, wardrobe, table and bedside tables. All have free wifi access, sky TV and importantly air con (it was 40 deg.C in August). Bathrooms are compact but clean and with a good shower. They look as they do in the photos! You are in the centre of Florence though so expect some gentle noise from outside until late (I had no problems sleeping).

The breakfast room is very cute with just a few tables and chairs and a view of the piazza. Breakfast is simple; juice, tea and coffee, cereals, croissants, bread, preserves, fruit and yoghurt. They also allow you to use the tea and coffee machine (nice coffee) during the day for free, although at one point they had hidden the coffee and didn't seem pleased when I asked for it (hence the drop in service score).

There are lots of restaurants nearby, the ones in the piazza are OK but very busy and the food in the one I visited was a little plain. Venture a bit further and you'll find lots!

Overall very good for the price considering the location.

Room Tip: I would avoid room 6 personally as this looks over a grubby courtyard and is quite dark. Room 1 is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CautiouslyOptimistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#52 of 410 in Florence
478 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#35 of 410 in Florence
2,096 reviews
Duomo
Antico Centro Suites
Antico Centro Suites
#102 of 661 in Florence
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residenza Castiglioni
Residenza Castiglioni
#33 of 661 in Florence
359 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#10 of 661 in Florence
1,019 reviews
Duomo
Prestigia Rooms
Prestigia Rooms
#241 of 661 in Florence
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Repubblica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Repubblica

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $105 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Repubblica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Repubblica Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing