We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great food!”
Review of In Tavola

In Tavola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Association In Tavola aims to spread the Italian food and wine-rich regional culinary traditions, such as those of Tuscany, with its incredible variety of dishes and recipes. With the intent to promote this knowledge, the association organizes cooking classes with professional groups or individual lessons
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great value and great food!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The cooking school was well priced for the tuition and food you receive. The chefs were personable and friendly and had a good knowledge of the cooking processes. However, I would have liked to learn more about the regional food of Tuscany and the recipe choices. The class size and ratio of chefs to participants was good and the food was delicious. Would I recommend? Yes! It was a good night, a great opportunity to meet new people and lots of fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shellyanne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    26
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Italiano vero”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We planned this class as a family quality time, something fun for all of us, including our 17-year old son. And it worked! We took the 3-course "Easy dinner" class that included GNUDI di ricotta e spinaci, baked vegeterian CANNELONI and BISCOTTI di prato. There were seven of us between the two stations and Alessandro, our chef/instructor, an unforgettable character, was busy running between these stations giving instructions. A bit disorganized, it was still very enjoyable. After we were done cooking, we went downstairs to the wine cellar where tables were set for us and ate what we made enjoying a stimulating conversation with other participants. In accordance with Tuscan tradition, we ate our biscotti after the meal soaking them in a fortified wine called vin santo. Nice touch!
If you are looking for a professional, dry, academic learning cookery class - this may not be it. To us, though, it was ajust what we needed: an off-beaten track, fun activity that included great food we made ourselves (well, kind of) paired with a nice wine after a busy day filled with a "serious" Florentine art and culture exploring.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaLasovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
528 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Best thing I did in Florence”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I loved this class! I took the 4 course dinner which consists of farmers chicken, Tiramisu, crepes with bechamel sauce and spelt salad with mirror cannellini beans. Upon arrival all the stations were set up and ready to go. The kitchen is very clean and everything runs very smooth and effeciently. All the chefs are fun and entertaining. The food is extremely delicious, better than a restraunt. Every one got hands on while preparing dinner. Chef Allsandro is fantastic, helpful, fun & entertaining. He cleans up after you, always keeping up with the dishes, supplying new supplies and always having a fun positive attitude. When you are finished cooking you go down to the wine cellar and the chefs serve you your dinner that you made with complmentary wine. When I go back I am going to take the pasta course. This is perfect because class starts after all the museums and everything closes and you get an excellent dinner too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank World-wander-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AN ABSOLUTE MUST-DO!!!!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The staff at In Tavolo made this experience so much more than we could have ever hoped for!! We learned, we cooked, we laughed so hard, we drank good wine and we met great people. The staff was so warm and welcoming and made us laugh every time we attempted a new technique. A MUST-DO for anyone who likes anything to do with the kitchen!!

Helpful?
Thank Whitney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mangia Mangia!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I booked this evening class for my wife (she's the best cook among our circle of family and friends), thinking I would tag along and take pictures...boy was I mistaken!! We were assigned to a work station with another couple (the entire class consisted of 11 people of varying ages). We started by making individual tiramusus, then moved on to making gnocchi, cup-cake shaped bruschetta appetizers wrapped in zucchini, chicken with rosemary and mushrooms, and ragu sauce. More than two hours later, we went down to the wine cellar while the chef plated the courses and brought everything down to us. My wife liked this class so much she has prepared the whole meal, in part or all of it, for different dinner guests in our home, and both times we have had audible gasps of praise and thanks. Needless to say, we LOVED this class and highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wher2next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Tavola also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to In Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing