We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week in this palazzo. The apartment was clean, well appointed and thick with history. It's in a fantastic location across the Arno from the historic city center which is only minutes away on foot. Coffee, good food and pastries are in abundance within very easy walking distance. We recommend Casalinga for home cooked pasta. It's about a 5 minute walk.

We were greeted very warmly and timely by Federico who provided wonderful service prior to and during our stay. This meant a lot to us as this was our first trip to Florence, and we are not seasoned travelers. We were taken care of, and this made a big difference to us. Thank you Federico!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Florence and the service of Federico. The street noise did get loud at times, but we are used to quiet so it may not bother others.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMG_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoBelfiore, Proprietario at Residence Palazzo Belfiore, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guests,
I thank you very much for your words on our Palazzo and our service level and Federico.

As you may know we are a new management from some months and are trying to make our best to make our guests feel at home.

I really appreciate your review and I hope to host you soon again and have the opportunity to greet you personally.

Kind regards
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 349 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

If it's 14th Century history your looking for look no further
These apartments are in a truly wonderful location within probably one of the most romantic cities in the world
The apartments are tastefully furnished in true to its history styling we were in No3 apartment Clarice and loved the feeling inside
The beds were very comfortable and with TV and wifi nothing much was lacking
For the rates if you want a nice comfortable and historic apartment this family accommodation will fit the bill
Situated very close ( 300 meters )to the Pitti Palace and the Ponti Vecchio bridge you are with a stones throw of all Florence has to offer
Nearby cafés, bars and restaurants are all very good and substantially cheaper than the main tourist areas across the river
If it's Florence and you want apartments look no further than Palazzo Belfiore

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smax307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoBelfiore, Direttore at Residence Palazzo Belfiore, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Hello and many thanks for the nice words you had for Palazzo Belfiore.
It was a true pleasure having you in Florence and at our Palazzo and I really hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again so that you and your wife can discover the area of Diladdarno better and better with its peculiarity of real life.
Please feel free to contact us again whenever you decide to come to Florence.
My very best regards
Federico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a recent long weekend staying here, it was great. The location is perfect - a quieter area of town with far less tourists, full of lovely restaurants and cafes (and a handy local supermarket), and you're still only minutes walk away from all the sights north of the Arno. There's a small plaza behind the apartments that had live jazz 3 out of the 4 nights we were there - not a problem for us (we were down there watching it!), but maybe pack earplugs.

Federico was great - he was very friendly and full of tips for our stay, and very swiftly attended to a problem with one of the showers (that turned out to be non existent).

The apartment itself was roomy, with everything we needed - perfect for kicking back after a long day walking. The only slight gripe I had was that bedroom 2 was actually the entrance hall to the apartment with a bed in it - not a problem for us at all, and I'm sure other apartments have different layouts (and not knowing this was probably due to me not looking at the listing closely enough), but it's worth paying attention to which one you get if you're expecting two discrete bedrooms.
Definitely would stay here again, and will be recommending to friends/family. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoBelfiore, Proprietario at Residence Palazzo Belfiore, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Good evening Tom
Thanks for your comments and words on Palazzo Belfiore.
As Federico probably told you, we just took over the property and management of Palazzo Beflore.
We really appreciate your words which are very encouraging as we are doing our best to improve the structure and the services.
We hope to host you soon again and we thank you again for your nice review.
Kindest regards
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff tries to be friendly, but are rarely around. This is really a more "do-it-yourself," experience. There was a gas leak in our unit, which went on a few days...a water leak on our last day from a pipe...and the windows are single pane/old and not at all sound proof...the beds are very very hard...just not comfortable...great location, very budget-y...just make sure you are not looking for luxury...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuzzybear214me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoBelfiore, Proprietario at Residence Palazzo Belfiore, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your comments of your staying at our Palazzo, during July 2013.
We will definitely take this on board.
On the other side I'm glad to inform you that just during July we took over the property and the management, and already in these fees weeks we have made relevant changes and improvements in the building.
Also new additional people on board both on housekeeping and welcoming.
I really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and I recommend to book directly asking for me - Francesca.
Once more I want to apologise for e inconvenience which I'm pretty sure would not happen ever again.
Kindest regards
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The location of this beautiful 14th century family residence which has been tastefully converted into 7 self contained apartments is in a perfect location for exploring Florence and surrounds. You will find yourself living in the authentic Oltrarno area, and while only a five minute stroll south of the Ponte Vecchio bridge is remarkably free of tourists. If you want to be a "temporary local" this is the place to stay. There is a handy CONAD supermarket and lovely authentic and inexpensive Italian cafes nearby which are popular with the locals and come highly recommended on Tripadvisor. Each apartment has a washing machine and drying rack which was most welcome after three weeks travel in Italy. Iron and ironing board are available too. The beds were very comfortable and I can be fussy.

Daniela the manager who speaks excellent English and French as well as her native Italian, will tell you where to find the best restaurants and cafes and also make helpful suggestions about sightseeing. She is extremely helpful in every way, booked taxis for us and promptly attended to the WIFI not working.

For a great morning coffee and brioche, step out the front door, turn left then turn left into the first street around the building and you will be in a small square in one minute, facing a cute little cafe named "Caffe Degli Artigiani". €1,20 for cappuccino and other coffee if you drink it standing at the little bar with the locals or €2,00 per cup for table service. You will probably be the only tourist in the friendly little place. This cafe is also a cheery spot for a drink after dinner. Buy a glass, sit in the square, soak up the atmosphere and blend in with the locals.

I highly recommend Belfiore, however the owners need to attend to repairs and maintenance. While the 2 apartments we occupied were beautifully cleaned by the staff, the upholstery on sofas and lounges is overdue for cleaning and there was the feeling of a general lack of maintenance with various broken items such as window and door locks but don't let that put you off staying here. It is magic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happy Aussie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoBelfiore, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residence Palazzo Belfiore, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dears Emma and James,
It is always a pleasure for me to know people enjoy and appreciate Palazzo Belfiore and its charme.
As mentioned before next time you will be with us you will see all the improvements we intend to do .
I also thank you so much for your kindness and smiling!
All the Best,
Daniela
Palazzo Belfiore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently spent 7 days in Palazzo Belfiore and it was the perfect residence for our busy trip to Italy. It is centrally located (we walked everywhere) right by Ponte Vecchio and Palazzo Pitti but on a quiet neighborhood street. The apartment was a good size with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a common area/kitchen. It was clean and well decorated. We stayed in a hotel in Rome before coming to Florence and the apartment experience is vastly superior! I highly recommend it. We hit all the major tourist sites in Florence, took day trips to the Tuscan Vineyards, Venice, and Chinque Terre, ate and drank very well and it couldn't have been easier. The Manager, Daniela, is charming and helpful. The entire process, from booking to checking out, was easy, and pleasant. I hope you have a chance to have a great holiday in Florence. It is an incredible city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamC338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoBelfiore, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residence Palazzo Belfiore, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Adam,
thank you ! You are so nice ! Hopefully to welcome you again .
Best Wishes,
Daniela
Palazzo Belfiore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were married in the town square of Florence, Italy on May 4th, where we talked to from our apartments. Twelve of us travelled from the U.S. to Florence and stayed in 3 apartments at the most romantic Palazzo Belfiore for 5 nights. Staying in a 13th century palazzo made us feel like a part of history with the beautiful sights and sounds of Florence right outside our windows. Daniela, the manager, was a beautiful person - most accommodating, very patient and always concerned for our well being. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone stay here if you really want to immerse yourself in all that is Florence.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. My husband and I stayed in apartment #3 which was on the first floor. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoBelfiore, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residence Palazzo Belfiore, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Lisa,
thank you ! I am really glad to know you enjoyed so much your accommodation with us at Palazzo Belfiore .
Awaiting to welcome all of you again my felt congratulations for your special weddind and all the beautiful flowers !!
All the Best,
Daniela
Palazzo Belfiore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,325 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#7 of 410 in Florence
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,565 reviews
Forte16
#2 of 326 in Florence
503 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#3 of 326 in Florence
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Palazzo Belfiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Belfiore

Address: Via De' Velluti 8, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $132 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Palazzo Belfiore 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo BELFIORE, the residence of an ancient Fourteenth century family, is situated in Florence near the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, Palazzo Pitti, Boboli Gardens and Santo Spirito, in a quiet area in the city centre, in the heart of one of the traditional Florentine quarters rich in handicraft shops, antique shops and typical restaurants, an excellent starting point to visit the city but also to breathe the Renaissance atmosphere. All of the seven apartments of the palace have been recently restored and particular attention has been paid to architectural details and ancient furniture. Palazzo Belfiore is situated "diladdarno" on the other side of the Arno, in one of the most fascinating areas of the historic city centre of Florence (Piazza Pitti - Ponte Vecchio). A fantastic position just 3 minutes walk from Ponte Vecchio. In 5 minutes you can reach Palazzo Vecchio in Piazza della Signoria, in less than 10 minutes you can admire the Duomo! The heart of shopping is here: Via Calimala, Via Calzaiuoli, Via Tornabuoni, Via Roma, San Lorenzo. Food lovers will be spoilt for choice. Belfiore is close to many Trattorie and typical Restaurants which offer authentic Tuscan cuisine. Booking Belfiore means living in the heart of Florence. Everything is close at hand ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Palazzo Belfiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing