We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overall awesome stay here. Great location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florence Youth Hostel

Florence Youth Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Florence Youth Hostel
Save
You added Florence Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #170 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Florence
MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overall awesome stay here. Great location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Overall awesome stay here. Great location two blocks to duomo. Owners are local and young and very friendly, they helped give us dinner and going out recommendations - try il Latino restaurant for best florentine steak ever! Rooms are very clean with sink and mini fridge, clean shared shower right outside door. Would def stay here again!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

If you are travelling to Florence, then I would definitely recommend staying at Florence Youth Hostel!! It is perfectly located in the heart of Florence, close to all the must-see attractions and restaurants, it is super clean and tidy, but what makes this hostel better than the rest is the people who run it, they will go above and beyond to make your stay in Florence awesome!! A big thank you to Francesco and staff for making this our best hostel experience in Italy!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBkiwi_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Salonga, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

The hostel was nice overall. It wasnt anything special but it was accomodating. The maids cleaned my room daily and always were there for my needs if I needed extra towels or toliet paper. It was good to have computers there but they were a little out dated. I liked that we got free breakfast tickets each morning to go to the local bakery, that was always nice. The rooms were fine and they were air conditioned which made it better. Overall it was a good experience there

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batesk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Magdalena, the hostel represenative, made our stay very delightful. She was very pleasant and informative. She provided us with a list of delicious yet affordable restaurants to eat. She was very accomodating and quick to provide whatever hostel services we needed. Our bed was made daily and the room was cleaned each day.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rxxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

This a hostel environment but charging at a 2 stars rate. Room was acceptably clean, shared bathrooms are sometimes not really clean. For a hostel, they should have separate bathroom for lady and gents. I especially dislike the male manager there, he talked loudly and sometimes ordering guest around. They are lucky to have Mady cause she gave guides to guests of where to go for food and sight-seeing, friendly receptionist. The breakfast was a disaster. All guests including those from the other blocks will have breakfast at the same apartment. And you have to wait for your turn as there were only 7 seats for breakfast. If you miss it (from 8.30 to 9.30am), sorry there will be nothing for you. Meals were all serve in picnic plastic cups, plates, fork and knife. No hot water was served during the stay. So eat out would be the solution.
Euro60 for a double room per night would consider a 1 star hotel price, but you will be getting a budget hostel stay. Not worth. Worse thing is the hostel will lock-out from 10.30 to 2.30pm which means you cannot be in the room from these hours. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

I stayed in the Florence Youth Hostel for two nights in September 2008. The hostel has a great location. It is very near to the bus and train station as well as all the interesting and the must-see places in the town eg. The Duomo, Piazza della Signoria, Uffizi. The hostel has a very friendly and helpful staff. The hostel is small but nice and very clean. The snow-white linen and towels are changed every day. I stayed in a shared room. The room has 2 levels, one bunk bed and one single bed downstairs and two single beds upstairs. A clean ensuite bathroom with good working shower. No hair dryers.
I have been travelling a lot and I mostly have been staying in hostels. The cleanliness is the most important factor to me. From all these hostels I have stayed so far the Florence Youth Hostel is by far the best one.

  • Liked — cleanliness, good location
  • Disliked — no lounge or kitchen
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coconut_island
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Youth Hostel Firenze 2000
#514 of 624 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#14 of 276 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#12 of 276 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 Santi Hostel
#40 of 276 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#24 of 276 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#20 of 276 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Youth Hostel

Property: Florence Youth Hostel
Address: Via della Condotta 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Florence Youth Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing