We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Florence Youth Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$650
$631
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$278
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
$324
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$256
$200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$327
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$378
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$425
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
$188
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
21
16
10
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
16
10
5
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 55 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My sister and I visited Florence in the middle of a weeklong trip, and upon arriving at the hostel we found no one. Couldn't get in. We thought we'd been conned but after 15-ish minutes, a woman came up to me and asked if I was looking for the Florence Youth Hostel. It turns out they were remodeling the at Condotta 4 and we were actually staying at Condotta 3, and evidently they tried contacting me about check-in while I was Internet-less.

After that rough start, things were fine. Pack lightly because you'll be climbing quite a few stairs, but it's got a nice homey feeling, and the room was probably the biggest place I've stayed in abroad. Plus linens were free. The location is great for sightseeing — so close to the Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, Duomo, etc. — but beware as it is a 15-minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The only positive about this so called "youth hostel" was its location. apart from that everything else sucked. it was sooo expensive, you were kicked out from 10-2 every day, meaning you couldn't sleep in or come home for lunch. the manager was very rude and unhelpful, and the rooms were outdated and dirty.
Would not recommend. You will easily find better accommodation elsewhere for a cheaper and more fun experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Camilla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

First, let me mention the good. The location is good - very close to the duomo and other attractions. They had computers with WORKING internet (not very good, but good enough to book our next hostel). Check out apparently ends at 10PM (during booking we were told 24/7 - but when we emailed right after booking he said 10PM so that he was honest about), but the manager actually stayed until 11:30PM and waited for us to arrive (we had a 7 hour drive to florence). He did tell us a good place to park and get around with the car. This is where the good ends.
The manager was the rudest person on the planet. One of the girls in our group accidentally dropped her small mirror on the floor and it shattered. He came into the room and said we have to "get the hell out". It was 11PM and we had nowhere else to go. He insisted its his hostel and there is a priest living in the building and he wont put up with this (dropping a mirror?). After much pleading he agreed to let us sleep there for the night. He did threat us with throwing out items out the window and locking us out. Once he left, another person ran the front desk and they agreed to let us stay for an extra night if we are quiet.
Other bad stuff: 1 key for 4 people (caused lots of problems), 1 bathroom for... 15 people? and it was dirty with a window facing into someones apartment. Rooms were reasonably clean, but not safe and no A/C anywhere. Lockout from 12-2PM (cannot be inside the hostel at all). Additional charges on my credit cards after the trip. When I emailed the manager about it he told me "just split it with your friends". Utterly unprofessional all around I hope this man is driven out of business he has power trip issues. Later we found a wonderful hotel just a little bit farther from the city center at the same price...

Room Tip: No good rooms here
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jozef L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked this hostel based on the reviews we had read on TripAdvisor and were sadly mislead. This is not a hostel. This place is actually Hotel Cristina, a one star hotel that is going under at least one other name, Florence Youth Hostel. We had been on a 3 week vacation so far and were looking for an affordable accommodation in Florence. We had read about the 'Youth Hostel' and booked it, thinking it was like others we had stayed at. Upon arriving, the place had a nasty odor. We were shown our room which was large but extremely outdated and moderately clean. The beds were uncomfortable, comforter was old and stiff, and the shower drained into a drain on the bathroom floor near the toilet, somewhat separated by a dingy curtain. On the back of the door, there were two signs: one recommending we deadbolt our door at night and the other informing us that the hotel is on lockdown between 10am and 2pm with no access to the room during these times. No towels were changed and the room was not vacuumed once in the 3 days we were there. We returned to our room one evening to no power and no one to contact. There was no one at reception, no one responded to our emails, no one answered the phone calls we made -nothing. At 10pm we packed our bags and finally left this sorry excuse for a hostel and checked in elsewhere. The only thing this place has going for it is location. If your only concern is to be near the Duomo and you don't mind having a room and experience that is less than subpar, this is probably your place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amhudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location is perfect, you can walk everywhere. The manager was quite rude and unfriendly but the other staff was really helpful and informative. There were only two shared bathrooms which was sometimes inconvenient, and the showers were tiny. The rooms themselves were very old fashioned, you have to get lucky with your room. I stayed in a four bed dorm with a window facing the street that was really nice, but my friends stayed in a very cramped and uncomfortable four bed dorm on the other side of the hostel. There wasn't really a main common area but we still met some of the best people in this hostel of our entire 3.5 months trip in Europe.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank liangja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews