We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First hostel in Italy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Florence Youth Hostel

Florence Youth Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Florence Youth Hostel
Save
You added Florence Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #170 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Florence
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First hostel in Italy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our second stop during our trip took us to Florence. It was the first hostel we stayed at. For our convenience it was very practical. The staff was very friendly, a little difficult to communicate, but we managed ok. The city was espectacular, we spent most of our time outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Would recommend this lovely hostel. Got bags of character and very helpful staff. No kitchen but they put a fridge in our room. Very close to the Uffizi and minutes from the Duomo. Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caramcvean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hostel is in a fantastic location. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there are 100% cotton sheets on the bed! It is not a hostel for partly goers and is strick on noise after 12.00 so perfect for families.

Room Tip: The room are quite hot and on the street side can be noisy, but this is just background and did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madamepompador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hostel was great, one of the best places in Florence in my opinion. In addition to the dorms you'd expect from a youth hostel, there are also rooms for single travellers or families in a different building across the street. I stayed there and the bathroom was shared but it was cleaned every day. The rooms looked great and the beds were comfortable. The area isn't the quietest at night but it's not a problem if you close the windows. The staff was friendly, too. The best part was probably the location, since it's right next to one of the main piazzas and everything in the centre is very close.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCraneWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

When we arrived, they couldn't find a key to our room, so we had to wait for an hour before they got another copy of our key to give us. The wi-fi worked for a few minutes (although it was a slow connection) before going out and not working for the rest of our 2-night stay. The lobby had working wi-fi but they would not allow us to sit there and use it when we returned to the hostel at night. In addition, the single bathroom (with the shower and toilet in the same room) was shared by many people resulting in long waits to shower in the morning and uncomfortable waits to use the bathroom. Great location, though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My best friend and I stayed here for a weekend and loved it. It was quite and clean and in a very good location. The hostess is very nice and accommodating, and there was a very cute puppy there during our stay, which added to our experience. We stayed in a two-bed room and were thankful and grateful we booked here. Thank you for a nice experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bananamaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

owing to a mistake I made in my booking coupled with a stollen credit card-my booking at the Hostel was cancelled. When my wife arrived with our two bikes and no reservations Francesco quickly intervened and solved our problem within 20 minutes. He got us another hotel room nearby and did so with a great attitude and cheer. We stayed in the Hostel 6 days later after our bike trip in Tuscany. The location is great-but the noise from the street below can be quite loud- bring earplugs. Overall I would recommend this hostel to budget travellers who don't need luxuries-but are interested in being in the heart of the action as well as being taken good care of by the staff.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tenskibik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Youth Hostel Firenze 2000
#515 of 626 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#16 of 276 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#11 of 276 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 Santi Hostel
#38 of 276 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#20 of 276 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#17 of 276 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Youth Hostel

Property: Florence Youth Hostel
Address: Via della Condotta 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Florence Youth Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing