We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
italhotels ginori al duomo
Ranked #252 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Historic Location”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you want to stay in the true heart of Florence, two blocks away from the Duomo, then this is the place! This hotel is in a former servants' building owned by the Medici family, so yes, there is no elevator...but the hotel staff are more than eager to help carry your luggage up and down the stairs. The building is not super modernized, but quite sufficient if you want a convenient way to see Florence!

Our family of 5 stayed comfortably in the family room outfitted with a queen bed and 3 single beds. The European breakfast was really great and hearty, complete with custom crafted coffee beverages and hot chocolate for the kids. We were able to easily walk to the city center and see all the major sites without needing additional transportation. The fact that we were so close to the Duomo made it possible to go back to the hotel during the peak afternoon heat, and then come out again in the evening for dinner and gelato. A great experience for all of us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at italhotels ginori al duomo, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente, la ringraziamo per la recensione ed il tempo a noi dedicato, e' un piacere sapere che il nostro servizio sia risultato all'altezza delle Sue aspettative.
a presto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    179
    75
    36
    46
See reviews for
116
275
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Go here great service, comfy beds, good food, close to everything, cool Decor, has a great breakfast, very accommodating. Easy to find. Had a very nice stay at this awesome hotel I recommend it highly if you are in Florence.

Room Tip: Go here its awesome great service
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at italhotels ginori al duomo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
thank you for your time , i hope that you can come back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in July this year and I had a great time! When we arrived, we were greeted by the receptionist and Sanji - a really friendly member of staff who told us all about florence, recommended places to visit, how to get there etc. The room itself was really quaint and romantic. Great location. The breakfast was really good too. If you're going to florence, you should seriously consider staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at italhotels ginori al duomo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
thank you for your time, we are very happy that you spend a good stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a lovely stay in Florence at Hotel Ginori al Duomo. The hotel is very charming and the breakfast was very nice. The location is very convenient to all the sites. Everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. Make sure you enjoy some wine tasting in the very old cellar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al-baby2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at italhotels ginori al duomo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
thank you for your time, we are very happy that you spend a good stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a charming and characterful hotel housed in a Renaissance period building close to the heart of historic Florence. The hotel is perfectly located a few hundred metres from the Duomo, a few blocks away from the Accademia Gallery and close to many of the other main attractions in the city.

We arrived in Florence by train from Rome and were too early to check in but the hotel staff were most welcoming, stored our luggage and offered us coffee and breakfast snacks. When we returned from our sightseeing later in the day our luggage had been taken to our room.

We spent two nights at the hotel. Our quad room was spacious and while the bathroom was small, it had been recently renovated and was more than adequate. The breakfast which was included in our room rate was very good. Other reviewers have commented that there is no lift in the hotel. However, this is hardly an issue as the staff are most helpful in carrying luggage up and down the stairs.

There is a great basement wine cellar, Cantina Ginori, and although we didn't get time to use it, the hotel offers tastings, meals and snacks in the cellar by arrangement.

The hotel also has bikes for free use by guests. As most of the central part of Florence is pedestrianised, it is very safe to cycle around the city and my daughters and I had a very pleasant afternoon riding past the attractions, through the many piazzas and stopping off at the Ponte Vecchio for gelato.

We were very lucky to be in Florence on San Giovanni Day (St John the Baptist, the patron saint of Florence) on 24 June and enjoyed the pageantry, parades through the city and the most awesome fireworks display over the River Arno later that evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at italhotels ginori al duomo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
thank you for your time , is pleasure for us to offer you a nice stay.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife shared our review of this hotel on the 13th July, reviewing our terrible experiences, including a shower that barely worked, as well as some of our property going missing from the room.
If you read the reply from the hotel manager you will be shocked to see that he believes we were asking for a reimbursment after what he believes we were making fake details and excuses. He also says we did not raise question about our negative stay until we checked out - if you read our review and you will see the huge number of times we spoke to the 3 staff memebers, including the manager about both our issues.
All you need to do is read the negative responses, as well as the manager's responses to these to get an idea of the sort of hotel he runs - a dodgy one. Had we read his responses to these negative reviews before booking, we would CERTAINLY NOT have stayed at this hotel. A hotel manager's job, besides offering comfortable and adequate accommodation to its guests is to deliver friendly, efficient customer service, something this hotel manager clearly lacks. How he can speak and respond to his guests so poorly is appaling.
I'm only writing this response to warn people about staying here and to clarify the fact that how he has tried to justify what my wife wrote is completely untrue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karim_bahri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Worst experience at a hotel...and this is saying a lot considering we stayed in over 22 hotels on our 5 week European journey, some with even less stars than Hotel Ginori al Duomo, and some a lot older too.

Firstly (not our main issue, but still worth mentioning) the water pressure in the shower for warm (showering worthy temperature) water was a mere dribble, when it was turned to hot there was barely any water that trickled out. It wasn't even enough water to fill up your hand to wash your face with water, let alone try to wash your hair or your body.
We asked the young night watchman to come and have a look at our shower to tell us if that was the usual pressure. He said he would come up to check. 40 minutes later he still hadn't come to our room, so we went down to reception to find he had changed shifts with an older gentleman and had not told him of our request to check the shower. The older night watchman said "at least there is hot water" and was telling us that the building is an old building and that is the best it could do. He said to speak to the manager in the morning.
The first night we put up with the lack of water because we thought the following day the problem would be rectified. In the morning we spoke to the manager about our shower and he said he would check it out. When we returned from our second day of sightseeing we discovered nothing had been done about the shower. We again reported it to the night watchman again, asking him if there was another room we could shower in, however he said they were completely booked out. He came to check the shower again, walking out of our room without apologising or saying anything to us, in the process bumping all of our towels onto the floor, without stopping to pick them up. When you are staying multiple nights, this is completely unacceptable to not have a proper functioning shower in a 3 star hotel. You spend all day out and about and get hot and sweaty, the first thing you want to do is come back to your hotel room to enjoy a shower and get cleaned up. We felt filthy going to bed both nights. On the second night we spent more time trying to wash ourselves with the water in the sink than we did in the shower. We've stayed at much older hotels than this one with abundance of water and pressure. We even stayed in a building built in the 1100's with no issue. We saw photos on trip advisor of other showers in the hotel showing nice modern shower heads. We do not believe that the hotel would install such nice showers if they could not deliver adequate water pressure to accommodate.

Secondly, and more importantly the reason we had the worst experience at any hotel in the world is the fact that one of our large bright green and blue striped toiletries case (which also kept all our medication) which was in the bathroom on the sink the first morning we left the hotel room sightseeing went 'missing'. Both my husband and I saw the toiletries bag in the morning before we left because we had both put our toothpaste back into it before leaving the room. It wasnt until about 9pm after returning that night after dinner when we were going to attempt to wash ourselves in the disgrace of a shower that we discovered the bag was missing. We reported it immediately to the young night watchman, the same man who had been completely rude and unhelpful regarding the water issue. He came and had a look around the bathroom and other areas in the hotel room. We showed him what it looked like as we have two similar toiletries bags (one which was in our bag did not go missing). My husband asked him to call the manager to investigate the issue. When my husband went back down to check if he had contacted the manager, he was in the process of changing shifts with the older night watchman, in which the young guy put on his jacket and left without handing over to the older guy our issue or apologizing to us or saying that he had to leave. He just left. Complete and utter rudeness from someone in the hospitality industry. The older night watchman came also to have a look and tried to contact the manager and the cleaner to see if they had taken it and that the manager was the only one who could check the surveillance footage, and he wouldn't be in until the morning. We kept reiterating to the night watchman that it wasn't just our toiletries in the bag, it had necessary medications in there too.
The following morning we reported to the manager our issue of the missing bag, showing him the other bag we had similar to the one that went missing. We asked him to check the surveillance footage to see if the cleaner had walked out of the room with it or if it had gone into the garbage bin. He said the plastic bags the cleaner uses are black so you wouldn't be able to see if anything was in the garbage bag that was our bag. He called the cleaner who remembered seeing a green plastic bag in the bin. Firstly our bag wasn't a green plastic bag, it was a 2kg fabric toiletries case with loads of hygiene and beauty products and medications. The manager said if the cleaner had seen something of significance which was not meant to be in the bin they would have taken it out. The only way our bag could have ended up in the bin is if the cleaner had bumped it in and not noticed. As mentioned previously my husband and I had both seen the bag on the sink before leaving in the morning. The cleaner had been into our room to clean as the drinking cups had been moved.
The manager asked us to prepare a list of everything that was included in the bag and their replacement costs, including the bag, to which we did, as he said he would reimburse us following further conversation with the cleaning company.
We checked out, asking for a discount in our accommodation because of the inconvenience but we were declined that request.
He gave us his business card saying he would contact us that afternoon (which he didn't). The following days we had to contact him via email and he told us to be patient. We had given bank account details for the transfer of reimbursement. In person the manager seemed reasonable saying he would give us the reimbursement, yet on email he was cold and rude.
Luckily the medications that we lost were not 'life saving' medications, for example diabetic or epilepsy medication.
3 months following our stay at this crap hotel and countless emails later we have yet to receive any reimbursement from this pig of a hotel manager - his emails have even "promised" that money would be reimbursed.
It is really disappointing to have to write a review like this. We have done a lot of travelling in Europe and USA and have never come across a hotel whose staff have not cared enough to try help us with any issue, especially one as major as property going missing. For a 3 star hotel, they should be ashamed of their service and their shower in room number 23.
DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura_bahri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at italhotels ginori al duomo, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Google Translation
gentilissimo , possiamo dirlo , credo proprio di no, perche' persone come Lei che vanno in vacanza sperando che con raggiri particolari possano essere rimborsati o addirittura pagati per farsi pagare la propria vacanza da altri trovando alibi e scuse talmente ridicole che veramente e' cosi schifoso che non vale neanche la pena di risondere, pero' e' importante che tutte le persone oneste che leggono tripadvisor conoscono entrambi le versioni, questo mezzo e' fatto proprio per questo , non e' giusto sentire solo una parte, quindi Lei ha prenotato l'albergo, ha soggiornato nel nostro bellissimo albergo, ha fatto comodamente le sue 3 notti senza mai sollevare alcun problema, la mattina del check-out ha pensato bene di dire che mancava dalla camera una sorta di borsello, per poi chiedere prima lo sconto della camera direttamente alla partenza e visto che la sua richiesta non e' stata accettata, ha poi pensato bene di chiedere il refund di euro 100,00.
E' PIU' GIUSTO VISTO CHE NOI TUTTI LAVORIAMO, CHI NON PUO' VIAGGIARE CHE RESTI A CASA.
saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#173 of 422 in Florence
736 reviews
Park Palace Hotel
#158 of 422 in Florence
318 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#85 of 422 in Florence
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 422 in Florence
1,906 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
887 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 422 in Florence
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to italhotels ginori al duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about italhotels ginori al duomo

Property: italhotels ginori al duomo
Address: Via De' Ginori 22/24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Florence
#110 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — italhotels ginori al duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ginori Al Duomo and 'a boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city' in a pedestrian zone around the Duomo, the hotel offers special rooms renovated completamanete each other with antique furniture, the hotel also offers a garden where you can taste fine wines from the same cellar The most important point of hotel is the space garden with the pool, jacuzzi bath and solarium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your italhotels ginori al duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginori Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing