We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Ranked #251 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great place, great location, great service ! Very kind and helpful staff, free wifi available, rooms are stunning and you can smell the history (positively) in this former part of the Medici palace.
Maybe because we were given a bigger room, we had no complaints at all...
As far as location is concerned, it is precisely good: not far from the cathedral, near local shops and next to the (leather bags) market in the old part of town.
Breakfast is nice and generous and staff is useful in suggesting restaurants.
Although there is no lift (reason well explained), staff can be warned beforehand to help with the luggage. Overall a good deal in a great area which is run by nice and helpful staff ! Mille grazie !

Room Tip: the rooms we have seen were very nice and spacious but we haven't seen the single rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duomovi, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

thank you for your choising to us, it is very pleasure for us to know for nice stay to us. thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 560 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

I would like to only give this place one star because we were treated so appallingly upon check out, but that wouldn't be fair. Rooms are nice enough, and staff are friendly and helpful bar one bad experience. For two out of three nights we had no hot water, and even though the hotel states (via booking.com) that wifi is available throughout the hotel, it isn't. We had no wifi visibility in our room. Overall, average experience apart from being shouted at for arriving back 15mins late to hotel for check out, then being told 'no' to our luggage being brought down (two flights of stairs).

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmaofkohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duomovi, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

good morning , I like to explain you what 'happened during your check-out, when in the morning you come to the reception to ask a late check-out until 5 p.m. , the reception is offer you the possibility until this time for euro 50,00 but he is recommend you not late of this time because we are other guest that are arrival around 6 p.m. and the chambermaid is waiting you for this time.
The new guest are call us that are to the hotel around 5 p.m. just for this we ask you to live the room very soon.
Anyway i like to offer my apologize because for all and sorry again if the receptionist at that time was not very professional . thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This hotel does not have wifi in all rooms as advertised. Ensure to specifically request a room that does upon booking if this is something you want. There is wifi but the router does not reach all rooms despite their website saying it does.
I can can confirm this as tested on 2 smart phones and a minibook. Zero reception on the smartphones, one bar occasionally on the minibook but not strength enough to get online.
This was a reason we chose this hotel and when we raised it with he first staff member he didnt care.
When we raised it with the manager he blamed the ISP and was non apologetic about the false advertising on the website although was aware of it.
Giuseppe, dont lie to your customers. You need to take more responsibility and change your advertising. If this hotel had wifi in all rooms then I wouldnt have to write this in your hallway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jza2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duomovi, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2011

I don't think is correct to receive this review only because the wi.fi isn't perfect in the bathroom or in other place.. , but why not see the quality, services, kindness or others if the wi.fi. connection is at 1 meter from your room , that is not the end , not too bad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Spent two nights in this hotel in the end of August 2011. Hotel is located in the old part of town, but it is bit aside from the most popular tourist triangle. The building is rather old, but you can hardly enjoy it because there is a constant smell of humidity inide. The bathroom is extr-e-e-e-e-mly small, dark and over dated. It has nothing in common with three start hotel as you are only able to take a shower spreading the water all over the bathroom as there is not a real shower cabin, but just a place with tap next to washing basin. Room size is ok, but absolutely no noisy isolation, so you can easily hear all other guests. Breakfast is rather poor even for a 3 star hotel. Hotel staff is trying their best to be friendly and customer-orientated, but still I would not recommend to use this hotel. By the way, I wrote them 5 e-mails before I went there but never received a reply. All in all I would recommend to find another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duomovi, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Kind guest, very sorry that your stay wasn't the best that you waiting, anyway i like to explain you some things because is not really correct, for example , the area where we are is a of the best place in florence , close to all the monuments but all the costructions are very noble and rich so you come from russian maybe is little bit different, for sure that are old but i like to remeber that florence isn't hong kong because is a very old town, renaisssance period and we don't have any ground zero but Duomo and battistero of Michelangelo artist.
About the smell, i like to explain that in the last month we made some work to the out WINE TASTING in underground and that is typical of the CANTINE.
About the breakfast , sorry but is very differents choice with the sweet, salad, ham, cheese , fruits,yougurt, cereals, differents biscuits and cakes, what you like more ? Spaghetti e caviale ?
Please where in italy , our buffet breakfast is absoluty good.
Dear hotel please not recomended to hospitate this gentlement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This was without a doubt the best hotel I've ever stayed at in Europe, and I've been to 14 countries there. We spent 6 nights here for our honeymoon and got one of the third floor rooms, with a neat little stair up to the bathroom. The bathroom was small, but that's typical for Europe. The hotel is one block from San Lorenzo and three from the Duomo, about as close as you can get to the center of the city. And the price was unbelievable - amazing value. This had to be the most friendly and helpful staff I've ever encountered anywhere. When I bought a bottle of wine for my wife as a suprise at night and realized we needed a bottle opener, I asked the staff where I could get one. In addition to giving me directions to the closest store open at that time of night, he just lent me one out of the kitchen. The staff also helped us plan day trips in the countryside, suggested souveniers, and museums and were just extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. They also had one of the larger complimentary breakfasts that I've had. I highly recommend this place, I honestly don't know where any negative reviews that I've seen could have come from. People (mainly Americans) need to realize that European hotels are smaller, have smaller beds & bathrooms, and most of these hotels are over 500 years old. I can't say enough good things about Giuseppe and his staff, mille grazie!

Room Tip: The hotel also owns The Clubhouse, a few doors down: good Contemporary Italian food w/ English Pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duomovi, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Thank you for your time , it is a very pleasure to know of your comfortable stay to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

we book this hotel in internet because the reviews are very nice about the location, we like, anytima to find a hotel in downt town, very close to the monumets and this hotel is perfect to visit the city because is situated in the middle of most importants museo and monuments, we arrival from madris in the morning and the reception staff was very nice because is offer us couple coffee , the room is not ready but he is call the chambermaid and he ask her to prepare. Very kind. the rest of our stay was excellent , any people of staff was kind , the breakfast is very good , many cakes and ham, cheese, yogurt and many others things that now i don't remeber.
Very good hotel is absoluty recommeted.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granvia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe D, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Cliente La ringraziamo per il tempo a noi dedicato , speriamo con i suoi consigli di migliorare sempre piu' la nostra struttura. grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel looked very nice on the internet. We booked it for our last night before we went to the airport and wanted something really special to finish of what has been a great holiday in Tuscany. When we arrived we were very disappointed. Our room was supposed to be a junior suite no. 25 but it looked like an ordinary room with two sofa beds pushed into it. As a result it was a bit of a squash for 2 adults and 2 kids. The mini bar had not been restocked according to the list of drinks that were supposed to be in it. The room was very dark and dingy and the decor was cheap and nasty. The bathroom had a very narrow shower and when my husband sat on the toilet it appeared the toilet was not attached to the floor, the plumbing was very hotch potch. The receptionist also turned out to be caterer and concierge, we were expecting Basil Fawlty to appear! Considering our room was 157 euros I think this hotel is a total rip off and would not recommend it to any one. The night watchman was very pleasant and helpful.

A very disappointed UK family based in the Middle East

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellysAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duomovi, Direttore at Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Dear Guest, I am very sorry but i am very disappointed with you, the room number 25 is the room that you can see in the our web site,( also for everyone) is the room with grey arch and the renaissance furniture, the room is bigger 35/38 meters, with a sitting room ( rose color , see web site) , of course if is 4 adults the both sofa will be good bed as 1,20 large and the space inside the room is redouct but anyway is good for 4 people, of course isn't a appartments, in the heart of florence with euro 157,00 is very difficult to have a appartment for this rates.
The minibar was completly because every day our chambermaid controll the refrigerator, about the bathroom, we are in a renaissance building of 1400 year of course many changes are not possible, anyway the hotel is all renoveted and every things is good , the hotelstaff are very competent and kind, the location is perfect , the breakfast is faboulous, of course isn't ABUDABI. thank you anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#78 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
San Lorenzo
Glance Hotel In Florence
Glance Hotel In Florence
#19 of 410 in Florence
246 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#166 of 410 in Florence
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#137 of 410 in Florence
1,176 reviews
Park Palace Hotel
#158 of 410 in Florence
332 reviews
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#194 of 410 in Florence
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group

Address: Via De' Ginori 22/24, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Florence
#110 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $91 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ginori Al Duomo and 'a boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city' in a pedestrian zone around the Duomo, the hotel offers special rooms renovated completamanete each other with antique furniture, the hotel also offers a garden where you can taste fine wines from the same cellar The most important point of hotel is the space garden with the pool, jacuzzi bath and solarium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginori Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing