We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residenza d'Epoca Home in Palace
Ranked #254 of 649 Florence B&B and Inns
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was one of the best we stayed in. The room and staff were amazing and the views of Florence were beautifuk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
7 Thank Lorraine125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    17
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
55
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

fantastic building to stay in,wow is what we thought when we arrived!amazing view from the breakfast room over Florence .very central for all of the museums and sights,5 mins to duoamo,5 mins in a cab to the station SNM.we stayed in the suite which was very spacious,lovely large bed quite firm,two cute wardrobes ,his and hers so plenty of hanging space,nice seating area with mini bar(reasonably priced)fantastic shower over the bath,wipes,makeup removers,cotton buds, shampoo and shower gels supplied.grace was very sweet and helpful for booking cabs and letting us leave our luggage after we booked out.the lifts were an experience but added to the character,you also get keys to the palace gardens which were so peaceful,would recommend.

Room Tip: only 5 rooms so very peaceful,there is one with a terrace which would be lovely,suite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank smudgie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed in this beautifully decorated hotel and found it very pleasant. My room was spacious and comfortable and spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from the breakfast room is unsurpassable. The hotel is located in a splendid palazzo in a street that is quiet but only five minutes from the Piazza del Duomo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HELEN MARIBEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our room was quite large and nicely decorated. The bathroom had a shower over the bath with reasonable water pressure and temperature control. It was possible to see the dome of the Duomo from the room. The view from the breakfast room was very impressive. It is about a 10 minute walk into the centre. Four keys are required to access the property but during the day two of the doors are open.

The breakfast was a weakness. The first couple of days there were hot croissants that weren't cooked on the inside and after that it was pastries from the supermarket. The advertising material says that breakfast products come from our farm in Tuscany but that isn't the case.

The staff were friendly but always seemed in a hurry to get tidied up. Check out is 12 noon but while we were out getting coffee and a breakfast brioche from Scudieri (highly recommended and only 5 Euros for two) the room was cleaned and the sheets changed for the next occupant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist_or_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a small establisbment with only 5rooms if i am not wrong. But one of the best stay during my 17days trip in Italy and France.

We booked only the most basic room but were given the room with a outdoor terrace (with white roses) with a view of the city and can even see the Dumno! Its so nice sitting out in the terrace in a nice weather (we visited in May)! Can even access the free wireless there.

The room is new, spacious and clean. There is even a skyline which we can gazed at the stars or sky at night from our bed.

The breakfast room is a delight too. Nice view of the Duomo. Nice touches with comfy couch, Tv, and books! Breakfast is just continental breakfast of fruits, cereal, yoghurt, hot crossiants, juice and coffee/tea. Good enough for us to start our day.

Location is also good. Near to the Duomo, Accademia etc. Plenty of restaurants, gelato shops, shopping around the hotel. But its not that near the Florence train station, we have to take a taxi to get to the hotel and on our departure day to the train station again.

Leny the people in charge, was very friendly and helpful.

Overall a very good stay! Stay here! Its better than those big hotels chains!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charmainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with a great breakfast and excellent view of the city! We loved this hotel and would highly recommend it. We stayed here in sep 2011 and we very happy. Contemporary, clean rooms and very helpful staff! Duomo is a short walk and our room had a nice view of the garden.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MaryMarie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights in Home in Palace in mid September 2011. It was perfect! Leny was a wonderful host, always welcoming and helpful, but not overbearing. The hotel itself consists of 5 rooms in the top of a wonderfully old building that is about a 8-10 minute walk from the Duomo. The building itself oozes character! You enter through grand wooden doors, there are private gardens which you have access to, a grand staircase, an old cage lift (elevator for any Americans reading!) and then a glass lift! I object to the negative comments below about keys. One of the 5 keys is actually for the private gardens, so it is 4 keys to get into the hotel, but this is part of the excitement and charm of the place. If you want one key go and stay in a run-of-the-mill hotel. This place offers something different and special!

Once you get to the hotel itself it is beautifully decorated. We were extremely impressed with our room. The room was large, the bathroom was a good size and was a proper separate room off the bedroom, as opposed to feeling like a cupboard in the bedroom like most hotels. There was a skylight above our bed which had electronic blinds and was a lovely extra. But the best feature of the room was without doubt the roof terrace. A swish patio door in the bedroom opens onto a small deck that gives wonderful views across the city. We could see the Duomo, Palazza Vecchio and the Boboli gardens in the distance. It was stunning. We sat out there early on a morning and late on an evening. On one evening there was the faint sound of someone playing a piano in a nearby apartment, which sounded beautiful. The room was extremely quiet and we enjoyed a great sleep.

The breakfast was continental and was sufficient to start the day. The cereal and coffee were lovely. I must echo the comments about waking to the smell of freshly baked croissants! It's true! And it's great!

The breakfast room offers views of the city similar to those from the roof terrace. There is free wi-fi that is reliable. Leny left us new codes for it each day when making up the room along with updated weather forecasts for the coming days. There was a mini-bar that was very reasonably priced. And this echoes the price of the hotel itself, very reasonable for the excellent standard. Leny booked us a taxi to the train station when we left and as another reviewer said it was about 10 euros.

I would certainly stay here again if we ever return to Florence. I just couldn't fault it!

Room Tip: Our room was the first on the left when entering the hotel. I don't know if all rooms have a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rowley82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#89 of 412 in Florence
790 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#73 of 412 in Florence
1,153 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#55 of 412 in Florence
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,766 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,775 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza d'Epoca Home in Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza d'Epoca Home in Palace

Property: Residenza d'Epoca Home in Palace
Address: Via Gino Capponi 26, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 649 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza d'Epoca Home in Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Florence, capital of Renaissance in Italy. Choosing Home in Palace means allowing yourself a relaxing and exclusive holiday in a historical residence. It is located at the top floor (penthouse) of the prestigious Palazzo Capponi all'Annunziata, in the city centre. Home in Palace offers its guests panoramic views on the city and surrounding hills, welcomed at your arrival by the view of a magnificent Italian style garden. The recent renovation has combined the respect for tradition with a modern style, with an elegant and sophisticated taste inspired also to eastern philosophies respecting balance and harmony as indicated by Feng Shui architecture. The historical residence Home in Palace is an oasis of elegance and comfort for an unforgettable holiday, during which guests can discover the artistic and cultural heritage of the city, or experience the glamour of an important destination of the international fashion world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residenza d'Epoca Home in Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza d`Epoca Home In Palace Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing