We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service (until they lost it)”
Review of Il Profeta

Il Profeta
Ranked #417 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great service (until they lost it)”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Recommended to us by the concierge at the St Regis, we were having a wonderful evening until the main course, when our waiter just ran out of energy. Then we had to wait ages for a glass of wine, & the charm of earlier in the evening vanished. A great pity - would have rated 5 otherwise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    152
    71
    46
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Claudio is great and so is the food. Really a fine and fun experience and reasonably priced. Claudio guided us through the menu and he and his wife run a very efficient facility. Almost went back a second time but were actually too tired.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juantwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel and was within easy walking distance. Although the staff was charming (the owner Claudio was very nice) we really felt misled about our food choices. The chicken liver was described as pate, but was a disgusting grey HOT concoction on top of toasted bread. The fish special was tasteless, although the mussels and fish were cooked properly. 8 euros for a side of spinach. We really felt this was overpriced and under delivered on value, taste and expectations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JIG416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Dined with three other couples while on a tour through Italy. This was definitely one of the best we tried. Friendly, helpful and enthusiastic service and delicious meals. We really enjoyed the chicken under a brick---half a chicken with a peppery seasoning---wonderful! Another couple from our group also dined here and asked for a pasta dish that was not on the menu, but was happily prepared for them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Personalized attention. Excellent veal con fungi and boar. Best meal on our trip through Italy so far.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JahneyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Profeta also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Profeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing