We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly & convenient location for the surrounding area”
Review of Nilhotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nilhotel
Ranked #197 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly & convenient location for the surrounding area”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

On arrival the area surrounding the hotel isn't so appealing. The hotel is inside its own gated grounds with good parking facilities & pleasant outside seating areas. It's adjacent to GE/Nuovo Pignone which for me was great but close to the airport & Florence so perfect.
The hotel is big with 7 floors figuring the room numbers wasn't the simplest thing 'odds & evens' but fine once sorted.
The style is very late 80's but that shouldn't detract, the hotel is very clean & well maintained. Staff are excellent, friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was fairly large with a firm bed, it included a safe & a mini bar which they also invited you to put your own things if you wanted. Bathroom was fine with a good shower, window shutters & aircon kept the room cool.
Breakfast was great with lots of choice cereal, fruit, meats, cheese even scrambled egg & bacon
Things they don't tell you:- wifi is extended to the rooms & is fast enough for Skype or FaceTime, the hotel has a small gym in the basement & the meeting facilities are good. Taxi to the airport or Florence is about 14€ if you book at the hotel specify if you want to pay by card as not all taxis take them.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fartinaspacesuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    297
    137
    28
    26
See reviews for
136
151
27
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a two day business trip in early May. Basically the hotel is large, with nineties decor, and very little intrinsic charm. A favourite with coach tours to Florence.

The staff are very friendly, and given how busy breakfast gets at peak times (I.e. When the coach parties group to feed) the food on offer is if a good standard.

The bedroom walls however are paper thin, the floors marble, so you are unlikely be able to get to sleep whilst anyone else within 2 rooms is still awake! Quality sleep is my principle ask of a hotel, thus my low score.



Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have stayed in mid april 2014 and were very satisfied. The rooms are large and comfortable. Parking is on site. The breakfast was very rich and fresh. We travelled here in our trip in Italy. If you come accross by car it is very comfortable as you can access Michaelangelo Plaza in 20-25 minutes and then head to the city center by foot. Very recommended!

Room Tip: Very recomended if you visit Florence by car. The hotel is modern, clean and nice stay is guaranteed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samion_Buchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Nil hotel is four stars hotel located in Florence. It is very closed to airport. It is not in center and quite far from center of Florence but it is more or less like business hotel and it is quite busy but there is some things special about this hotel room size is adequate and frankly room is much more bigger than five stars hotel allocated in center of Florence. Also there is free parking inside hotel and it is very near big supermarkets so for daily need every things is within walking distances. Apart of that there is mall nearby. Also there is very easy access to center by Bus for daily use.

Again Room size was very big compare with Florence hotels rooms size. Bed was standard nothings special with bed however it was enough for two person only. TV was ok. Bed was good. Bathroom was also Ok and furniture was good. In general it was good and very clean. For solo traveller it is more than enough. I would rank it 7 out of 10.
I cannot understand such big hotel how they manage massive number of people during breakfast. As well as breakfast was excellent. All basic dishes were available since I do not like to have big meal during breakfast I was so pleased with breakfast menu. Also service was outstanding.
One I reach hotel staff did not show welcoming atmosphere but it was ok. Check in went very quick and smooth.. Reception and entrance was big.
Wi-Fi internet was free and good. I have not get any problem and it was easy to use.

Room Tip: Ask for garden veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohamedAlJilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

i was traveling with wife and a then 7-year-old.

it is a gorgeous hotel on the outskirts of Firenze, about 10-15 minutes drive to the city center with free parking either above or underground if you are travelling italy in a car. i was greeted by welcoming front desk staffs with orientation to the hotel facilities and how to move around with their complimentary shuttle service. The hotel is decorated with marble almost everywhere with outstandingly clean and reasonably sized rooms, for us it was a double full-size bed. the bathroom is also spacious with many complimentary toiletries. the TV has standard english channels if you do wish so. The breakfast is average if not super, however the manager (sorry dont remember the name) was quite hospitality and resourceful.

i would definitely stay there next time, it outstands many other "classic" italian hotels, i am truly not comfortable to spend an arm to cramp into a guest room somewhere in the center of the city with no A/C etc. A great choice my wifey made.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fredfredster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Close to the airport is the best I can say for this hotel. You'll get a clean hard bed with only a thin blanket. Bathroom is clean. Paper thin walls so if your you can easily hear what your neighbor is up to. Breakfast is ok I guess. I chose this hotel because it was within walking distance to where I had to work during my stay. If you want to go to the city center it is about a 5 minutes walk to the bus stop (bus #23). Taxi is 15 euro if there is "no" traffic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Seeking a hotel near the airport for an early flight the following morning, we booked the isolated but attractive Nilhotel because TripAdvisor shows this hotel as having an airport shuttle. After checking in, we learned that Nilhotel does NOT have a shuttle, and the taxi ride to airport cost us 14€. The room was dark and hot, with windows closed by a metal shutter. Lacking airconditioning or fan, we opened the windows in our room trying to cool the very hot room and quickly were bitten by mosquitoes. There were no screens and we closed the windows hurriedly butan astonishing number of mosquitoes had already entered. Staff shrugged when we asked for solutions. We spent the sleepless night in a hot closed room attacked by a never-ending whining plague of mosquitoes.
Discovering no restaurants accessible by walking, we went to the hotel's odd small featureless 'restaurant' and both of us had meals uniquely bad for Italy.
This is the only facility in 3 weeks of travel that was unpleasant.

Room Tip: Bring bug repellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.5 mi away
Starhotels Tuscany
Starhotels Tuscany
#103 of 411 in Florence
734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#113 of 411 in Florence
563 reviews
2.5 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Raffaello Firenze
Hotel Raffaello Firenze
#353 of 411 in Florence
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#190 of 411 in Florence
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilhotel

Property: Nilhotel
Address: Via Eugenio Barsanti 27, 50127, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nilhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NILHOTEL was built in January 2009. It’s a modern 4 stars hotel with all facilities: meeting rooms, restaurant, American bar, garage and a private parking, high speed internet access, an internet point and the WI-FI connection in all the common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nilhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing