We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fabulous value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leopolda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Leopolda
Ranked #213 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
2 reviews
“A fabulous value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in mid-May. The hotel isn't fancy, but it is clean as a whistle. I was surprised how spacious our room was. It even had a balcony.
The family running the place is very nice and extremely helpful with advice. The wifi was terrific. We stayed at a more upscale hotel a few days later outside Venice and Leopolda's free wifi beat the service there (not free except in public areas) by a mile.
If you don't mind a bit of a walk, the city center is 15-20 minutes away. If you do, there's a bus you can hop on a few steps away from the hotel. A nice variety of restaurants within a 10-minute walk as well.
I've stayed in budget hotels in other European cities that cost more and offered far less. Would definitely recommend this one to travels who don't want to splurge on lodgings.

Room Tip: An elevator serves rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors. I'm not sure that's the case for rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    96
    42
    17
    11
See reviews for
36
110
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boras, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Hotel Leopolda was from our side a budget choice, but when we arrived we from the beginning got the best and most outstanding service you could get! The rooms at the hotel was big and clean, beds and furnitures was rather poor but worked good.
Wifi worked excellent. Breakfast small but with the best coffee you could ask for.
If I should say something negative, it was some minutes to walk to the centre little bit more than I expceted, so bring running or walking shoes.
Maurizio with team helped us all the time, booking nice and very good restaurants.
I would very much recommend this hotel, but perhaps not for honeymooners.
Maurizio next time in Florence I will be at your hotel!
Ciaoooo!

Room Tip: bring good shoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hotel Leopolda's great service made our stay in Florence valuable.

At the check in, a nice and friendly lady provide us good information on where to go, how to get around, what to eat and so on.
She was very busy at the moment but so kind to print out our tickets for museums.
We can't thank enough.

We hope to stay at Hotel Leopolda again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Leopolda last month. It was Pasqua (Easter weekend) and the festivities in Firenze were very well complemented by our comfortable stay. The room was spacious, with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean and roomy, not congested with unnecessary things. The provision of toiletries and towels was ample, and the room was cleaned everyday.

Maurizio is an excellent host. Very patient and spends time to know his guests and help them out in any way required. The breakfast is appropriate enough, a grand spread was not to be expected.

The only drawback is that it is not in the center of Florence. Just a little bit of a walk from the city center, about 20 minutes. In any case one would be walking around Florence to see the big sights, so this is not such a big deal. The tram and bus connections are convenient as well.

Overall, in line with the earlier reviews for this one, a highly recommended hotel for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

the family of the hotel is the most sincere, nice i met in Italy. They are very very nice to give us the satisfaction for everything in Florence. the hotel is not so big, but very very comfortable. Smiling, Sincere and good service are the best in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hotel Leopolda was such a wonderful hotel. This bed and breakfast was everything one can hope for. The owners were so friendly and accommodating, the rooms had a "homey" feel. I stayed with three other friends and we all had no complaints. Hotel Leopolda was about a fifteen minute walk from Santa Maria Novella Train Station, so no complaints about location. The owners spoke fluent English which was a plus side, and were always available. If I ever come back to Florence, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel. It was the best place I stayed at while studying abroad in Europe. It's run by a cute Italian family which makes it feel very homely. I felt very safe and I went there with three of my friends. This hotel is not far from the center of the city. My friends and I walked everywhere from the hotel. I loved the owner, he was really sweet and I enjoyed speaking Italian to him :) Just like home!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#147 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Careggi
#181 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Hotel Jane
#172 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#276 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#190 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Hotel Emma
#208 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leopolda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopolda

Property: Hotel Leopolda
Address: Via del Ponte Alle Mosse 65, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leopolda 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Leopolda, a three stars category Hotel, is located in a XVIII century's ancient building, bordering the down-town of Florence. Hotel Leopolda is located just only at 15 minutes by walk from the Railway Stn. Of Santa Maria Novella or just only at 4 minutes by bus n° 17, (bus stop just in front of main exit of Railway Stn. Ask to the bus driver for the 2nd bus stop of Via delle Porte Nuove). Hotel Leopolda has been lovingly restored in 2003 by Vivoli family in a quite and comfortable Hotel, offering You large and spacious rooms uncommon in modern hotel.The owners, Marisa and Patrizia, and all of the staff, grant to the Hotel Leopolda the right place to Your staying in Florence for both tourism and business.Hotel Leopolda is also the right place to stay during the exhibitions in "Stazione Leopolda", just 5 minutes walk, or in "Fortezza da Basso", headquarter for all of Pitti fashion's exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Leopolda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing