We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been more!!”
Review of B&B Monte Oliveto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Monte Oliveto
Ranked #2 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My two adult girls and I stayed with Donatella and Nicolo at the beginning of August. We arrived and we had booked the Mansarda, a lovely loft area. Because there was no bookings for a couple of nights in one of the other room Donatella offered us the use of that room as well. This was the beginning of a wonderful stay.
Donatella was able to offer us so many wonderful suggestions about getting around the city, when venues opened and closed, where to eat in the area, good gelato, she even arranged a tour group to pick us up on one of the days so that we could visit the cinque terra region. There was nothing that was too much trouble. It made it so easy to do the things we wanted to do with the help of so much local knowledge. The breakfasts were great as well and the setting just lovely in the mornings before the hot days began. It was restful and easy and we very much appreciated the friendly advice and warm, friendly atmosphere. Can not thank you enough. Sorry we missed saying goodbye, we did see you peddling away as we arrived :-) Very much looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 396 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We don't look for luxury when we travel but we need a convenient place to clean up and have a good night sleep.
More is a bonus and less would be a place we wouldn't go back to.

This place was more. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The view is onto a quiet street. There is a green space behind the building so a quiet location. We would have slept with the window open if it hadn't been for the Mosquitos. Maybe a suggestion to improve would be screens on the windows and then we wouldn't need to run the a/c at night. Not really a criticism as we did have the a/c and slept very well. I just feel bad running the power bill up. In a hotel I don't care, but I care when I know the people that have to pay and after three nights there I feel like I know Donatella. The personal touch right from the moment we showed up is what sets this place apart. She actually made breakfast each morning. It wasn't a breakfast station where you help yourself, it's a patio table in her garden where you sit and visit other guests while she whips up some eggs if you like or makes a cappuccino for you. Very helpful with where to go and restaurant recommendations.

There were two rooms that do not have a bathroom and they share one. You have to go out of the room to get to it which isn't real convenient at 2 am in my boxers, but was not unexpected and not that big a deal. There was no one in the other room sharing it so we never saw anyone in our midnight stealth missions to the bathroom. Bathroom was 100% clean and functional. The only place we did not give a 5/5 was on location as it is a 10 minute walk to the river, but some people (my wife) would rather walk that and not be in a busy area. Again, not a criticism just pointing it out to help you in your decisions. Florence is very busy in August.

Only thing to add, because my wife proofed this before hitting "submit" is that "Donatella is awesome"

Justin and Maradith

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdsewell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 5 days in Donatella house; it was very very nice experience. The room we had was splendid, very comfortable and pretty. We want to highlight the quality of the mattress and the pillow!!! you could really rest after being all the day exploring the city or the Tuscany fields.

Donatella provided us all the information needed and always tried to help us. She is really a very good hostess.
We strongly recommend this B&B

María & Tom

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomas_sanchezgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We also as many before chose Monte Oliveto due to great reviews, before arrival communication was very good with prompt replies and much help regarding advice on transfers etc.
Donatella has a wealth of knowledge regarding Florence and surrounding area and along with her husband nothing is too much trouble.
We had the Mansarda suit on the top floor, lovely bathroom and sitting area , two possibly three beds, outside balcony and small but well appointed kitchen, On a previous review I had noted someone commenting on the heat in the room, well this was in August and it was hot hot hot but the room was kept cool with very efficient air con, maybe this was new ? but it was so nice to get back from the hot city to the quiet cool environment of Monte Oliveto.
The breakfasts were exceptional, home made Florentine cake and preserves, plus a wealth of other fresh and tempting goodies set us up for the day and the fact that we could eat it sat outside on the terrace in the garden made the whole experience even more idyllic.
Donatella provided us with bus tickets and she arranged reservation of tickets for our Uffizi visit also.
As a keen motorcyclist Nicolas said he could arrange secure garaging for my motorcycle should I return with friends in future
We found that everywhere we wanted to visit was within easy walking distance, but if preferred the bus stop is just at the end of the quiet road on which Monte Oliveto is situated- from here you can get all over Florence. The trip back to the train station at the end of our stay took about ten minutes by bus or we could have walked in about 25 minutes....chose the bus as about 30 degrees and we had our cases!
Absolutely not hesitation in recommending here for a relaxing stay.
would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desmo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We chose B&B Monte Oliveto because of its excellent Trip Advisor rating and can only endorse the top rating.
Donatella was a fantastic host and couldn't have been more helpful in making sure we enjoyed our Firenza experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeffreyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We celebrated our Silver Wedding anniversary staying at the Monte Oliveto in Florence. We were not disappointed! Donatello welcomed us into her wonderful home and we were thrilled to stay here. It is just south of the river and it only takes a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of the city. The B & B is located in the area Florentines love to frequent, away from the tourists. We enjoyed experiencing the 'real' Florence here and thought the local restaurants were good value and had superb menus. Our favourites were Le Barrique and NapoLeon. Monte Oliveto is a stones throw from the beautiful Branacci Chapel and not far from the Palazzo Pitti. Donatello gave us tips on getting to know the real Florence and our room was fabulous, very quiet and with great views and balcony with a sound lounger, a real bonus! Excellent breakfasts, too, we would highly recommend a stay here if you like being in a quiet area. We would certainly stay here if we visit Florence again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Admittedly this review is a long time coming - my boyfriend and I stayed here in Easter!

After all this time we have still not forgotten the city, the property, the wonderful hosts.
Donatella and her husband keep the accomodation in immaculate order, provide local knowledge on the best eateries, offer scrumptuous breakfasts and enable guests to enjoy a serene stay.

This is a place you remember, want to write about on your return and hope to enjoy again in the future.

Thank you Donatella,
Eva & Paolo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,293 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 410 in Florence
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 657 in Florence
816 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 657 in Florence
663 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#7 of 657 in Florence
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Monte Oliveto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Monte Oliveto

Address: Via Domenico Burchiello 67 | San Frediano - Oltrarno, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $102 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Monte Oliveto 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house is not a hotel, there are no numbers on the doors, not on the rooms keys. You won't find a reception nor waiters in uniform. At Monte Oliveto you don't stay.......You Live! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Monte Oliveto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing