We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in Florence”
Review of B&B Monte Oliveto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B&B Monte Oliveto
Ranked #2 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sleeping in Florence”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Donatella was a great host and we enjoyed staying with her. She was very helpful in recommendations and a wonderful cook. My husband and I stayed in the “La Mansarda” loft, it was very spacious and clean. Sitting down in the huge tug to shower was a new experience, but "when in Rome..." My only tiny complaint was at night we would get a little hot and opening the windows and skylights only brought mosquitos in. I think this was because were were in the loft, the rest of the house seemed cooler. The B & B was a little walk from the town center but by walking you get to see a little more of the local community :) I would not hesitate to stay at Monte Oliveto again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
189
60
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Екатеринбург, Россия
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

After the wedding, my wife and I traveled through Italy. In Florence, we found this wonderful quiet B&B. We stayed in the room, "Wisteria". It is quiet, beautiful and cozy. Donatella, the hostess the house, is pleasant woman with a smile. I still remember with pleasure her awesome breakfasts with herbal tea in the garden.

Room Tip: "Wisteria" is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artem-zyryanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Monte Oliveto is a bit distance from the city center. However a few bus lines are just one step away, with which i can almost reach all the attractions including train station with one reach. Donatella is a fantastic hostess. Breakfast is always served with big variety. I did not have the feeling of staying in a hotel but rather home in this B&B. The local restaurants nearby offer good food with almost 1/3 price from the restaurants in the city center. I think it is another advantage of staying is this B&B. I will definitely recommend it to my friends if they travel to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good food, great hospitality, and artistic room. The B&B is not at the historical center of Florence, but could reach the major attractions by foot within 20min to half an hour. Yet it's nearer to those fantastic restaurants the locals frequent. Donatella is both a great host and cook, very helpful with all the tourist informations. The room is very spacious and stylish, making our stay a memorable Tuscanian experience! This is a gem in the beautiful city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethleemstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you're looking for a b&b then look no further! Donatella was an amazing hostess and was so incredibly gracious. What u see from the pics is an honest representation of your stay. We stayed in the Wistaria room and we had a lovely terrace off our room. It was extremely quiet and clean. It wasn't in the heart of the city but we walked everywhere and was about a 15min walk to the action. Without a doubt we would highly recommend this b&b. it was absolutely perfect and Donatella was a great resource for information, restaurants, directions and because she loved Florence, you couldn't help but love it too. When we return in a few years we will definitely plan to stay here again without hesitation. You won't be disappointed. Glen and Colleen from Toronto

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at Monte Olivieto in June last year and absolutely loved it. The little rooftop studio is like a self contained appartment with a lovely little balcony, kitchen and spacious bathroom and it felt like living in Florence rather than visiting. As others have mentioned, it is away from the hustle and bustle of touristy Florrence, yet within walking distance to all the attractions, restaurants and shops you would need. Donatella is a very chirpy, charming host who goes out of her way to make your stay a pleasant one. Definitely recommended and we would stay again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Try the studio in the attic, it might be a bit more expensive but definitely gives you more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you're looking for a B&B right in the middle of everything which makes you think you're at a hotel and you're just saving some money...... this is not the place for you. If, however, you're looking for a gorgeous, out of the way, quiet B&B, where the lovely hostess treats you like family and cooks you a ridiculously delicious breakfast every morning, then stop. no need to look farther.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,131 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
500 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Giglio d'Oro
#5 of 675 in Florence
712 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 675 in Florence
635 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#4 of 675 in Florence
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Monte Oliveto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Monte Oliveto

Property: B&B Monte Oliveto
Address: Via Domenico Burchiello 67 | San Frediano - Oltrarno, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Monte Oliveto 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house is not a hotel, there are no numbers on the doors, not on the rooms keys. You won't find a reception nor waiters in uniform. At Monte Oliveto you don't stay.......You Live! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your B&B Monte Oliveto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing