We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book ahead you won't be disappointed”

Vini e Vecchi Sapori
Ranked #41 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Book ahead you won't be disappointed”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Been to Florence 3 times now, tried and failed to get in until the 3rd attempt, luckily we were in Florence long enough to wait and make it at last. Great atmosphere, seemed the loudest place in Florence, due to the laughter coming out of the place. Great to watch Mario working, like a blur and yet so effortless, switching from making starters to desserts etc in a blink. Good prices, great food, fun atmosphere and good, humourous service. So good we went back again a few days later (they squeezed us in on the end of another table, but all good for it).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bostondangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,411
    345
    78
    25
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Simply the most fabulous meal we have had in Italy! My husband and I both began with the delicious fresh caprese salad which was so fresh and the mozzarella so soft. We also had the Tuscan specialty of chicken liver pâté on crostini which was quite good. The ravioli in cream sauce was delectable...just the most tender pasta and the sauce velvety smooth. My husband's primo was tagliatelle with duck sauce and he said it was outstanding. For second course, I had the beef carpaccio with slices of pecorino or parmesiano cheese (forgot which) and some type of fresh, bitter green. The dish had just the right combination of salt and bitter greens...really good. But my husband had the Osso buco which was genius. I'm squeamish about eating veal so I made him get it since it was so highly recommended....the sauce was a heady combination of red wine, herbs, and who knows what other wonderful ingredients. The marrow made a fabulous spread for the bread. Then, for dessert, I had the ice cream cake which was really good but my husband had the raspberry tiramisu which was a creamy, custardy concoction that made all other tiramisus seem like stale graham crackers. Happy, fun atmosphere. We made friends with the couple seated near us since the tables are so close together. Get reservations ahead of time and go with a positive attitude. You will love it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 21LoriL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama USA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great venue, great food”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went to this restaurant last night after having to reserve 2 days earlier. There are only 7 tables with two distinct seatings. The only drawback was that at the end of the first seating we felt a little rushed as people were waiting outside for the second seating.
That said, the food, atmosphere and service were all its cracked up to be. The grandfather (owner) sits at the front of the restaurant and makes the salads and antipasto. We were waited on by the grandson. The caprese salad, ravioli and ossobuco were outstanding. Many Americans there but also locals. We highly recommend for a unique dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clovernookwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Pasta!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is easy to miss, despite the fantastic reviews it gets! it's just around the corner from the main Palazzo Vecchio piazza. We tried yesterday evening without success, the around 10 tables fill up quickly. We're glad that we tried again for lunch today and managed to be the last group that got in. The hand-written menu posted on the wall with the day's fare made it clear - no pizza, no bistecca, just good pasta. And boy were the pasta good! Among the group, we tried the papardelle with duck ragu, ravioli with fresh pesto and tagliatelle with a sausage sauce, they were all very good on freshly made pasta! Thank you everyone for your great recommendation!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Definitely the best restaurant in Florence!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What can I say? Simply delicious! It is true: the place is small, crowded, loudy, and even if you book a table don't expect privacy. Furthermore, if you are expecting a detailed menu and a decent list of wines or cocktails, forget about it: the choices for food change almost daily and according to the season. As for the wine, there is "vino della casa". But each and every dish deserves to be tried. Oh, safe space for the desserts, as they are excellent. If you want to try a Tuscan osteria, this is the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmanuelaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vini e Vecchi Sapori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vini e Vecchi Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing