We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best meals of our trip to Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vini e Vecchi Sapori

Vini e Vecchi Sapori
Ranked #51 of 2,512 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Uffizi
stamford CT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Best meals of our trip to Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Based on the many excellent reviews, we had made reservations for the second to last night of our trip to Florence and loved our meal so much, we skipped any of the great number of other restaurants and ate here again on our last night. Our server was Fidan, from Kosovo, one of the most friendly and helpful we have ever had, he even joined our table for a few minutes to chat. The fresh mozzarella and prosciutto as appetizer was heavenly, and entrees such as beef stew and pappardelle with duck ragu were sublime. The second night, everything looked good on the menu again and my wife was unable to choose, so Fidan offered to surprise her with dinner; she ended up with an off-menu item, veal saltimbocca, tasted great. The entree prices were most reasonable, 13-18 euro, and wine/beer in the 3 euro range, total meals for our party of three only 80-90 euro, a true bargain for the quality. The restaurant is small (and parties of two get seated with other parties of two at one table) and our reservations were for 9:30 and 9:45 but the tables were worth waiting for. No reason to go anywhere else when in Florence, but call way ahead to get in.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tymelyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,213
    303
    67
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
535 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Not everything good needs to be expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is a well run trattoria by a great family muma is in the kitchen dad at the bar and son running the front of house.We arrived slightly late as we walked past and our table was not ready so we waited outside but tomaso bought us a complimentary glass of prosseco while we were waiting to pass the time.
We were taken to our table i had the duck fettucine which were great my wife had the artichoke salad which she loved
For main i had a pastry encrusted meat dish which was sublime my wife had an egg torta which was amazing
Ferrari food at fiat prices fantastic

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best bite of the trip......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thank goodness for our "Foodies Tour" guide. While touring and tasting all wonderful things Florentine, she did us a great favor and got us lunch reservations at Vini E Vecchi Sapori for the following day. We had a little bit of difficulty in finding this tiny spot but our perseverance certainly paid off. We were greeted by name, our table waiting! It is true that you are seated very closely to the others patrons, but the ambiance is so delightful that you feel like family. We had our waiter select several courses among which was the absolute best dish of Florence for me. Try their "Pappardelle al ragu di Anatra-amazingly delicious. Everything was superb and I highly recommend this little cubbyhole of a spot-as is so often the case, the best things come in small packages!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank footballgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great restaurant with fresh ingredients and delicious pasta. The beef was also delicious. The family feel of the place was great. Just go to the restroom to go past the mamma cooking and what seem to be her kids in the kitchen laughing away. Great lunch!! Recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GabiL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stop what you’re doing right now and make a reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fine, this place didn’t pick up my phone calls and only offered a 9:30 pm reservation the next day when I walked by. But it was all worth it in the end! The staff was incredibly personable and friendly, and our food was simply delicious. Yes, it’s a bit cozy with all the tables scrunched together but that’s part of the fun – the place has excellent atmosphere. Would rush to come back on my next trip to Florence.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CUBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vini e Vecchi Sapori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vini e Vecchi Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing