We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food and fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vini e Vecchi Sapori

Vini e Vecchi Sapori
Ranked #49 of 2,504 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very personable and attentive service.

Well cooked Italian food with local fresh ingredients... but I would expect every restaurant in Florence to use local stuff. I'm not a major Italian food cono sur to me the dishes were unique. There is not long list of dishes and thats special because you know anything you pick will be awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chic212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,191
    299
    65
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A wonderful dinner in this busy osteria. A reservation is needed as they book out early. Great food and atmosphere and service. Locals love this place. Just off the Piazza Signoria right near the Gucci museo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooneurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem with great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Food was devine. Everything was cooked to perfection leaving us a bit sad having found this little gem on our last night in Florence (would have loved to have gone in again to try another dish). Definitely try the dessert - the meringue was fabulous and apparently the best my wife has ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelling_m0nkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Quaint little place with only 7 tables. Great food. Call for a reservation first ! We wanted to book for the next night again , but was full :(

Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What is all the fuss about??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I visited Vini e Vecchi along with what seems like the rest of the population of Western Europe yesterday evening. Fortunately I had a reservation while almost everyone else didn't. The result was that every minute or so people would come in only to be turned around again. The place seems to be very popular iwth everyone with the exception of people who are trying to eat dinner there!

The food is absolutely fine. It is not great, but then prices are modest. It offers good home cooking at reasonable prices, but it has become the victim of the "Tripadvisor affect". Like myself, thousands of others are looking on TA for favoured restaurants and then finding them full and booked up for several weeks.

In an attempt to redress the imbalance, let me state once again that this place isn't great and I am baffled as to why it is so popular. It seems to be famous for being famous!

Ho hum

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vini e Vecchi Sapori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vini e Vecchi Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing