We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time setting, excellent menu”

Vini e Vecchi Sapori
Ranked #41 of 2,680 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Uffizi
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Old time setting, excellent menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were advised of this little osteria by a Florentine friend who knows all the good and fairly priced establishments, not easy to find in a prime historic center location. Reservations are a must, there are about 20 seats at maybe 7 tables. If being cheek by jowl close to others bothers you, this is not the place to eat. However, we found the whole closeness a lot of fun. For one thing you get to see what everyone else is ordering, eating.
The waiter, Tommaso, is charming, unflappable, patient in describing the daily offerings. Everything we ordered was better than expected: a pureed ceci soup, pappardelle with duck sauce, baccala alla Livornese, good house wine. We would return again and again but you can not do so spontaneously as reservations are a must, even in the quiet season of winter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marialulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,338
    334
    74
    25
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great homely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel helped with reservation at 8pm and it was full when we arrived. Sits about 20 only and reservations are mandatory. There were people waiting to get in when we left at 9+pm

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendeefok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic but need a reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I ate here last month it was well worth it. Need a reservation for this small, authentic great restaurant. Must go! In the center of it all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank a24maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We found the name of this restaurant on this site and after a bit of an adventure we then found the actual restaurant. We had no reservation but this was not an issue as we were quickly seated. The waiter was kind enough to run through the entire menu which was in Italian, and explain what each dish was. Everything we ate was really nice and the wine was reasonably priced also. We were never rushed even though a queue had started outside and if we ever return to Florence, this restaurant will be on our list!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jahoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderfull food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I think in my ten day trip of Rome and Florence this was probably my favorite meal, for both the food and the atmosphere (as well as the ridiculously cheap price of the bill). The food was perfect, the house wine was really good. Its a tiny restaurant and even on the quietest week of the year I still had to phone ahead for a reservation two days in advance, the place was packed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank kreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vini e Vecchi Sapori also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Vini e Vecchi Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing