We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mushroom Risotto”

Ristorante Self-Service Leonardo
Ranked #192 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Duomo
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Mushroom Risotto”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What an excellent place, good old fashioned cafeteria. The staff helpful & friendly, the food very well priced, fresh and a wide choice. Chop & chips (not Italian, I know) cost 4.50 euros, coffee 90 cents. My risotto was delicious and sensibly priced. Just go up the stairs, grab a tray, place a paper mat and help yourself. Given it's in the centre of town I don't think it could be beaten.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodo355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    251
    62
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A good place for a low-cost quick pit stop, close to the Duomo, but away from the hurly burly.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Cheap and cheerful: it does what it says on the tin. But don't expect any ambiance. This is a no-nonsense place where you can get reasonable food at very reasonable prices, the prices especially surprising considering how close it is to the Duomo. Although it's described as self-service, customers are actually served from the long counter. Cold as well as hot food available. There were 5 veggie pastas when we were there. Jugs of water are available near to the service counter.
NOTE: It's up a flight of stairs so easy to miss.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2TravellerNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for a cheap, quick bite with wholesome cooking”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We didn't feel like spending much that night for dinner, so we dropped by Leonardo's for a quick meal based on a suggestion in our guide book. Boy were we in for a surprise!

It is typical self service fashion where you grab your tray and select what you like from the available selection. The pastas are warm and constantly being replenished so the food is close to freshly cooked. We had a calamari soup which they brought in to heat up and served to us with two pieces of garlic bread. A steal at 6 euro! Water is free and you get your own filled jug near the counter after paying. Olive oil and balsamic vinegar is available to dress your own salad. We took a lasagne and linguine and was very pleased with our food. Taste wise, it was excellent for the price and much better than getting a cold and hard panini from the many panini counters around. 4 euro for a panini elsewhere will get you a warm pasta and free flow of water here. It was our cheapest dinner in Italy, but also one of our more satisfying ones. Don't let the prices or decor of the place fool you. They serve authentic, wholesome food here for a fraction of the price!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tj_huat_ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cafeteria Style”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place took me back to the old school days where you get a tray, get the food you want, and none of what you don't want. Very reasonably priced with lots of window booths where you can people watch while you eat. The food itself is pretty good (a little on the oil side) but this place gets 5 stars for the overall value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
about Menaggio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“friendly and quick but food not so hot”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were very grateful to find this place open and friendly on the first night of our visit to Florence. We went back a couple of times too. The food was tasty but not particularly hot, which was a pity as it was cold weather. This would be the main thing to put us off. Otherwise, it was indeed very good value and I can recommend the Minestrone during this cold snap!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneaboutMenaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Self-Service Leonardo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Self-Service Leonardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing