We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value”

Osteria Antica Mescita San Niccolo
Ranked #176 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Piazzale Michelangelo
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not good value”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We did have lunch here, which was quite good, although a bit pricey, so decided to go back for supper, mistake! For €43 we had wine, pasta with zucchini and pancetta, no sauce and my wife had chicken and salad. Menu is in Italian, no English and we would not recommend this for supper. Service was less than adequate and we were very disappointed with our second go around. Ended up going to another ristorante for our secondi.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RayMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    372
    82
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon BC Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dine in the 11th Century Chapel”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The pasta and meat dishes are authentic Tuscan cuisine, although the meat was a little bit salty, but all in all very good. Good house wine and very reasonable prices, they also take credit cards. The restaurant is situated beside the San Niccolo church and a bit away from the main tourist areas. It has a few outside tables overlooking the small piazza, but I must say the best part has to be dining in the 11th Century Chapel inside. Down a few steps and you are instantly transformed to a different time and place. It's a tad bit musty but that just adds to the medieval atmosphere. Could have been made to be more romantic, the lighting needs to be dimmed and the tables separated a little but definitely a very memorable dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgie773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun meal”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We enjoyed eating outside and being served by a charming waiter who spoke great English with a Scottish accent. He gave great advice about the wine. Our meals were pretty good. No particular dish stands out but we were all satisfied with our evening there. It was close to our hotel and we were advised to eat here by the Concierge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VancouverCyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This small Trattoria is surprisingly large inside. We ate fuori and enjoyed our meal. The salads and the appetizers were very good and fresh, the mixed grill had a variety of meats from filet to sausage. All the meats were good and perfectly cooked.

The local house wine was very good and a good price. The staff were very attentive and efficient.

We enjoyed the atmosphere of the little piazza and it was an enjoyable meal. They only had paper napkins (a personal peeve) otherwise it was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch at a reasonable price”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a good lunch at this restaurant today. The food was of good quality with fresh ingredients. The waiter's English was excellent which made negotiating the Italian-only menu easy. We started with tomato bruschetta which was a good choice. I had the chicken which was served on a bed of rucola, not zucchini as the menu stated. The serving size was reasonable. I was full, but not overly so. My husband ordered the roast beef with roasted potatoes and was quite satisfied with his choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolliFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Antica Mescita San Niccolo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Antica Mescita San Niccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing