We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourists = not welcome”
Review of I' Brindellone

I' Brindellone
Ranked #77 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Description: Typical Tuscan food with soups pastas Florentine steaks
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tourists = not welcome”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went to try this place out as it had good reviews and it was close to us. We arrived right when it opened (around 7:30pm) and asked for a table for 2. The bartender looked up at us and told us it was full and lowered his chin back down and continued to dry his glass... there was only 1 person in the entire place sipping on a glass of wine. His body language and lack of help/interest told us he was not interested in serving us and based on some previous reviews noting the same experience we figured we wouldn't bother with this place again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dagourd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manuele m, Proprietario at I' Brindellone, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We are sorry about this misunderstanding.
We are a small restaurant in fact we have only 35/40 seats. After a long 10 years work We got to be a very popular restaurant where to eat because of the quality of our food and the equity of our prices for this we got to be very busy and always full and most of the people who knows us book their tables days in advance.
We only do one seat at night which usually starts at 20 p.m. At 7:30 we open ...waiting for people with reservation. It is what we do every day.
Unfortunately every single day we have to say NO to so many customers who want to eat because all the table are booked . If you have a look to most of the reviews of the tripadvisors who got to our restaurant , everybody suggests to book a long time in advance. We love our job and We would love you to have dinner in our restaurant once so that you can judge us for our food and simplicity but like everybody does please book your table in advance at this phone number 055 217879 .grazie, Manuele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    943
    469
    60
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent steak!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My friend and I had florentina steak(bistecca alla fiorentina),it was absolutely excellent!But our starter mozzarella cheese with tomato is just average.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_yuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“small cosy tratoria”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The meal was fantastic. Started with pasta and tartuffo, and followed this with filleto and two types of beans. The meat was amazing, not an once of waste, and hardly needed chewing. Our dessert choice was creme brulee. All blissfully done. A traditional 1lt Chianti bottle of house red and your off.
The trattoria is staffed by two friendly guys as front of house, and waiting staff. The location has two areas to eat within but you do not feel cramped

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bibliophileLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We tried to dine at il brindalone on Thurs night but they were fully booked, so we booked for the following night. We arrived to find a small trattoria with a simple interior and a very warm welcome.

The menu is not extensive - just 4-5 dishes per course. We started with spaghetti with tartuffo and ravioli with gorgonzola. Followed by a tender fillet steak and well cooked pork steak with white beans and beans in tomatoe sauce. For desert - creme caramel. The food was simply amazing - beautifully cooked and served on smaller plates. The list of contorni - vegetables includes spinach, corguette flowers, beans - no potatoes infact who needs them with such an interesting seasonal mix of vegetables. The cost for the evening including water, 1litre of vino casa and cafe = €63.50. Even the arrival of a very large group of merry italian men for dinner, did not spoil the evening - it just added to the local style of the trattoria. The service from our waiter was top notch.

We been in Florence for 7 nights and this was by far our best evening meal. Only one piece of advice be sure to book in advance as this restaurant is very very popular with locals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Absolutely incredible!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great food, amazing staff! This place is owned by a family doing a great job! The food was absolutely amazing and some of the best Tuscan food I have eaten. The restaurant is usually quite full and it is very small. A reservation is recommended. There is a regular menu as well as specials hung on a panel in the middle of the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thaon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I' Brindellone also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to I' Brindellone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing