We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza, not friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Pizzaiuolo

Il Pizzaiuolo
Ranked #203 of 2,680 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza, not friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We went here on a recommendation by a hotel concierge that used to work there. It was very busy even though we there in the off season. It seems to be popular with locals which was good to see, because I was getting tired of mediocre "only for tourists" food.

The service was not so friendly-the waitress definitely seemed to have an "eat and get out" attitude-though she was really hard to find when we were ready for the check.

Bottom line: expect great pizza, but that's all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quardle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    478
    144
    57
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best Margherita Pizza in Firenze”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was told by my relative who is a frequent Firenze business traveler to check out this restaurant and ordered a take away margherita for lunch. by far the best pizza I've tasted without breaking my bank. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiedaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Renowned among local(s)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Our friend, who lives in Florence, said this was his absolute favorite pizza place, which, besides the point, drew a bit of controversy between him and our other friends who had differing opinions! Anyways we were all a bit skeptical after trying this other amazing pizza place, but our friend was determined to change our mind, so we went. We had a great time, the service was awesome and the food was just as good. I ordered the wrong thing on the menu because, being the ill-advised tourist I was, did not yet comprehend that every pizza did not include tomato sauce! My friend's pepperonish pizza was excellent and I recommend that to anyone who likes food. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shemscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Busy, busy, busy trattoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Party consumed pizza and pasta. My pasta was a small portion well executed, but not as good as my dinner choice in size and caliber. Pizzas were well made by a clearly devout maker who's every move could be choreographed in a special cantilevered mirror above him. Next to a local farmer's market that was quite lively on midday Saturday.

Recommended by condo owner as a good local choice. On the east end of downtown district. I don't believe one could go wrong eating here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qpower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Θεσσαλονίκη, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We went there after friend suggestions! Definetely worth visiting! We tried pizza bomba, mozzarella fritta, insalata caprese, gnocchi di patata and 1pasta con olive e cappero in the end we took one of the best tiramisu i ever tasted (and i have tried a lot!!!) go of you want to taste really good italian food (i suggest you should reserve a table!)

Helpful?
Thank Sotiria_ediar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pizzaiuolo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Pizzaiuolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing