We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ice-cream and granita”
Review of Gelateria Carabe

Gelateria Carabe
Ranked #45 of 215 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Duomo
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful ice-cream and granita”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We came here several times during our week's holiday in Florence. Here you'll find a wonderful range of flavours of ice-cream served in cones or in tubs (of various sizes right up to 'greedy'!) and soft water-ice granitas served in beakers (with cream on top if you want it). There's some bench seating inside the shop where you can sit and enjoy your ice-cream while watching new customers trying to decide which flavours to ask for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    107
    35
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I just visited this place tonight with a friend and was extremely let down. We had received a recommendation, and decided to try it as it was just down the street from us. She had the frutti di bosco and crema which were both horrendous. They were very icy and sickly sweet tasting. I had the butterscotch and almond. The butterscotch was also not great, and the almond was the only mildly decent flavor we had. I would definitely not go back anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent, but don't make a special trip”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

my daughter is living is florence, and considered it her job to share all good gelato places. the gelato was very good, but didn't really compare to la carraia or le botteghe di leonardo.
solid, basic flavors, good quality, but nothing amazing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermom108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastico gelato”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

On a very hot July after spending the day with the David and the Accademia, we stopped here for a coppa of limone. Hard to say which is the best gelato shop in Florence, but this is certainly a contender!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The flavour Sicilian citrus is simply magnificent - delicate clementine tangy lime - mouth watering stuff!
The dark chocolate is also very good indeed, as is the coffee. Try any of the special flavours of the week - you won't be disappointed - the week we were there (August 2011) it was the Sicilian citrus

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XDST82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Carabe also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria Carabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing