We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yes... but”
Review of Select Executive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Select Executive
Ranked #549 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2013

it is modern and clean, but:

very far from the city centre, they say it is walking distance but it is at least 25 mins walk to enter the old city.

it is not 4 stars, 3 starts yes, but definitely not four stars

the breakfast and especially the coffee are awful

no fast internet

conclusion: overrated, expensive for what they offer

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vassilis_Tzev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

Thanks to the helpful staff and the awesome room, we had a terrific stay at Select Executive! After a terrible 2 days in Rome, we arrived at the Hotel Select Executive. Although we were 1.5 hours early for check-in, they ensured that we could check in within 15 minutes. Our room was EXCELLENT - very spacious and kept extremely tidy and clean. The breakfast wasn't something to write home about, but not terrible. Luca, at the front desk, was very helpful in assisting us to select supperb tours in Tuscany (which we enjoyed SO much). We did not use public transport in Florence (except for a taxi to and from the hotel at arrival and departure). Every part of Florence was easy to find with a map and easy to walk to (and we did all the major sights in Florence in one day!). Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karladirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

i chose the executive wich should have better rooms.
The rooms weren't bad for space and cleaness.
The bathroom was pretty good.
Breakfast even if included is really poor.
the position of the hotel is average.

In general it's not the hotel of your life! it is an honest choice where u get what u pay for where u can't really expect more than just a room to sleep in!.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Like what some reviewers mentioned, this area is quite a walk away from the city center. My family and I won't mind the walk to the center (2 km) however when your hotel is as bad as this, it does make the walking part worse that what it's supposed to be. I have several concern with this hotel:

1) No elevator. Bringing up several 50 lb luggages on a tight space/stair is not good for the back.

2) Mosquitoes. Most of us were attacked by hungry mosquitoes. I felt like I was in the Philippines all over again.

3) Shower. The shower was really tight and the door opened an awkward position. My buttocks was touching the shower wall and the door was swinging on my dingdong. That's how tight it got.

4) Service. Shoddy service, we left all our wet towels on the floor for them to change fresh ones. After a tiring day of going around town, we come back only to see that they re-hanged the bath towels. They were still damp. Disgusting.

5) Daily Buffet. When we booked this hotel, it included daily continental breakfast only to find out they were going to charge us at the end of 3 days for 15-20 euro per person (x 7)! We raised hell so they decided not to charge us.

This hotel was a recommendation from a close family friend, I feel that we made the mistake as they might have meant "executive select" which was closer and much nicer than this dump.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Disappoints came in waves with this hotel. First, it was farther from the city center than anticipated and we wound up spending on cab rides every day. The hotel staff, while friendly, was overwhelmed and didn't have enough help to properly tend to their guests.

Our room was across the street and a few floors down, only to find we had to lug our suitcases up three flights of outdoor staircases to our rooms. While our rooms were fairly nice and clean, that was overshadowed by the mold through the room and bathroom, and also by the ants we discovered. I was eaten alive by mosquitos, even with the windows shut and the AC on.

My sister and husband stayed in the room next to us, and the AC wasn't working and couldn't be fixed (mold in their room as well), so the hotel staff moved them to another room that had a bedroom with adjoining living room. While the AC worked in that room, the wound up sleeping on the couch in the living room because the downstairs bedroom had ants all over. While the hotel enbalmed the room for them, they still wouldn't sleep down there.

Terrible experience, and would never recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fmkrivicich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We had to do our check in, at the reception toward the building where our rooms were. The room was like what we saw in the photos of the web-site, has nice design with IKEA style furniture but cheap pillows from IKEA.
The room had a kitchenette which was locked (closet style) and a large glass window near the door. There was also a skylight window .The room smelled and had too much mold. The bathroom was nice but the shower cabin was not working properly and the water filled the bathroom’s floor.
The heater in the bath was old and rusty.
Outside the room looked like a roof of a building and as we understood, they were doing a renovation. Unfortunately, both days we woke up at 8 because of the noise and the workers.
The breakfast was not very good, there was no variety of food and the coffee was awful.
Upon arrival we waited enough since the receptionist had to answer some phones and answer us if eventually we can use the hotel parking lot
the waiter in breakfast room and the maid were not smiling
The hotel was about 20 minutes walk from the center
The value for money was not good and would not visit this hotel again (the mold in the rooms is the first reason for this)

Room Tip: you should find a hotel near Arno river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OliviaG2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Location is too far from the attractions and the cost we paid for transportation could be paid for a better quality hotel in the center of Florence. Internet service is very bad as you have to sign in million times for each web site you may open!. Not recommended for a short visit when you don't have your owe transportation. Be aware of the offer to Pisa with them as they'll chop you off with a high cost for a very short visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lumamahdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Select Hotel
#333 of 409 in Florence
490 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#211 of 409 in Florence
693 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#237 of 409 in Florence
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 409 in Florence
377 reviews
IH Hotel Firenze Business
#224 of 409 in Florence
187 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#129 of 409 in Florence
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Executive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Executive

Address: Via Giuseppe Galliano 13/a, 50144, Florence, Italy (Formerly Residence Selectexecutive)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #549 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $45 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Executive 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Select Executive is located near the city centre and it is the ideal location both for holiday and for business. All the rooms are stylish furnished and equipped with modern comforts such as cable television, telephone, coffee and tea maker, refrigerator and many more, room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Executive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Executive Hotel Florence
Residence Selectexecutive Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing