We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Restaurant open - would have preferred starving ”
Review of La Spada

La Spada
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 7/28
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #357 of 2,790 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Description: Cucina mediterranea, girarrosto, brace di legna, adatto alle famiglie, pranzi di lavoro. Bistecca alla Fiorentina, tagliate di manzo e tanto altro.
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

Monday most nice restaurants are closed in Florence so finding a nice place for lunch proved to be a challenge. My wife and I happened across La Spada It looked nice and menu sounded okay - not great- so we took our chances. WE LOST!!! Food was barely edible. As hungry as we both were, we could not eat what we were served. Not cheap and we left the way we had come - STARVING!!!!!

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank robertdM934VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2017

We wanted a great dinner from an authentic restaurant and we found it here. Prices are reasonable, pasta is great and the grill for thr florentine steak is in view and smells wonderful... complimentary vin santo and biscotti at the end of our meal was the perfect finish. We saw mostly locals eating here...always a good sign!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandyd359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

Had many meals in Florence that were better. It wasn't bad, just not nearly as good. Friendly waiter.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Leigh-Traveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

We visited La Spada on the advice of the barman in our hotel (always a good source of information) and were really pleased with our meal.
The restaurant is immediately inviting with it's wood fired grill going and this made for great steaks and grilled meats. Add a nice bottle of chianti to that and you can't go wrong.
Service was perhaps a touch slow, but we weren't in any hurry so not a problem for us.
Would happily come again.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JJ_McClure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017

La Spada is a lovely restaurant a block off of Via Tournabuoni in Florence. The staff is very friendly and helpful with the menu. We had both a pasta dish, grilled meat and grilled vegetables and everything was delicious. The house wine was pretty good also. We visted for lunch in February, so no crowds.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Spada also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Spada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.