We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for lunch”
Review of La Spada

La Spada
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 7/28
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #357 of 2,790 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Description: Cucina mediterranea, girarrosto, brace di legna, adatto alle famiglie, pranzi di lavoro. Bistecca alla Fiorentina, tagliate di manzo e tanto altro.
Reviewed December 5, 2016

We took a break from shopping after a clerk recommended this restaurant. They have a nice variety of Tuscan specialties. We tried the crostini and the trip of chef pastas, all three pastas were very good and very large portions. Pretty reasonably priced and we were able to walk right in. The service was a little slow, but the food was excellent.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lizznthedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 183 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Had dinner plans elsewhere which were unsuccessful and stumbled upon Spada and decided to give it a try.... what a pleasant surprise! Everything from the wine, the sirloin (prepared perfectly) and the divine chocolate pear dessert were outstanding.... including the service! I will definitely be back.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank X7991YEamyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016

We came across this excellent restaurant by mistake, being drawn by a side street sign pointing to a deli. We were redirected to the main premises arriving ten or so minutes before opening time. The staff (finishing their own meal) did not turn us away but invited us to wait in one of the main rooms overlooking the front street. THey were very friendly and produced a remarkable menu which included a wide range of Italian, International and, importantly, Tuscan dishes (anti pasta, vegetables, soups (especially our all time favourite soup, ribollita), mixtures of sausages and beans, pasta including another of our favourites, Tuscan risotto, selections of roast meats and the renowned bistecco fiorentina - plus, of course, deserts which I don't think included cheese but was supplied on request). WOW - a wonderful selection! I noticed too that "specials" were available distinguishing between standard Italian and Tuscan.

The food was delicious, the wine too (extensive range but we opted for the "house") and staff magnificent so much so we opted for a return on our last night as well. FANTASTIC!

NB the restaurant has several rooms so don't walk away if those at the front appear full, there may well be other tables elsewhere on the premises.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ernest W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016

We ordered two different prix-fixe meals. Both were good, but one was FANTASTIC. It included a steak the size of a dinner plate. One of the three course meals could've fed two people, no problem.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teaspoonofnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016

I went here twice during my stay in Florence. The restaurant has good selection of food and whatever I ordered was amazing both the times. The restaurant staff is very welcoming and go out of their way to get you what you want. The restaurant offers wifi. I recommend this place due to good ambience, casual nature of the place and the lovely food and service.
If in Florence, I will definitely visit this restaurant again! :)

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vrinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Spada also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Spada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.