We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Florentine home”
Review of La Spada

La Spada
Reserve with
La Spada is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #221 of 2,724 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home Florentine home”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very good Florentine food. I love the traditional vegetable soup with bread & the roasted chicken with very good roasted potatoes & a lot of good traditional dishes. You can always get good suggestion of food & wine by the waiter.

This is one of my favor restaurant in Florence, I come for lunch & dinner every time when I visit Florence. The decor, people & food give me a very warm & comfy home feeling!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlyc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    543
    141
    46
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
“Great unassuming place to eat”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

You can easily pass by this place, but my advice is to go have a seat, request to be served by Francesco and get the steak dei fiorentini and Pici pasta, both were excellent. I also had the lamb and that was great, we went twice becasue Francesco really was a great server and made gtreat reccomendations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
139 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful Florentine food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A lot (and I mean a lot) of locals buy food here for takeout. That alone lets you know that a treat awaits for you. The ribollita is simply outstanding!

So why I am not giving it a full five stars? Because our waitress had her mind elsewhere. Serice at the counter, OTOH, was faultless.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Santiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love La Spada”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I have been to La Spada quite a few times. He travels to Florence often and this is his favorite restaurant. He figures he has been over 30 times. I agree with the previous posters. La Spada does have many locals coming in but also plenty of tourists. We never have a reservation and have never had a problem. It's best to have one if you want to be safe though. We get a little bummed out when we have to sit very close to a couple we don't know but it is like that many other places in Florence too. My husband has tried all the meats at La Spada. He especially likes the roasted chicken and roasted potatoes. Not sure what they do to those potatoes but they are really good. When you first walk in, you can see some of the choices in the display window. My hands down favorite is the lasagna. It's so creamy! We also think their tiramisu is extremely good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stumbled on La Spada on a night we had no dinner reservations, and had a wonderful time. Wait staff was great fun, and the food quite good. The place was hopping, and it was clear there were many locals dining...always a good indication.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Spada also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Spada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing