We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this trully italian trattoria...”

Trattoria Toscana Gozzi Sergio
Ranked #81 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't miss this trully italian trattoria...”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our hotel recommended this place and it was excelent! A mix of local and turist crowd, all served with the same welcoming smile.
The food is to die for and the price... we paid less than 30€ for 2!! and we shared 3 dishes and 1 side dish!
If you don't like to wait go early!
They are only open at Lunch!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulacns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    282
    53
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Simple but excellent Florentine lunch”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This low key resto, hidden behind the stalls of the San Lorenzo market was suggested by a friend who lives nearby in Tuscany as THE lunch spot. Great value, featuring all the classics of Florence. My wife had the vegetable soup and I chose the spaghetti with tomato sauce and a plate of white beans with olive oil. Delicious house wine and bread rounded out our light lunch. Everything else we saw being served also looked fabulous. Lunch only, I think, but perfectly located to replenish the batteries after slogging around the sight of Florence. Service quick and very friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No mistakes at Sergio's. Always perfect.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I live in Florence and whenever I want to go out for a meal, there is no other place I'd choose for lunch (they are not open for dinner). Over dozens of years I have never been disappointed. It used to be Sergio, his wife and the 2 sons. Now that Sergio is cooking for the angels, the kitchen is run by the older son. The menu is always the same with small changes here and there according to the day (on Friday you can find Baccalà for example). The Polpette fritte accompanied by French fries (peeled and cut by hand) are my usual dish but you should also try the Ribollita or the Pappa al Pomodoro and for second course try Lombatina di Vitella ( best meat in town) and also Braciole rifatte. As I said: no mistakes. Nice people serving at the tables and fabulous cook. Simple/Florentine/No frills/ Great price. For dessert biscotti and vinsanto. Coffee served in little glasses. Always packed, make a reservation!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francescamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
140 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was our first day in Florence, we dropped our luggage off at our hotel, we had early reservations at the Accademia. Hotel Casci recommended Gozzi for lunch. We walked a short distance and were at the trattoria. Gozzi filled up quickly with both locals and tourists, they are only open for lunch, and they were full all the time we there. Simple menu, good salads, pasta, nice house wine, excellent service, rustic atmosphere. Go for lunch and do not expect to spend many euros.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTWindom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Went there on the recommendation of our hotel; it is near the San Lorenzo market. Lots of locals and families were there the day we ate lunch (lunch only). Good prices and good food with excellent service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank parkietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Toscana Gozzi Sergio also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Toscana Gozzi Sergio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing